h1

Bob’s your uncle…or in my case, Ben

19 January , 2015

image

If you know me, then you’ve probably heard me say this at some point in time.

Well, my uncle Ben passed away yesterday and our whole family is reeling from the shock. He hasn’t been healthy for a while now, but I guess nobody really saw this coming – because the thing that he was most known for is his ability to bounce back from seemingly impossible odds.

We still don’t know exactly what happened, and we’re waiting for the autopsy to be completed by the police medical examiner before arrangements can be made with regards to a funeral or cremation.

I guess as a family we are very blessed that this isn’t a very regular thing for us, having to say goodbye to one of our own. The last funeral we had was for my Uncle Willem in 2010. Shame, my poor father had to be the one, again, to tell my gran that one of her children had passed away. I’d say she’s not taking it well, but really none of us are.

Things I’d like to remember him by:

  • My uncle had a wicked sense of humour, and he was never afraid to speak his mind about anything. He wasn’t known for his tact, but there was absolutely nothing wrong with his snappy one-liners. If a cat was being thrown amongst the pigeons – Ben would be in on it, or enjoying it with a twinkle in his eyes from the side lines.
  • He was a man that loved his children to the moon and back. I don’t think that there is anything he wouldn’t do for them. Whenever you spoke to him, you’d hear all about what they were up to and he was super proud of them and their accomplishments…and when they got up to shenanigans, he was always amused rather than upset. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him lose his temper with any of them, and when you have four children I’m pretty sure you get plenty of opportunities! Above all, he has always given his children the opportunity to be exactly who they want to be with unwavering support in whatever that means.
  • He was the man with the plan, and the plans were always HUGE! You get dreamers, and you get doers. He was most definitely a doer. He had the Midas touch…he turned things into gold, with vision and connections, and whatever else it took. He never shied away from big risk, if it happened to come with his big opportunities.
  • He loved to entertain and to network. Ben’s indoor braai area is the stuff of legends. Red wine flowed freely, and so did conversation. He was an avid golf enthusiast. I don’t think I know anyone else, who loved golf as much as he did.

It’s so hard to believe that he’s gone now…rest in peace Ben. Our hearts are so sore, you will be missed… xxx

22 comments

  1. …..I can’t believe it. So so so sad. I didn’t even know he was ill. Shock…. Please let me know when you guys get the results?


    • Sorry cuz…I thought you knew? The family phone tree has been working full speed since we found out.

      I’ll definitely let you know. On 19 Jan 2015 2:46 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. My condolences to you and your family x


    • Thank you… On 19 Jan 2015 3:21 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. I am so, so sorry for your family’s loss!


    • Thank you Marcia… On 19 Jan 2015 7:44 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. so Sorry for your loss! May his soul rest in peace and may the Lord comfort you all.


    • Thank you… On 20 Jan 2015 8:48 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Oh Louisa – he sounds like a wonderful man and a real character. So sorry for your loss


    • Dankie Rina, hy was! On 20 Jan 2015 10:09 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  6. Sorry to hear!


    • Thank you On 20 Jan 2015 10:44 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  7. So sorry for your loss Louisa…at the same time I am glad that you have a lot of good memories about him. Strongs my friend.


    • Thank you Lynette… On 21 Jan 2015 11:04 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  8. Sterkte! Sad to hear.


    • Dankie On 21 Jan 2015 12:39 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  9. So sorry lady. xxxx


    • Thank you On 22 Jan 2015 9:54 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  10. I’m so sorry to hear this… may you make peace with his passing and take the time to mourn. .. again my condolences


    • Thank you On 25 Jan 2015 5:22 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  11. My belated condolences, Louisa.


    • Thank you Angel. It still feels so unreal. I drive past where he used to live almost every day, and I still think of him as living there.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?