h1

Mother’s Day

11 May , 2008

Me and Mom last year

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommies out there, and especially to my own mom (although truthfully I don’t think she reads my blog?).

Anyhoo, it is poem day, and it’s Mother’s Day – and I thought I’d see if I could pull of a combo of the two, with a twist of course! πŸ˜‰ Since Afrikaans is my mother tongue it felt apt that I do this poem in Afrikaans. However, since I always blog in English I have included a (very) loose translation of what it means (more or less…I cannot overly stress the loosely translated bit!) for those people who read here and don’t understand Afrikaans at all.

*clears throat*

Right…here we go.

Mamma

I’m not doing a regular Sunday ramble, since I am stuck in Family Law books for tomorrow’s exam. Hope you all have a kick-ass start to your week – hope to catch up with you all soon! πŸ˜‰

7 comments

  1. Hi Louisa
    Sterkte met die eksamen mΓ΄re.
    Pragtige gedig vir jou ma! (hartseer)

    (Ek dink jou ma lees hier, ma’s is maar ‘n nuuskierige spesie πŸ˜‰ )


  2. Ongelooflik mooi… *snik* Lekker Family Law!


  3. Wipneus en Pikkelik: Dankie! πŸ˜€ Bly julle hou daarvan…


  4. Mooi gedig Louisa. ‘n Mens sal nooit raai dat jy, soos alle tieners, eenkeer erg vasgesit het met jou Ma nie. Gelukkig word ‘n mens ouer en slimmer en waardeer ‘n mens later ‘n mens se Ma baie.


  5. Michelle K: πŸ˜† Ja-nee kyk, dis waar wat jy se^. En ek was dalk nog effens moeiliker as die standaard bogsnuiter. Gelukkig het ons darem nou deur dit als gekom. My Pa het altyd gese^ die lewe het ‘n manier om die growwe kantjies af te skuur met tyd – amper soos klippies wat gemaal word in ‘n rivier. Hoe ouer ek word hoe meer sien ek dat hy reg was. πŸ™‚


  6. that was magnificent louisa, wonderful and so touching!


  7. thanks angel! πŸ™‚

    Oooh and guess what?! I found out yesterday that Wipneus was right after all, my mom does read here!

    *waves at mom* πŸ˜€



Say something...come on! You know you want to?