h1

This weekend has a ramble of its own

3 August , 2008

Saturday morning… 05:30am

I’m lying awake, waiting for my alarm to go off so that I can officially being to scuttle. It’s going to be a busy busy day. The chaos starts in 30 minutes and I’m not sure why I’m up already but my internal clock needs a stern talking to I guess – I have a lot on my mind and it refuses to keep regular office hours?

I start my day off my getting my laundry done and hoping and praying that it will not rain so that my stuff can be something other than damp for a change when I take it off the line. (with my next move I am definitely getting a tumble dryer).

Then I spend a bit of time that I really don’t have getting the quotes of the week and the worst of the rambling out there. Next on the agenda: realise that I am roughly an hour behind schedule already and run around the house grabbing coffee, watering bonsai trees, hopping into a bath, brushing teeth and throwing random clothing at myself to go out with.

I’m supposed to be at the Belville Velodrome at 10:00 to see my friend competing in the Cape of Storms National Jujitsu Tournament and I only have a very rough idea of where it actually is. Phone for directions on the way there heading in the general direction of Belville only to find out that they only weigh in at 11:00. Awesome! There’s time for a McBreakfast en route in that case. πŸ˜‰

I found the place easy enough (which means that anyone can do it cause I have no sense of direction whatsoever) and had a blast watching all the fights. I was watching with JacoStein and BloemBoy and the sideline commentary was an absolute riot. For instance JacoStein told me that even though he only has a white belt in Jijitsu he does have a fan belt in street fighting. And there was also much talk about how similar some of the fighting moves (especially the wrestling bits) to those last seen at the Kama Sutra Convention for the little people (I wasn’t there, but I can only imagine!). Also much talk of Brazillians, but I’m not going to go there – you’ll have to ask him about that yourself. From careful observation I can tell you that statistically you are much more likely to beat your opponent when you wear ankle guard plasters than when you don’t – unless you are taking on a young giant 20kg heavier than you in the open division…the plasters are not the source of power, they are but a gateway to the power within you. πŸ˜† !

Unfortunately SnuggleBuddy didn’t win his first fight on Saturday and I didn’t get to see the other two on Sunday, but it was nevertheless very impressive and I was very happy to be able to see him fight. (Oi! SnuggleBuddy, me thinks you may be in need of a new pseudonym? Tell me if you have any preferences – maybe something like NotTheCheatingSpoon? πŸ˜‰ ).

collage

After a quick beer at the Dross afterwards I CHASED home to get ready for the Aquarium Trance Party thing. Sparrow phoned to say we were meeting up at his house for pre-event drinks and to bring drinks. This is where I faced off my next challenge. Are you aware of the fact that all bottle stores close at 17:00 on Saturdays?! they’re open till 20:00 on other days, but on Saturdays when “no one” needs anything from them they close at 17:00. Very annoying… Also, no amount of sweet talking or pleading will get the manager to make an exception because allegedly liquor licence inspectors have nothing better to do with their time than hang out in front of shopping centres after 17:00 to see who they can catch braking the rules. I phoned ET who was an absolute star and saved my hide with some wine that they could pack extra (thanks a million girl!).

We had a few drinks at Sparrow’s house and then headed off to the Two Oceans Aquarium. I will say this: trance is not my favourite type of music, because I like to sing along of course – but it was quite an experience and I was glad to have the chance to enjoy it with the crowd that went. You might wonder if all the music and mayhem was disruptive to the fishies, but I think the only ones really fussed about us were the rays and the turtle in the predator tank. They seemed to be very intrigued by all the lights and strange faces. The turtle was the coolest though, he/she/it swam circle in front of the glass alternatively glaring at the DJ, the lights and individual members of the crowd.

After that we ended up going to Bronx. Sparrow and his wife like going there, and since I’ve never been I thought it would be a good idea to go have a look-see. Very lively crowd I must say. Some parts of the place is so crowded that the dance floor feels like it’s going to cave in, but upstairs there was at least enough space to swing a cat, or whatever comes to mind – like dancing your heart out with some good friends.

collage1

I got home at about 04:00am after one of Mrs. Sparrow’s friends was kind enough to point out where the heck the highway was to me (I told you, direction is not my strong point).

Sunday morning and me almost missed each other completely…I dragged my lazy self out of bed at 11:30 and I was hurting all over. I think I might be getting to old for this shit? (Mwahahaha! Never! I just need more practical dance shoes than heeled boots). Xander decided that with the lovely weather we were having it would be a shame to not have a braai. Chere’ even made one of her famous salads and Xander’s brother joined us for a nice lazy Sunday afternoon lunch. I tried my best to not move around a lot and I think I was pretty successful. πŸ˜‰

collage2

Next on the agenda is to get myself well rested and energised for the week ahead… Hope you guys had an awesome weekend too?

4 comments

  1. Mmmm jou naweek was besig maar lekker! Lekker week vir jou ook Louisa!


  2. Dankie Wipneus! Hoop jy het ‘n heerlike week wat voorle^… πŸ™‚


  3. shame poor fishies!


  4. They seemed to be okay with it Stef…the turtle was the star of the show though. πŸ˜€



Say something...come on! You know you want to?