h1

1st of August – let’s just call it pre-Spring? Pretty please?

1 August , 2014

image

I am so very very tired today. It’s been another interesting week. Well yesterday morning I happened to wake up at 3-ish and since I couldn’t get back to sleep I tackled some paperwork. Good times. I was a bit zombie like by the end of yesterday, so a nice proper night’s rest would have been awesome, but Nicola had other ideas. She must have had a nightmare, something to do with umbrellas and me, but she decided the best way to address this was by slapping my face at 2:00 this morning?! Not impressed. Eventually after she’d calmed down, she fell back asleep again – moi however don’t really do well with stop/start sleeping patterns (I am also pretty useless at power napping) so I have been up since 2:00 (as someone pointed out to me earlier…that’s practically yesterday!

I actually don’t know what’s gotten into her lately. I’m hoping it’s just the sicks that she has at the moment and that it will settle down over a week or two, if it doesn’t I will have to start digging for a root cause to all these mood swings. In fact, I think I might start on that just in case anyway.  

image

We had our hair did last night, by the lovely and talented house-call making Angela. For Nicola I decided (with her okay, obviously) just to whack off about three fingers worth of dead ends…

image

And for me…about three hands.

image

Nicola put up some cocktail umbrellas for Princess Aurora in the hamster cage last night (I sort of suspect that the nightmare umbrellas are the same ones, but who knows?). Aurora approves. She tried to drag both of them into the mushroom hut, and this got Polka quite excited. She was doing a pretty good meerkat impersonation to keep a close eye on matters.

image

Die hele ding moet in! The umbrella didn’t fit through the mushroom’s door, so Aurora decided, so help her mouse pellets, she MUST have it in there – even if it’s in pieces! Who hasn’t had a moment like this before? I get it.

image

Slipper day today for Reach for a dream, and here are my soft and fluffies. I actually got a nice slipper shot in a cafe’ in town, which I’ll upload on the next post because my app is a bit temperamental today about editing. As a team we decided that we needed to prance into JHB CBD with our slippers on to go and have cake…so we did just that.

I have to admit that wearing slippers is not helping me stay awake at all today. *yawn*

Wish me luck in keeping my eyes open. Hope you all have a great weekend!

12 comments

  1. Pure joy!!!! That first picture is amazing!!!!
    3am one day and 3 am the next day, next you will tell us you are up for 24 hours – I don’t know how you do it. If I don’t get a good 7-8 hours I am usually out of sync!

    Hmm, I hope Nicola is going through a phase made worse by the case of the sickies

    I should remember to stop by wimpy on my way home to get a sticker! But i just can’t wear slippers to work, I am battling with having to wear flats everyday as it is


    • I am suffering from an extreme case of the 14:00 slumps right now. Walking around the building a bit so that I don’t fall asleep at my desk.


  2. Coffee?

    LOVE the haircuts – you both look super cute!!!

    I have my sticker, had no time to do my wimpy run (i believe you get a free coffee?) with slippers. I may escape with one of the kids later if I get the house decorated in time!


    • Thank you! 🙂

      I heard that about Wimpy, but there aren’t any around the office so we just went out and had cake instead on our own account.


  3. I agree with that first shot…awesome…it screams freedom. I wish getting on a swing will have that affect on me. About sleeping or lack there of…I am also there. The past two mornings I woke up at 4:30 and couldn’t get back to sleep and as you know you never actually catch up on lost sleep 😛

    Love your photos…and yes only one more month to spring…yay!


    • I’m always very pleased if I manage to catch one of those moment. She moves like a little torpedo, so it’s not easy to catch her in action at all!

      Mmmm…lost sleep. You’re right of course, we never do.


  4. Oh you look beautiful! I hope you get lots of sleep tonight. And yes, I want spring. Now!


    • Slept like a rock, thank goodness. Thank you! 🙂


  5. Hope you get sleep this weekend!


    • Thank you, I managed quite a bit and a long nap on Sunday too. I’m just about recharged and rearing to go again.


  6. Your hair looks lovely 🙂

    Emmas started waking at 3 and it is the WORST because by the time she has gone back down its almost 4 and then I cant get back to sleep again and it does make the day super long.


    • Thank you 🙂

      Sheesh, 3 is still quite early. I can deal with 4 – that’s when I usually get up, even on weekends…but I get to bed at about 20:00 so actually plenty of sleep happening before 4:00.

      Hopefully she’ll grow into a more manageable timeslot soon. Just as you get used to their schedule they usually change it again, right?



Say something...come on! You know you want to?