h1

That time that Maryna was born…

5 October , 2017

What an adventure! I haven’t laughed this hard for so long in ages. If I had to sum up this camp in one word, that word would be JOY! 

My new mission is to take some of this joy with me into my normal day to day life. There is no reason why everything has to be so serious all the time.

I can probably give you a blow by blow of why this camp was so amazing, but I think the photos will do it better than I could… (and since WordPress decided to pop them in from most recent to oldest, we’re going to time travel while doing it – grab your foil hats and board the Delores).

Nicola’s face says it all…last day blues.

I was assigned to plant knowledge with these two lovely ladies. We had such a great group of kids, and a barrel of laughs. Hardly felt like work at all!

So the story of “Maryna” really starts with Janita (lady in yellow above). Yolandi and I were assigned guard duty for Saturday night 2-4am. You don’t actually guard againts danger as such, it’s more like being on the lookout for crying or coughing kids and sleepwalkers. 

We arrived at our post at 2am sharp and started off our shift with some much needed coffee. Janita then took turns confusing Yolandi and myself for someone named Maryna, and saying we could go sleep as there already 4 other people on duty.

I said we would both happily be Maryna if she let us go back to bed! And so we became the Maryna…to the utter confusion not only of the real Maryna, but also the other 450 campers. 😆

We weren’t the only ones who picked up new names either. Janita’s husband (man in yellow above) is John and he has a hefty French surname. Camp admin decided to redub him Johan Pieterse! 😆

Beautiful open skies morning after a spectacularly stormy night!

They look like little well dressed refugees. We had to plan B it for dinner locations when the storm broke loose.

Some of the groups that were a bit more outside than inside, sported wardrobe that I will forever in my mind’s eye see as post apocolypse chic! 😆

It is actually very cold and wet in this photo and rather unpleasant to wander around in looking for a dry spot to have a quick smoke break in.

Just LOOK at those clouds! Thunder and lightning, my favourite kind of storms, are a little bit less fun in a tent…especially if the wind ripped your tent to confetti (which luckily was not the case for me as Chris secured it well enough to keep it from becoming a kite!).

My tent, frowning at the wind…

Our course had a daily slot at the pool. There was extreme splashing! Which led to the Maryna taking an unexpected fully clothed swim for a splash off with the youngsters…to their delight and the subtle and not so subtle disapproval of some more serious adults in the general vacinity of the pool.
We regret nothing!

Photo booth fun with some dear friends!

My shoes were wet from the storm and the extreme bathroom clean up we had to do.

My friend from last year was in one of the outside groups so we unfortunately had only a little bit of time for a quick catch up.

Someone decided Monday needed blue coffee for the blue-ness of the Monday. It came out more like green hulk smash coffee though…

Love this sky in these wide open spaces.

Pearls of rain on the fence after the first storm.

So each course group gets allocated a bathroom cleaning slot as well. As our luck seems to be, we got one after a short power outage. When the power goes out so does the pump driven water supply…and whoever was unlucky enough to be in the shower at that moment forgot the tap open!
Motivation for the little ones comes in the form of beans. It all forms part of a very elaborate scoring system and the camp cup. 
This bathroom clean up was an 18 bean affair!

My tent when it’s not frowning at a storm. And me, sorting out my bed. Somewhere I actually have a foot pump, but since all my stuff is still in boxes I had to lung it.

Seriously, this has been one of the best camps I have ever been on. It was good for my soul!

3 comments

  1. Neeeeeeeeee dit voel al te veel na ‘n veldskool… vat my verby ek is te oud vir dit. Dit lyk na baie pret


    • Dit was baie pret! Ek weet nie hoe vergelyk dit met veldskool nie, seker maar soortgelyk. 😉


  2. So glad you enjoyed it! I hear our group of Voortrekkers also had a blast!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

