h1

Pet peeves

25 June , 2016

Haha…I have a “few”!

I’ll try to contain myself to my top button pushing ones, or we might be here for a while.

1. Messing with my people, especially my daughter
Look. We grew up learning to stand up for ourselves, a life skill that has proven to be very valuable. So even though I want to go charging in, sword drawn, for even minor infringements, I usually contain myself to the battles I consider BIG. But if you ever encounter me charging in on one of those…run and hide, or start furiously waving a white flag. It won’t end well if you don’t.

2. Self pity
I’m not going to feel sorry for you, if you have it covered already.

3. Micro managers
Didn’t know this was my pet peeve until I had to deal with one. If you get your kicks out of making people feel stupid and inept, I’ve got no time for you.

4. Being late
My dad always says, “Punctuality is the politeness of kings.” I’m usually about half an hour early for every thing.

5. Last minute plan changes for no apparent reason
It gives me a serious case of the grumps.

6. Whining
You can ask for something without being a pain in the arse about it. That kind of thing doesn’t wear me down either. I actively discourage it in the kids. The more you whine, the less likely I am to give in on something. Let your no be your no, and your yes be your yes.

7. Taking things or people for granted
I think this is pretty obvious. If it’s been done to you, it’s probably one of your pet peeves too.

8. Breaking promises and lying
Yes = yes
No = no
If you go around making commitments you couldn’t be bothered to keep, everything that comes out of your mouth after that has a “Yeah, right!” banner hanging over it for me.

9. Sexism, subtle or otherwise
Don’t tell people they can’t do something just because of what they have between their legs. Unless it’s something that you need that specific body part for, I don’t see the relevance.

10. Telling me, “You have to understand” when you’ve wronged me.
I don’t. Especially not when I’ve paid for something you didn’t deliver. See lying and yes =yes, no =no.

I am pretty straight forward actually. Just do what you said you would and don’t be a jack-ass and almost none of these get triggered.

T, who works with me…said I remind her of this fairy. Haha, yes I can see why.

image

image

image

What are your pet peeves?

6 comments

  1. Hmmmmm… Better don’t mess with Louisa

    Not keeping promises and lying which are guess are two sides of the same coin


    • I think those are pretty universal, right?


  2. Ek kan nou nie meer saamstem oor elke liewe een van hulle nie


    • Ek dink meeste kom neer op moet nie ‘n poephol wees nie. Pretty universal.😉


  3. numbers 2 & 8 wind me up as well as people over analysing everything


    • Haha, I am probably guilty of over analysing on occasion, but I usually contain my mullings to my own head.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

