h1

Catch up of last week and a little ramble

16 March , 2015

image

image

So I ended up wearing a dress on Thursday last week. No big whoop for a lot of people, but I don’t really do dresses, so around here it is kind of a big deal. Let’s blame it on laundry day, shall we? ๐Ÿ˜‰

The one guy at secret place had me in stitches with his comment though. He says to me that I have totally messed with his thinking again, so of course I asked why? he says he was just chatting to W the other day, about Steve and I, and they were wondering who would be wearing the pants in our relationship. He said his money was on me, because everyone knows I don’t do dresses, and since Steve is Scottish they figured he probably had a kilt…and thenย I turned up wearing a skirt and all bets were off again. Hahaha!

I don’t know why someone necessarily HAS to wear the proverbial pants, but on Thursday that definitely wasn’t me anyway. ๐Ÿ˜‰

image

Uhuh…dream on buddy.

image

image

Nicola and N (son of my parents’ neighbours) having the grandest time ever Saturday night. If you’re wondering about the laundry basket, they were trying to cage a poodle – as you do.

image

Took this photo to use as a background some day…so fluffy!

image

On Sunday we went for lunch to celebrate my mom’s upcoming birthday – look! Actual photographic proof that I was there too! Thanks K. ๐Ÿ™‚

image

The kids…

image

Nicola, getting some quality time in on Ouma’s lap.

image

Nicola decided to go for some princess face paint. Big surprise to me, since she hates face paint – and I had to find a way to GET IT OFF roughly 5 minutes later, but it was cute while it lasted. ๐Ÿ˜‰

image

What fun would it be to have a birthday lunch at Spur without springing a Spur birthday song on the birthday girl? I wouldn’t be able to tell you, I always rat them out to the waiters for a sing song and a sparkler. ๐Ÿ˜‰

image

Nicola decided to help Polka bury a bone properly. Apparently our dog lacks the needed know how in this field and Nicola felt that it was her job to show her how it’s done. Not long after that, she also trained polka on how to dig up a buried bone. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Oh, yesย – I wanted to mention that my current landlord (until next weekend anyway) is acting mighty shady. I’m pretty sure he is going to make off with my deposit in some way or another (I strongly suspect that he doesn’t have the money to pay me back). He’s switching the electricity off next week Friday, in whatย I assume is an effort to get me to move out sooner, he’s taking R650 off the deposit to do cleaning (as per the contract) but made it very clear that if he actually has to do any cleaning it will be more, and he’s installed cameras in my garden without telling me about it – right above my f-ing front foor! (If it wasn’t so nippy in the mornings I would be tempted to go and moon that camera one fine morning – I might still do that actually). ย 

I am working myself up into a richeous rage just thinking about it, but he told me that the previous tenant wanted her deposit back after she burned the carpet with cigarette butts and he threatened to shoot her in front of her child (this was obviously long afterย I found myself already contracting with the guy or I wouldn’t have signed at all).

I just want to be done with them to be honest. If I can move out effortlessly, that’s exactly what I’d like to do… but if he tries getting heavy handed with me, I’ll have to change my game I guess. *sigh* I’ll let you know how THAT plays out. There is a tipping point in this situation where I am not going to turn the other cheek anymore. I’d really like to not get there, if possible. If you’re into praying, pray for that please.

It’s not just me, right? This is a bit absurd as far as outlandish landlaord behaviour goes, right? Right?! What the hell is wrong with people?!

Ps! Didย I tell you I was moving? Well, I am – or actually we are. ๐Ÿ˜€ I am sooooo excited about this! Now to make all of our furniture fit into one house will be the next challenge. Between the two of us we have just shy of 10 couches, hahaha! That seems a bit excessive to me.

image

Shitty photo, sorry…the plate says Dutchi and the sticker reads, Caution Mad Dutchman – haha, spotted in traffic this morning. ๐Ÿ˜‰

18 comments

  1. i hope you get your money back. He sounds rather nasty!


    • We’ll see…but I’m not feeling very optimistic about my odds at the moment.


  2. Happy birthday to your mom! And congrats on the move!!! You are joking about the 10 couches I hope.

    That landlord sounds dodgy!


    • Haha, I am not joking about the couches – but some of them are one seaters. ๐Ÿ˜‰


      • That is still a lot!!!


  3. Wooo! Yay. Very excited for you and your move. And sorry about how your landlord is acting ๐Ÿ˜ฆ


    • Thanks! I am super excited about the move…can not wait!


  4. I am so glad you are moving away from that maniac! Best of luck – and I love the whole pants thinking


    • Thank you…haha, see i knew someone would get my pants thinking! ๐Ÿ™‚


  5. Moon the camera… moon the camera


    • Tomorrow morning…will do! ๐Ÿ˜‰


  6. Glad you are getting out at that place! Landlord behaviour not acceptable at all!!

    Moving in with the significant other, I presume? Jay!!


    • Yip, moving in with Steve. ๐Ÿ˜€


  7. Ah…a car!!! I will certainly pray that all goes well with your move and that you batty landlord gets zapped by lightning.


    • Haha, thank you! let’s hope he has a sudden attack of concience rather – and pays me back what he owes me. ๐Ÿ˜‰


  8. Jeez that landlord of yours is a piece of work! Good luck with the big move


    • Thank you! I must say, moving isn’t my favourite thing in the world…but hopefully this will be the second last time I have to fit all my crap into boxes and cart it around.


  9. we’ve just had a battle with our landlord in SA over the deposit, because he retains it, he can and did defect what he wanted and just give us what was left. In the UK all deposits are held by the government and as the landlord I have to apply to make deductions from it and the tenants have the opportunity to debate the amounts, which in my opinion works much better. Good luck with the move and look forward to seeing pictures of the new place



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

