h1

Fly by visits – whoosh!

23 February , 2015

image

Vera must be one of my oldest and dearest friends. We’ve known each other from more or less Gr1! How we met is actually a pretty funny story…we apparently looked very similar (although we could never see the resemblance ourselves), and people kept confusing us for each other, so when we finally met that was more or less the main topic of conversation at the time.

I haven’t seen Vera for the last 10 or more years, since she now lives in the UK with her husband and son. So when she let me know that she would be passing through, I of course jumped at the opportunity to lay eyes (and hugs) on her! Who knows if I will get a chance again in the next 10 years, right?

image

So glad I did! It was totally worth it.

They were only in JHB for a little bit more than an hour, as they had a stop over on their way to George. Jaco’s father (Vera’s father in law), passed away and they were on their way to his family to help wrap things up and to attend the funeral.

image

Patrick, Vera and Jo (Vera’s mom). So funny…I was hovering around international arrivals, waiting for my friend to pop her head through those doors so that I could tackle her and give her a big squish, when suddenly I heard (after about half an hour of hovering in silence with more or less the same crowd throughout), “Hey! Wat maak jy hier?” Vera’s mom and I had been standing almost next to each other for ages without recognising one another, haha.

In my defence she had dark hair the last time I saw her!๐Ÿ˜‰

image

Wimpy lunch before they boarded their next plane. Hilarious listeining to Vera in aย proper English accent talking to Patrick. I suppose after 10 years you’ll pick it up, whether you want to or not. Although she seems to be able to switch it on or off at will. I can’t get over it when it’s on though – too funny! Patrick is a very clever little boy, and probably the only kid in his neighbourhood who is also more or less fluent in Afrikaans.๐Ÿ˜‰

image

Ooh, and I got to take a trip in the Gautrain to the airport and back. I met a very nice lady on the way there who had something to do with selling books, and was on her way to see clients at the airport. Gosh, this woman has been just about everywhere in the world. We chatted for quite a bit. What a character! I actually wouldn’t mind running into her again – she was lots of fun to talk to and she knew all the best coffee spots at the airport and where you could find a decent smoking area that doesn’t smell like the bottom of an ashtray.

14 comments

  1. Took Linda to the hospital for her cancer check up and sat across from a man I shared a study with at boarding school 48 years ago…. we looked at each other and he said Bulldog and I said Barry at the same time…. have not seen each other since 1967, yet we recognised something about each other…. it was great catching up….


    • wow – that is amazing!


    • Isn’t it awesome when you run into someone like that?! Wow. Did you end up keeping in touch after that?


      • For sure


  2. Ah sometimes you need to make that effort and then its totally worth it! Glad you got to see her


    • I am so glad too! Totally worth it.๐Ÿ™‚


  3. We have some of those fly-by visits too and I love them – i’ll take any time with friends๐Ÿ™‚


    • Vera is always saying that she sees us, one day, chatting away, while our kids play in the shade of a big African tree. Somehow I think airport roofs might be the only play area they’ll see for a while.๐Ÿ˜‰

      Anyway, I am just happy i got to see her and give her a big squish!


  4. Ah, so cool! I recently tracked down a friend I made in Dubai and haven’t seen or spoken to in 7 years. It is so rad.
    Glad you got to catch up. Looking forward to checking out the Gautrain myself, one of these days…


    • What?! I can’t believe you haven’t been yet MeeA. Agge nee man. You really must make a plan. To the airport and back is pretty expensive. It cost me R130 each way *gulp*, I would have probably taken the car if I knew that before, but if you hop on at park station all the way to pretoria, have lunch and come back i think it’s actually cheaper than just to the airport and back.

      It is quick and fun though, definitely beats sitting in peak hour traffic!


  5. Jinne – lekerrr. Jul lyk voorwaar soos suters.


    • Daar was op ‘n stadium 3 van ons wat mense heeltyd verwar het. ons kon dit glad nie sien nie, maar het in elk geval dik pelle geword en orals saam amok gemaak.๐Ÿ˜‰


  6. How awesome that you got to see each other for a short while!


    • Extremely awesome!๐Ÿ˜€



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

