h1

Big school update

16 January , 2015

image

image

image

Wednesday was our first day in GrR. I think it went very well actually. She was understandably a bit nervous. The night before she said, “Mom…what if no one there likes me?”. I assured her that everyone would love her on site because she’s awesome.

Even so, she was very quiet in the car on the way there.

image

The teachers all dressed up as super heroes for the first day, which I thought was a great touch!

Nicola immediately felt comfortable with her teacher, and that went a long way in helping me feel more at ease about it too.

I said goodbye about 10 times…can’t believe my baby is in big school now!

image

image

When I arrived to fetch her she told me that I’d have to wait, she wasn’t ready to go yet. Haha, a very good first day I think?

Her only complaint was that her teacher didn’t give her a hug and tell her she loved her.😉 Her previous teacher was with their class for almost three years, and this was apparently their thing every day…so sweet, right?

The school has a farm feel to it, with lots of free range peacocks, chickens and ducks. Nicola got chased by a rooster after she crowed at him on the way out.

image

image

Today is her first sports day, can you believe it?!

I’m super bummed that I didn’t have any leave to go see her compete, but thankfully my brother is working late shift today and could be her friendly face in the crowd.

image

Apparently she is about as competitive as I am…which is not at all. Haha!

My brother said she really moved in the practice round, but once the race started she didn’t bother running fast again.

Oh and my first day back at the office? I was treated like a rock star, seriously. It felt pretty awesome. My inbox started at about 200 things that needed urgent attention and by the time I walked out I was still in an excellent mood and down to 12 outstanding.

Yip, pretty good first days all round…

22 comments

  1. Jinne, dit voel soos nou die dag wat sy gebore is! Hoop sy gaan ‘n ongelooflike lekker skoolloopbaan hê!


    • Voel vir my ook so! Baie dankie. On 16 Jan 2015 2:25 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. oh my word, sports day already! (I hate it as you know)
    I have the first parents meeting on Tuesday. D has to watch the kids so it will just be me!!


    • We have our first parents/teachers meeting next week Monday. I think it’s a group thing though. On 17 Jan 2015 11:03 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. Wonderful!’ I’m sure she’ll be fine and willBloom. I still. Can’t believe she’s so grown

    Sports day!! That’s quite quick hopefully there was some sense to the “madness” LOL


    • They seem to have a very packed calendar! I guess once you’re in the team from a previous year, it’s not such a big jump from year to year? On 17 Jan 2015 8:44 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. So glad it went well!! She looks very happy🙂


    • Thank you, I think she is. She’s actually doing much better than I thought she would. On 18 Jan 2015 6:57 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Already rocking 2015, I see – Good for you both! Sounds like an awesome school. I’m sure she’s going to have a blast!🙂
    I’m also having a fairly productive start to the year and am looking forward to a good one. May the goodness continue for all, all year!


    • Thank you MeeA, I wish you and your family all the best for 2015. I have no doubt that you’ll rock whatever new ventures and adventures come your way.🙂 On 19 Jan 2015 8:43 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  6. Oh, also – Jack started Gr. 1 on Wednesday and loves it so far. I hope he keeps loving it! PS. I’m getting involved on the SGB this year – and am starting by offering to start and head up the school’s own Press Club. Wish me luck!


    • Wow! Good luck! On 19 Jan 2015 8:45 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  7. Ag ma, groot skool. Hoop sy geneit dit ten volle.


    • Baie dankie! On 19 Jan 2015 11:14 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  8. Aaag, sy lyk so pragtig.


    • Sy is darem maar net te cute, ne’?🙂 On 19 Jan 2015 12:39 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  9. Kan jy glo sy is al in Graad R…sy is so oulik.


    • Dit voel soos net gister wat ek haar huis toe gebring het van die hospitaal af…tyd, dit vlieg regtig. On 21 Jan 2015 11:05 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  10. All sounds good…hey they grow up fast… next its a car and then a wedding and don’t blink, you’re a Gran… lol


    • Haha…I’m not ready! On 25 Jan 2015 5:25 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  11. She’s growing so fast…


    • Like a weed! A cute weed…



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

