h1

A very long and frustrating week

14 November , 2014

Which is why I’m only getting a chance to post this now.

It has been beyond busy! I’ve been a bit weepy and overwhelmed, stomped my feet and threw a couple of tantrums, lost a precious day to training I’ve already done (I’m taking it as a chance to get to know some new people and to get away from my desk and fucking inbox for a while).

And for my own sanity, I have decided that anyone who sends me more than 10 mails a day (much…much more) is going to get batch processed when I have the bloody time. I don’t even look at them now until I’ve at least done a sensible chunk of my own work first.

Now…for some photos.πŸ™‚

image

The fire brigade heads into town.

image

πŸ™‚

image

After the recent rains everything is so GREEN. Love it!

image

At a spiderman party for a very special little girl on Saturday. Wow, it was so hot!

image

Someone was a bit sensitive on the day, so there was quite a bit of this…

image

Pretty photo that Melinda posted. Oooh so serious, right.

I showed this photo to some of my colleagues and they laughed. One guy said he’s seen that expression before…every time he hands his reports in late.

image

Spiderman!

Nicola was very excited to see Spidey in real live action, but she said to me, “Mamma, dit beter die regte Spiderman wees en nie ‘n kind was opgedress is soos een nie.” Haha…right then.

After eyeing him out for quite some time, she said to me that she’s pretty sure he’s a fake. Why’s that I asked? Well, I got a whole list! There is no white on his eyes, or black, his neck, hands and feet are showing, there are balloons in his suit and no blue. Haha, she’d clearly given this a lot of thought.

I said, “But do you still enjoy playing with him?” Yip…and off she went.

image

Usually camera shy Melinda let me take a few photos of what’s left of her. Doesn’t she look amazing?πŸ™‚

image

Someone loved their stick on tattoo so much, she didn’t want to ever wash the foot again…but we did.πŸ˜‰

image

The cake!

image

Hot, hot, hot day!

image

We also had a braai with the family last weekend. Two birthdays and a nearly farewell for my aunt and uncle who are moving to the coast.

image

Cousins…these two are just a few weeks apart in age.

image

If she’s wearing a dress then I want to wear one too!

image

It’s a bwautiful dress – thank you Ouma.πŸ™‚

image

More cousins.

image

Strike a pose.

image

My uncle and our littlest cousin at the moment, who was watching the older ones’ antics with keen interest.

Just you guys wait until I can walk too!

image

πŸ™‚

image

Stunt princess!

image

They were jumping off this little wall…over and over and over again.

image

Apparently they picked these green plums for my mom to make dessert with. They have since been quietly disappeared.

image

Another hat at school day.

image

Bare toes and wet grass. Love it!

image

Seen in the never ending rainy traffic this week.

image

We made some salted caramel for Nicola’s teacher for her birthday…super yumm! Seriously, we were eating out the pot after the jar was filled.

300g brown sugar
50g butter
200ml cream
1tsp coarse salt flakes

Melt the butter and sugar on medium high. Turn down a bit, slowly add the salt and cream (stir quickly, it bubbles like crazy). Simmer for 5 minutes and let it cool.

Ta-dah!πŸ™‚

image

Yeah…I bet.

image

View from our house last night. It was lovely seeing the sky again.

image

Saw T on fb plant succulents this way, and decided to give it a bash for lettuce. I have never been able to grow them.

image

The Queen (at work), brought me this cutting off one of her plants. I forget now what it’s called but I’m going to try and grow it.πŸ™‚

image

The flowers look almost plastic. Do you know what it’s called?

Ps! I managed to pick up flu in training…sick as a dog now. I’m seriously considering staying at home today. I have so much crap to sort out though. *sigh*

I might just go in for a bit and then leave early. I’m expecting about a hundred emails today.πŸ˜‰

15 comments

  1. I see my sons inbox which probably gets 200 odd a day… I notice an awful lot get deleted without being read… “I know what they want to say” is his answer to my query…
    Now cheer up no more weeping… stomping feet or even swearing… keep it calm and all will be breezy…


    • I think it’s the being sick that tipped my scales last week. I have a potty mouth, but I’m usually much more composed while I’m swearing.πŸ˜‰ On 14 Nov 2014 7:04 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. Sterkte jong! And that girlchild of yours is simply a beauty


    • DankieπŸ™‚ On 14 Nov 2014 9:36 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. That pic with the look from Nicola is hands-down my favourite one of her EVER. Too right – I see you totally in herπŸ™‚

    Also thanks for the salted caramel. My little jar from Poetry cost me R50 and is nearly done (I dip apples into them sometimes for a treat….) so I’ll be making some of that!
    \
    Get well soon!!!


    • It’s a beautiful photo! Let me know how the recipe works out for you? I liked how simple it was…I didn’t even get tempted into deviating and you know that’s kind of my thing. On 14 Nov 2014 8:40 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. I like that you give baked goods to people. it’s so much personal and “uit die hart uit.” Which is very cool. Sorry to hear that you’ve had a very emotional week. Hope this one is far better.
    Love that tattoo as well. If I wasn’t so much against them, I would have gotten such one as well. Very unique.


    • Also…it’s cheaper! Haha.πŸ˜‰ But you’re right it’s a bit different than an off the shelf thing and I like that.

      The tattoo is just a stick on. Comes right off with a bit of soap and water. On 17 Nov 2014 7:59 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Please explain the “fire brigade heads into town” photo to me. I can’t understand what’s happening there but it looks like lots of fun.


    • Those ladies make fires in those drums, early every morning right on the edge of town. As soon as it stops smoking and gets to the ember stage, the load them up on their head on a thin piece of cardboard and head for their respective corners of town, where they cook mielies all day for passersby.

      It’s fascinating to watch them…in my opinion quite a dangerous way to work with fire, but I’ve never seen one of them get hurt. One lady once almost got hit by a car and she dropped like three coals in the process, all miraculously missing her and the car, before moving on. On 18 Nov 2014 2:59 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


      • Unbelievable! The angle of the photo makes it look as if they’re running a race. Only in good ol’ SA…


  6. Hope you are feeling better and flu is all gone?

    That’s a stunning picture of Nicola


    • I’m feeling much better thank you!πŸ™‚


  7. Hope you’re feeling better Louisa….the photos of the party put a smile on my face…that child of yours are just becoming more and more beautiful. We have had good spring rains in the bay and ONE summer day on Saturday…today we are back to wearing boots and cardigans…so tired of this…I NEED SUNSHINE in my life right now. (wishing a tantrum could get me that)


    • We could do with a bit of sun too. She’s a pretty little girl, right?πŸ™‚



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

