h1

Just peachy actually

4 November , 2014

image

Polka, after the great flamingo hunt!

image

Apparently the school asked the kids to wear hats on warm days, and this is the hat Nicola decided to go with.

On a hot day she even wears it indoors.

image

Just look at that hair!

Nicola’s hair seems like it’s lost most of those curls, but when rain is on it’s way, there they are again. This doesn’t happen when I wash her hair…only when it rains or if we get close to the sea.

I jokingly said to my parents the other day that she’s a bit like a storm lily in that department. You can water them until you’re blue in the face but they only bloom when a storm is coming.

image

At a little friend’s 1st birthday party. Nicola had a grand time! She made a new friend almost instantly, and she was laughing and giggling the entire day.

image

Birthday boy with his mom and dad…and his awesome homemade ice cream cake.🙂

image

Feeding his mommy a plane – must be love!

image

These two really enjoyed the ice cream cake. I think they each had three bowls full!

Thank goodness for GPS! On my way back home I got stuck in the coils of the R59 and the thing was happily recalculating ad infinitum, until it told me to make a U-turn on the highway. Hahaha! I suck at navigating. No doubt about that. Got home eventually, so all’s well that ends well.😉

image

Rain yesterday, with whatever causes ALL of the traffic lights to go belly up on Beyers Naudé and a few in town too, had me sitting in traffic for more than 2 hours last night. Grrr…so thanks Lamchop, you were my only giggle along the way. This is one of those number plates where you kind of wonder if the person picked it out themselves or someone did it for them, and what the story might be behind the chosen plate.

Other short rambles with no photos…

1) Oh yes! I almost forgot to tell you about the surprise I had on Friday. We were on our way home, and my parents were with us (my mom in my car, and my dad in theirs). Nicola fell asleep and my mom was propping up her head so that her neck wouldn’t take strain. We had just turned onto the last big road on our way home (80/90 km speed limit), when somebody all of a sudden spoke to me through my window. To my credit I didn’t flip the car in surprise, haha. A random stranger on a bike wanted to know if Nicola was okay. I said yes, and off he went. Not sure what he would have done if I said no, but I thought it was really sweet that he checked anyway. So thanks guy, that was refreshing and kind.

2) Polka, destroyer of potted plants and abandoned toys alike, has reached a new milestone in the number 2 department. Imagine my surprise when I was busy cleaning up her droppings with my little spade and one of them went CLUNK and stuck to the spade! She must have chewed a fridge magnet? I am not sure if this is more spectacular than the rhinestone incident or not, but it made me laugh…that’s for sure! Mentioned it to a colleague, and she started wondering if you could patent that with an electromagnetic sort of thing and make droppings collect themselves somehow. Uhm…hahaha…probably not, but just imagine it!

3) It’s been an interesting work week at secret place. A double farewell, lots of corporate scrambling, one team mate down with mumps, and a new indirect manager that was finally revealed to us. I’m quite excited to see what happens next!

I got surprised into giving a short farewell speech for the two kids who left (And I’ve been handed a few sink or swim surprises since then actually). It was challenging. Not the talking in front of a room full of people bit, I’m okay with that, but staying polite while still being honest throughout. About the best thing I can say about the one, was that our time together was interesting. It forced me out of my comfort zone and into areas where I didn’t really see myself going a year before. So in that way I guess it was good, right?

On the mumpy team mate – hehehe – shame, poor guy. I bullied him into staying home. A lot of the guys here haven’t had it, and many have small children who haven’t had it either. It is actually the only children’s disease that never took on me, so I’m pretty keen to avoid it now obviously. On Thursday he said he was coming back on Friday and I sent him a whole bunch of photos of colleagues puffing up their cheeks with a, “See?! You ARE contagious!”. Eventually I convinced him to work from home and keep his chubby cheeks to himself. He is now our new patient zero.

The new “Captain” was revealed to us yesterday. She seems really nice and sensible (More rare than you might think – I have really, really missed sensible, it’s a extremely underrated characteristic in my opinion), but she does look very young. I think she might find that a bit challenging with the good ol’ boys round here, but so far I’m as happy as can be with this new development, and if she sticks with the sensible I am ready to support whatever else comes with it. I am genuinely excited to see where this goes next. It could be a great opportunity for me to better position myself too, and by George! I am definitely going to do just that.😀

So everything is coming up roses on my end. How the heck are you?

16 comments

  1. Jy het nou net ‘n reuse smile op my gesig gesit met die yskasmagneet ding….The new manager sounds great – so true – sensibility is a rare and wonderful thing


    • Really…a very rare trait.🙂 On 04 Nov 2014 9:35 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. Well my day has started off with a good laugh and now a deep thought on the idea of getting my two dogs to eat magnets for the poo parade… your daughters hair reminds me of one of my daughters when they were young and had long flowing hair… that rain induced curl really pleased me no end… use to chase her through the irrigation on the farm to see if that would work… it didn’t…
    Ice cream cake… now how do I get myself invited to these parties.??
    “Lambchop” would certainly have kept me amused trying to fathom out the origins of the nickname…
    Sounds like you have the same GPS as I do..”Recalculating” “Make a U turn” I’m waiting for the day it says “Go F..k yourself I give up”… I still always manage to get where I want to be, just not always to her liking…


    • Haha…I think my GPS is bound to say that soon too.

      Love those curls too.🙂 On 04 Nov 2014 10:01 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. I love that light in the photo with the hat🙂

    Love all the snippets especially the work ones. Sensible is HIGHLY underrated but very necessary in the corporate jungle! How young is she?


    • She’s 35. I thought that was pretty young for the level she’s on, although she clearly deserves being there. On 04 Nov 2014 8:09 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. Very busy time of the the year for us! All the finals and conferences stuck in the last part of the year.


    • This time of the year is just CRAZY! On 04 Nov 2014 10:03 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Oh N’s hair is gorgeous!


    • 🙂 I agree. On 05 Nov 2014 2:03 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  6. I love the idea of No 2 and I’m pleased to hear you didn’t investigate to find out what it actually was. As to ‘How the heck are you?’ I’m currently in the UK sorting out our paperwork for our move to Dubai in December


    • How is that coming along? I really hope this move will go smoother than expected for you. On 06 Nov 2014 12:25 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  7. Beautiful photos…love these sort of catch up posts. We have had a lot of spring rain lately…and WIND…seriously the wind has blown Summer all the way out to sea😦


    • This last week has just been rain, rain and more rain here. On 13 Nov 2014 11:53 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  8. Ek LOVE haar hoed!


    • Dis ‘n pretty cool hoed.🙂 On 13 Nov 2014 12:36 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

