h1

Let your YES be your YES, dammit.

28 October , 2014

image

image

image

The school contacted me to ask if I would mind a magazine comming in to interview the children about their views on Christmas. Nope, I don’t mind at all really. Nicola was BEYOND excited about the possibility of being in a magazine – she’s especially thrilled that it will be in ALL the shops, even in the local mall – haha!

So this is the outfit she decided on for magazine day.

image

And this is what she looked like later that day after the assholes didn’t pitch up for the appointment.

The apparently phoned to say they were coming in on the Friday instead. Only one problem – we had a dentist appointment scheduled for the Friday so Nicola would now miss it. Heartbroken is not even the word I tell you!

I’ve growled at the teacher about this and how unprofessional I find it, so now they are apparently coming back this week for the children they missed last week. I’m not even going to say anything, just in case they decide to cancel again. Grrr…

image

This is my super brave little girl, getting her first filling. She was awesome, and it went MUCH better than I was anticipating thank goodness! All she wanted was for me to hold her hand and stay with her, poor baby.

The dentist says that she is again well ahead of the curve on the teeth front. She’s apparently got a few teeth in the back already which are only supposed to make their appearance at 8 or 9! I’m not surpised, at all, she has always been quick in the chomper department.

My own visit to the dentist was awful. I needed no major work to be done thankfully, but the scaling and polishing was quite an experience with Nicola in the room. First off she jumped on top of me to see what the dentist was up to in there. That bit was still sort of okay, even though I then had three heads looking into my mouth (dentist, assistant and Nicola). The problem was that she was so into it, that neither the dentist nor his assistant could see what they were doing, so I got stibbed in the gums many times, and one of them was hosing down and the other one had the sucker – and the two were nowhere near each other so I was also trying very hard not to drown! And I couldn’t say anything because I had a mouth full of tools, haha…as in not haha. I was laughing…and crying…and wondering how the hell to put a stop to all of this and still get my teeth polished.

Eventually I used some vigorous hand waving to indicate that I needed a break. I gave Nicola a stern talking to about sitting still or moving to a chair and swallowed properly a couple of times before we continued. Then the pink terrorist decided that she would use my legs as a slide (captive audience is captive afterall). I let this go on for a few minutes but got stabbed in the gums a few times again. Second round of vigorous hand movements, uitkak-parade for Nicola and back to business.

Our dentist is Chinese, and doesn’t understand Afrikaans at all, but he got the gist of it and after he whispered something to the assistant she phoned someone to come and play with Nicola for the rest of my appointment.πŸ˜‰

Still, it all went much better than I thought it would – so all good I guess.

image

Nicola loves the fact that all the shops are already well into their Christmas marketing campains spirit. She especially loves grocery runs, because she gets to pick a Santa shaped chocolate if she behaves.

We go shopping as fairies often, our local Checkers is very used to this kind of thing already.

image

Neighbours have put up an owl house that we have a great view of from our room. I hope an owl or two decides to move in there – how awesome would that be?!

image

Just some cuteness…actually I have a brilliant video clip of Nicola singing a song she made up. Wow, she really belts it out too! Haha. I can easily see her on a stage someday, this little performer of mine.

image

Look at the pretty flowers I got from T & J on Sunday.πŸ™‚

Love, love, love them! We had aΒ great Sunday lunch at our place. The weather almost unraveled all my plans but we made it work. If it didn’t stop raining it would have been a completely different story though.

We tried out a new recipe for a baked chocolate pudding. I think it came our lovely, not too sweet, just right…however I did notice that I probably have to get some more oven dishes. I ended up baking the pud in a flat bottomed no-stick wok!πŸ˜†

I McGuyvered the hell out of that pudding.πŸ˜€

image

Just a pretty sunrise yesterday.πŸ™‚

Ps! The studying people have really pissed me off today. They phoned to let me know that they’re bumping my training from December to February. Well that was the third call. The first one they tried to bump it to another week in December…which doesn’t work for me. The second call was to say no problem, stay in the first week of December. And the third call was to tell me, nope, moving to February now…but we don’t know which week (does it really matter I wonder, since they keep rescheduling anyway), and to offer me money as compensation for the inconvenience (well, they have to offer the money to secret place I told them – that’s who’s paying for this).

I’m really annoyed, as you can tell. Can no one just bloody stick to whatever they arranged. No respect for other people’s time, that’s the root of this problem. And when you do something like that, don’t be so surprised when I get “grumpy” about it. You’re the asshole in this situation dear, not me. Grrr…

As always, I am determined to find a silver lining – so I am taking this as an additional two months to prepare for my exams. Thank you universe, I guess. It’s still in time for the April increase month, so in the grand scheme of things it’s probably not going to rock my world one way or another. *shrug*

Fuuuuuuuuu-uuuuck. GRrrr!

Anyway, moving on swiftly.

10 comments

  1. Sjoe! So baie wat aangaan. So frustrerend rakende die kursus. Maar wat help dit om kwaad te word, right?
    Sterkte met die tande. Nicola is definitief braaf gewees by die tandarts.


    • Dit help ‘n bietjie. Maar nie veel nie.πŸ˜‰

      Nicola was ‘n ster gewees! So trots op haar. On 28 Oct 2014 2:32 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. All sounds as tough things have a time schedule all of their own with no plan at all…. I hate dentists…. go to the vet rather, he won’t hurt you…. now tell me more about that pudding….


    • Haha @ the dentist!πŸ˜‰

      I think maybe I should make it again so I can take a photo? And post the recipe? On 28 Oct 2014 4:56 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. she had an actual filling… with needles? whoa!

    Chocolate pudding sounds divine!


    • Yes, an actual filling…but no needles. He said it wasn’t very deep so we didn’t have to go through all of that thankfully.

      It really was! On 28 Oct 2014 7:51 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. Sounds all good in your part of the world apart from the study thing. Well I guess there is so reason on a totally different level


    • I’m going to take it as that yip. Anyhoo, more time to prepare, right?πŸ™‚ On 29 Oct 2014 9:58 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Nicola looked like a princess…so sorry that they didn’t pitch as planned…but that is a South African thing it seems. Your dental appointment had me in stitches…I can actually “SEE” it.


    • Haha, it almost had me in stitches too…from being stabbed in the gums! On 13 Nov 2014 11:51 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

