h1

Q & A – answers that are too long for the comments section

22 October , 2014

The original questions can be found here

Nicola and the baby

So cat asked how Nicola is taking the news of cousin-in-the-making, and for the most part she is doing really well with it and is very excited. She wants to know first of all if the baby will have hair, she’s predicted that it will be a boy, and she’s suggested naming him Willie – which was instantly vetoed. Currently cousin-to-be is known as Marshmallow. Nicola has volunteered her baby bed for Marshy, and loves sending “stickers” (Whatsapp pictures) to Auntie Karen and Marshy.

There’s a bit of her that is apprehensive about the new arrival too, which I suppose is natural. I’ve made a point of explaining that this particular baby will have the same Oupa and Ouma as she does. This will be the first cousin that she has to share grandparents with, so I don’t want it to come as a shock later on.

I remember all too well at more or less the same age there was a big whoop for me. We lived far off in Cape Town for a few years, and even though I got to see my grandmother and my uncles and aunts and cousins, I never got to see them all together. When we moved back up, one of my cousins called MY grandmother Ouma and all hell broke loose! He wouldn’t take it back, so I jumped on him and tried to beat it out of him. My grandmother had quite a laugh when she pulled us off each other and explained that she was EVERYBODY’s Ouma. I was not impressed and felt a bit cheated by the whole event really…it took some getting used to. Now it’s all good obviously, but at that age the sharing of an Ouma did not appeal to me in the least!

Haha, anyway – you can imagine why I might think this was an important thing to explain to Nicola well in advance?😉

The other day, out of the blue, she worriedly asked my mom, “Ouma, as Tannie Karen en Oom Riaan se baba kom, gaan ek nie meer jou sterretjie wees nie?” Of course my mom rushed to reassure her that she will always be her special star and that she will love her, and that she’s not being replaced. Then Nicola said that the baby can use her cot to sleep in…but only until he’s four (her age) – and then he’ll have to give it back because he’ll be too big for it obviously (You can probably guess how the conversation went when I explained to her that she had to give the baby the bed now – it’s not actually Nicola’s cot to begin with, it’s a family heirloom that’s had quite a few generations of babies in it already – plus she has never actually slept in it!). Haha! My mom asked her what if he has a younger brother or sister than still needs it? She said that nobody has said anything to her about a brother (looking a bit unimpressed).

All discussions baby has obviously also sparked a lot of renewed curiosity in her dad, her half brother, babies in general, her own birth and so on. I have had my C-section scar extensively investigated on more than one occasion (kind of makes me glad she didn’t pop out in the more traditional way). Some of the conversations have been hilarious…some have been pretty challenging or uncomfortable. It’s all good though, lots of growth happening here.

The famous peppermint crisp tart incident

As promised, bulldog, here is the full story on why my mom does not make peppermint crisp tart anymore.😉 I was pretty sure I blogged this on a previous occasion, but apparently I haven’t, because I just can’t find it anywhere.

My mother, who has always been a force to be reckoned with in the kitchen, always used to keep a few bars of peppermint crisp chocolates in the fridge. As kids we KNEW that these were NOT to be touched, because she kept them there specifically to make peppermint crisp tarts.

By the way, my parents are celebrating their 38th wedding anniversary tomorrow – how cool is that?!

This incident took place when they were celebrating their 26th anniversary. I specifically remember the 26 years! being thrown around in the heat of the argument (along the lines of I’ve been making this for 26 years and NOW you tell me?!), so that makes it easy to place it.😉

Anyway…as I said, at roughly 26 years into their marriage, my dad at some point decided to admit that he really didn’t enjoy peppermint crisp tart, and my mom who had been making it for him as a treat fairly regularly up to that point was understandably shocked! It was not pretty, hahaha! I think the biggest thing on her part was that he had endured it for so long without saying a word, and here she was thinking she was doing something nice for him. OUTRAGE I tell you!

The only person, whom my mom will make a peppermint crisp tart for now, is my uncle – he has taken the every opportunity to tell my dad on numerous occasions that they now all have to suffer without it, just because my dad doesn’t like it. It’s a bit of a running family joke to give my dad grief about peppermint crisp tarts! Sometimes my mom will make a HUGE one just for my uncle (who is diabetic and really probably shouldn’t have it either), but it’s the one dessert that does not get served in my parents’ house anymore.

Anyhoo, as you can see they’ve manage to keep it together for another 12 years without the help of peppermint crisp tarts – so it’s all good.

We laughed ourselves silly though when a couple of years after the tart incident, cous-cous started featuring in our dinners (that was mostly my fault because I loved the fact that it could be ready in 5 minutes). The second time I made it, my dad politely said, “Before I get myself into trouble again, I would just like to point out that I don’t like cous-cous.”

That doesn’t get served there now either.😉

10 comments

  1. Argh nee man . . Andre en ons almal aan hierdie kant van die grens love jou ma se peppermint crisp tert


    • Ek is seker as jy haar mooi vra sal sy vir jou een maak, of die resep gee.😉


  2. Oh gosh, how funny is this Peppermint crisp tart issue! And well. lots of growth as you said.


    • It was really funny! I actually can’t believe I never blogged it before.
      Yip, lots of growth.


  3. I laughed so much at Nicola and the baby story. Kids are just too funny!! My husband’s niece also Nicola’s age told her mom she had a small problem. Which shocked mommy who explains she is too young to be having problems. She then decided to rephrase and said she had a small (insert her baby brother’s name) bottom line her problem was her brother!!! Same child once told her mom to return baby brother to the shop and come back with a baby sister😆

    And then I laughed till I had tears streaming down my face on the peppermint tart story and laughed even harder at the couscous disclaimer – smart man your dadX


    • Haha, that shop doesn’t take returns!

      My poor dad, all his scandals on the web. Hehehe…;-)


  4. Oh how I love peppermint tart,,, hell I love any tart…


    • I’m starting to think you have a bit of a sweet tooth bulldog?
      Good to know.😀


  5. Um, can she make peppermint tart for the rest of HUMANITY that loves it?:🙂

    Love the couscous story!!!

    yesssss could be a problem when little cousin arrives, so good thing you’re prepping her well!


    • Haha, she can…but the question is, will she?
      I will ask my mom if I can post her recipe online. It’s really easy peasy – and it comes out really lovely.
      I think the new cousin is going to be a big adjustment for Nicola, but probably a good one. I’ll try to make it as easy on her as possible – but sharing is definitely going to become a much bigger thing for her than it currently is.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

