h1

Another week…oh boy, these are going by so fast now!

13 October , 2014

Seriously. Where the hell is time going? Whoosh! All gone.

image

We had a bit of drama in the week. You see, sometimes my mom will fetch Nicola for me from school, especially on a Wednesday or a Friday when we have dinner with them. It takes a bit of time to get Nicola, get Polka, and then head over – so it really helps a lot if I only have to pick up Polka.

This week Nicola decided that she wanted Oupa to come and fetch her…only one problem, Oupa was presenting training all day out of town on Wednesday and said he couldn’t make it.

Nicola was inconsolable, and somehow got from that Oupa didn’t want to come and pick her up, instead of Oupa wanted to but just couldn’t. There was sobbing of the first degree until I managed to distract her with roasting marshmallows over a candle in the kitchen. Even so, she still wasn’t over it – just a bit calmer. I gave it my best shot, but she just could not be reasoned with on this. She made it quite clear that her little heart was BROKEN.

Thank goodness Oupa managed to wrap up the training a bit earlier than expected and picked her up after all! Isn’t he just a hero? I know Nicola and I thought so for sure. :-)Β 

image

I wasn’t actually trying to catch the brooding face – I wanted to show her the colour of her eyes. She reckons they’re yellow.πŸ˜‰

image

This was what we looked at from the smoking balcony last week. Second fire in that street for the week! It got fairly big at one stage before the fire brigade rocked up to snuff it out – I hope no one got hurt, but I’m assuming the best since I didn’t hear anything on the news.

image

Cramer’s coffee run with the team on Friday. I have pics of the team, obviously, but I’m not posting those.πŸ˜‰

image

Amaryllis blooming in my parents’ garden. I was going to link it to Wikipedia, but theirs don’t look like these at all, but I’m still pretty sure that’s what this is. We’ve called it the Amerillo for the better part of 20 years, so it might be a bit awkward if it turns out to be something else all of a sudden.

image

And again at my parents’ house – these lovely Pin Cushion Proteas. They eventually turn into a shrub, but at the moment this one looks more like a ground cover. A very pretty ground cover.

image

image

image

At a family birthday party over the weekend. These three made turns to be on top, and generally got on like a house on fire. Nicola was laughing so much that quite a few people joined in, it was just so contagious and joyful.πŸ™‚

image

Who’s a pretty bird?πŸ˜‰

image

My cuzz Melanie, one of the three birthday peeps.

image

With her parents. My uncle was also celebrating his birthday – I somehow managed to not take a photo of the third birthday pal.

image

Melaans and I.

image

image

image

image

Nicola sure loves helping out when I water the garden. Well, she does some interesting dance moves…I think she’s impersonating a sprayer or a fire-fighter.πŸ˜‰ It’s a hoot when she gets completely tangled in the hose from clowning around.

It’s fun to watch…if you don’t mind getting wet and having to change outfits after. She certainly doesn’t mind! I think I need to show her how to operate the washing machine and see if that helps her mind just a bit more?

image

Casting a beady eye on Oupa’s potjie yesterday. Yum!

image

TheΒ  family chilling outside – getting HUNGRY. Potjie can’t be rushed.

image

The BIG sulk after I said she couldn’t swim because she was already getting sick. I did eventually second guess myself on this one and let it be, but with the understanding that I wanted no lip when we worked our way through the coughs, colds and flu meds that night.

Seriously, is there anything more sucky than NOT ebing able to swim on a day perfect for it. Especially when cousins are visiting and everyone is set to be having fun in the pool? No…there isn’t.

That’s why I’ll put up with the Vicks, Mucospect and Panado this week. It’s okay. The fun we had was worth it, I guess.

image

How cute is that?!πŸ˜€

Yip, I’m glad I let her have her fun.

image

Starting a band, baby…starting a band.

image

After swimming everybody settled down for some cartoons and lollipops – what’s not to like?πŸ™‚

PS! Studying, still going on and on and on…

PPS! Secret place – absolute chaos at times. I had to escalate an urgent matter on Thursday and got the most insane/inane response back. I felt like I could have a bit of a cry behind my desk about that one…but in the end, after deleting very wordy, strong worded-wordy replies obviously – three of them – I decided to just reply back with something along the lines of “No”. *sigh* I’m in SMH-ville. You know, when a building is on fire – some people will still question the need for an evacuation. My mail had nothing to do with fires or buildings, but you get the idea. I’m also not in the habit of escalating things just for the sake of keeping people’s inboxes well stocked with crisises. WhenΒ I say it’s serious…you better bloody believe it.

PPPS! I am STRESSING out over a great many things at the moment. So. Many. Things. I have to remind myself to calm the fuck down and take one day at a time. Double bag my brown paper breathing bag if I have to, and just get on with it. Just think, by January next year I’m going to look back at how stressed I was and think to myself, “Haha, that was silly. Now THIS is real stress!”

PPPPS! Can everybody stop posting to fb how many stupid days are left until Christmas. I can read a calendar as good as the next person and I haven’t done any shopping yet. You are not helping my stress levels at all. Grrr…

PPPPPS! I also haven’t booked a bloody thing for Nicola’s birthday party yet. I’m thinking I’m going to scale this gala of hers down a little bit. Maybe. Or maybe not. I don’t know yet. Which is why I haven’t booked anything yet. I will draw a line in the sand for myself by the end of this month one way or another.

PPPPPPS! How the hell do you get through a year with your three or four weeks leave once your baby hits the formal schooling environment?! I am literally going to use up ALL leave over December/January (as I always do), but then there’s more needed in March/April again. What the hell am I going to do then?! What do the rest of you do?

12 comments

  1. OMW Louisa – I literally had to look twice to make sure I was seeing Nicola! She’s grown so much!


    • Crazy, right?!
      She really is much more little girl than little baby. She’s like 4 going on 40 some days!πŸ˜‰


  2. Oupa is ‘n ster!!!

    I’m not seeing those FB posts (then again, I’m hardly on there) but it FEELS near.

    PS I should also be studying but I can’t be bothered….

    PPPPPS Scale down – don’t stress – but on the other hand (and you know I mean this seriously and with all my heart) please (PLEASE) let me know how (not IF) I can help. I went on a good old rampage so I’m mostly up to date with house projects these days.

    PPPPPPS Also, this holiday thing kind-of kills me. I’m going to go into negative leave in December as I think it’s worth being -1 day to have two FULL WEEKS off.

    But then don’t ask how we’re going to pull off all the holidays, esp next year. Thank goodness I have the nanny – N is welcome to come over (pity you don’t stay nearer).

    To be honest, I’m more worried about ever affording a holiday during “peak season” again…………………. I wonder if we’ll ever get back to Ballito…………………….


    • Oupa rocks – seriously!πŸ˜€

      Time and money – it’s the root of all worries hey?

      I’ll give you a shout thank Marcia, but I think I’m probably just going to buck up and get on with it. But I can have a little panic attack here from time to time.πŸ˜‰


  3. Most schools may have a holiday programme. I leave mine with nanny L and they mostly love being at home for a bit.

    Ai and yes, we can correlate on stress any time – I am right up there!


    • I’ve read up a bit on ours, the after care does the holiday care too. Not too sure what they get up to when they’re there – but I guess we’ll find out soon enough. I am going to nudge Nicola into Voortrekkers if she shows any inclination at all, that way she can at least go camping for a few days every holiday and not spend all her time at school.


  4. PPPPPPPPPPPPPS….. stop stressing…..


    • Haha, you’re so funny.
      I will try.


  5. Baie skole het naskool sentrums waar hul koste vra om na jou kind om te sien gedurende skool vankansies maar Desember vankansies is ‘n probleem. Daar is sentrums wat vankansie programme het maar meeste van die tyd gaan jy verlof moet neem vanaf 15 Des – 5 Jan omtrent. Dit suck, ek weet. Wonder partykeer hoe redeneer die skole, wat gedoen met ons kinders. Dis nie asof ons huisvrouens is soos in die dae toe ons nog kinders was met ons ma’s nie.
    You do sound stressed. I hope the things that are stressing you out, get resolved fast. I am glad that I haven’t encountered people yet on FB posting days until Christmas. That would have irritated me as well. BTW, it’s only … days till ChristmasπŸ™‚ LOL!


    • lol – shush oor die dae na Kersfees toe! Grr…

      Dis eintlik belaglik is dit nie? Dit is presies die probleem. Daar is bitter min huisgesinne waar altwee ouers, as daar twee ouers is nie voltyds werk nie. Dit was byna ongehoort gewees way back when. Ek reken die skole moet ‘n bietjie by kom met die tye.


  6. Also feeling the end of year rush here!
    Yes, it is a problem for all us working parents… What to do with the kids? Grandmothers/-fathers and aunts and babysitters and kids-to-work days are some of the plans. Also arranging play dates helps!


    • I must say that my family are a great help over decembers. I don’t usually have enough days to cover the entire month of no school, so either my dad or my mom will take a few days to help me out.

      Next year is going to bring all sorts of interesting new challenges, haha…



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

