h1

Still alive…and kicking

29 September , 2014

I.am.so.tired.

And I have a bloody headache straight from hell. This isn’t helping my studying as you can imagine.

Anyway…onwards and upwards…and forward regardless.

Now for a few highlights of the last week:

image

I should have probably put a stop to this, but it was just too funny.

image

First watermelons of the season – yum!

image

I wanted to show a colleague what I meant when I said life is too short for a million little hooks in swimming pool safety, so I needed a volunteer for the demo.

She was sort of impressed when she saw the photo, but the video clip of my dad walking across blew her mind (or as Nicola would say that: her head exploded).😉

image

Violets in our garden. They are extremely happy with the warmer weather and the first few rains.

image

Supreme concentration.

image

Action shot of clowning around before the last concert performance at school.

image

The .5 second that she actually sat still in one spot.

image

Nicola was very exvited about this bit, especially singing horsey sikilele with her friends.😉

image

So…update on the home affairs thing with the unabridged birth certificate that took close to 5 years.

I couldn’t find the stupid receipt, haha of course not! So I phoned the number on the SMS to ask what I NEEDED to take along to be able to collect.

This lady did not think that 5 years was especially long to wait for something that should have taken 12 weeks. Also 5 years is not very long to hang on to an invoice apparently. In lieu of the correct papers, she recommended I try to collect with the original abridged certificate and take along “the baby”, and hope to encounter someone who is not too sticky on the rules and procedures.

image

So “the baby” missed out on some school to stand in a two hour qeue with me in the tiniest, hottest and most unpleasant home affairs room known to mankind.

The lady on the phone told me that it took so long because they had to verify the birth records. Funny that. I’m pretty sure I handed in the verification when I applied, but what the hell do I know?

I think there was a bit of a clean up in progress because I found two other people in the waiting area who had been waiting two years. Amateurs!

I won’t lie. It was extremely unpleasant to wrangle my pre-schooler in there for that long. I started a bit of a thing with the other waiters. Every time someone actually got whatever piece of paper they were looking for, we cheared! (Loudly). It got buy in from the other people really quickly and made the home affairs officials very nervous.

Is it any surprise that I was out of there 10 minutes after I reached the counter? There was a lady in there who waited from 11:00 till 15:00 to get hers
Maybe the 5 years in the making pile was a bit smaller to work through?

And the guy who took my query? Didn’t even LOOK at the impossible to keep still Nicola after those two awful hours. He asked about the receipt and I let rip about timing and what not and everything the “helpful” lady on the phone advised. He let me go on for a bit and then blinked at me and then said…”Yes, but what happened to the receipt?” “I lost it.” “Okay fine. Just take a seat, we’ll call you in 10 minutes.”

And they did. So thanks guy. That was the best part of this whole experience!🙂

20 comments

  1. wow im amazed you got it in your first visit. you couldve taken along any child…lol


    • I was just as surprised! I fully expected that they would make me pay again…in a different 2 or 3 hour qeue. On 29 Sep 2014 8:12 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. Wow! Can’t believe it took so long! We got ours the day we left the hospital, but I must say a very nice and friendly lady from Home Affairs has an office at the hospital, so that really helped!


    • Wow. We definitely didn’t have that option. Way back then the hospital told me that Home Affairs forbid them to apply on our behalf. On 29 Sep 2014 8:29 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. HAHAHA – I’m still laughing at “the baby”🙂 You poor things – you both deserved a BIG ice-cream dipped in caramel after that!

    And I see signs of a teenage Nicola….. lying on that bed~


    • We had some ice cream for dessert to celebrate.😉 On 29 Sep 2014 8:37 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. Hope headache is at bay? Sorry. Nicola is just so adorable! I just can’t believe how big she’s getting.

    Ha ha ha ha, 5 years only for a piece of paper, how’s that due efficiency (NOT)

    Who did the pool cover? We need to get ours done now that the little miss is mobile


    • The head ache still comes and goes…but mostly goes.

      The cover was done by Honeydew Nets. Seriously the best cover around if you ask me. On 29 Sep 2014 9:24 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Hoop jy voel gou beter!


    • Baie dankie!🙂 On 30 Sep 2014 8:00 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  6. This is why I am avoiding this whole birth certificate thing which really isn’t very responsible *sigh*


    • Rip the plaster off Laura!😉 On 30 Sep 2014 8:34 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  7. Bwaaahahahahahaaaa! “But what happened to the receipt?” “I lost it.” “Okay…” Classic!
    So glad you finally got sorted, though!


    • You should have seen his face! I had a hard time holding my pose. On 30 Sep 2014 10:15 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  8. Five years is that not par for the course.???
    Sounds like a bit of an ordeal, but at least it is now over…


    • Unfortunately it is…thank goodness it’s over now. On 30 Sep 2014 12:19 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  9. Ours took surprisingly short and Centurion home affairs have lots of smiling happy people serving one. Love the cheering idea! Classic Louisa


    • You know me…I have to do it my way.😉 On 01 Oct 2014 3:44 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  10. Thanks, you made me smile with the lion haircut, and the good advice about cheering in Home Affairs and “horsey sikelele”… Precious!


    • I’d rather laugh than cry, right?😉 My pleasure. On 02 Oct 2014 11:31 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

