h1

Lazy days of summer…or is it spring…or are we flashing back to a piece of winter?

22 September , 2014

So, I guess the most surprising development of the past week has come from Home Affairs. I applied for an unabridged birth certificate for Nicola just after she was born, and paid for it. They said they would send an SMS when it was ready for collection and it seems that day has finally come. Hahaha, it only took almost 5 years instead of 12 weeks.

I’d actually kind of given up on it to be honest. I know I need one if I ever want to take her out of the country, but usually when someone asks for a copy they are happy to accept the abridged one I already have…so it hasn’t really derailed my plans in any way up to now.

Oh well, I better track down my receipt and go fetch it some time this week while it’s still available.πŸ˜‰

image

image

image

image

These were taken laaaast weekend by T, when we visited there – aren’t they pretty. It doesn’t matter how cool your phone’s camera is, there’s just something about the quality of photos taken by a proper camera that can’t be beaten right? (I am still way too lazy to buy one and drag it along everywhere I go – but I really appreciate it when someone else does).

Thanks T!πŸ™‚

image

Let’s talk about this crazy weather for a bit. Can it bloody decide if it’s hot or cold now already? Last week it was so warm, we had to stick our heads under the taps to cool down at times…then all of a sudden freezing again – just in time to ruin weekend swimming. And to top it off a kind of end of days hail storm Saturday night!

Anyway…still leaps and bounds better than full on winter, so I’ll take it – whatever it is.

image

This is what is now known as a spagetti top, for the lack of sleeves obviously. How cool that she is finally happy to wear them. Last year she would have really kicked up a fuss about it, and now it’s all that she wants.

Apparently at school, anyone without sleeves gets sunblock on their arms and shoulders applied to them – and Nicola really wants the sunblock. She refuses to wear sleeves to school, other places are okay, but she doesn’t want to miss out on the sunblock. Odd right? Haha…

image

Ouma very briefly had the use of her own tablet – Nicola LOVES playing games on it.

image

Polka snuggles early in the morning. When it’s time to wake the pink terrorist up, I get my hands bitten. She knows once cyclone Nicola opens her eyes, all snuggles are over and it’s action packed from there on.

image

On Saturday we had the first instalment of this year’s school concert – it was so cute!

It’s clear to me that the teacher who left in the middle of this year used to be the creative direction behind these things. It’s definitley very different than all the concerts we’ve had there before…but the dance numbers are in my opinion much more age appropriate and I whole-heartedly approve!πŸ™‚

Nicola has been SOOOO excited about this show, and they’ve been practising for ages. She did really great and she loved every second of it.

image

image

I was way too far from the stage to get a good shot, but anyhoo – here are the best of the ones I did get. She was one of the three little piggies in her first scene, and then the second scene and onwards the blue class just had blue t-shirts on.

This is my favourite concert of hers yet. I am actually very excited about the DVD this year. We get it every year and Nicola loves watching them ad infinitum after the concert…this year I think I’ll be happy to watch along.

image

The hail! This is taken from high-ish up, so you don’t really get a good idea, but they were HUGE. Some of them about 30mm diameter. It was a surprise, because not too long before that we were outside and there was hardly a cloud in the sky, all of a sudden it’s like armegeddon outside.

Luckily we brought all the dogs inside for their own protection, and thanked our lucky stars that we have insurance on the cars. There were quite a few dead birds under the trees the next morning, usually the trees offer them enough protection against this kind of thing, but they had no chance this time round. Diablo and Jessie ate most of them by the next morning before we noticed.

At our place, unlike at my folks, we didn’t really have much hail – but the rain obviously came through with some force. I raked up two whole bags of tree leaves on Sunday, in our teeny tiny garden, from a tree that doesn’t even grow there – you can see it over the wall about two houses down!

image

Dogs inside during the storm.

image

Do you want to build a snowman?πŸ˜‰

Well, no snow – but we built a hail one.

image

Sunday the weather was MUCH nicer again, thankfully.

image

image

I actually got a smile-for-the-camera photo, that’s not a funny face!

image

These rocks are being put in the dungeon apparently – they’ve been naughty and Barney will guard them and make sure they don’t get into any more trouble.πŸ˜‰

Ps! I received my study material today. I am very likely going to be missing in action, or at least heavily reduced action, until mid-December. Wish me luck. This is kind of HUGE for me.

 

20 comments

  1. beautiful photos and i’m the same with the weather, having moaned for the past few months about how cold it was, then how hot it was, im kinda enjoying this weather at the moment


    • I am too, I just wish some of the warm weather would stick around for a weekend. On 22 Sep 2014 12:14 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. I love those first few photos… you’re both very photogenic… Good luck with the studying…


    • Thank you! On 22 Sep 2014 1:19 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. I hate sunscreen – hate it. I do everything I can do avoid it. LOL David has to put it on the kids – I can’tπŸ™‚

    It was hardly cold hereπŸ™‚


    • I’m with you, Laura. Hate it. D puts on me and of course, on the kidsπŸ™‚


      • Ah…well trained husbands you two have.πŸ˜‰ On 22 Sep 2014 7:39 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

        >


    • It has a wierd stickiness to it, doesn’t it? On 22 Sep 2014 4:02 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. Gorgeous photos!!!! N’s hair is just divineπŸ™‚ The birth certificate story is just so typically… South African!

    Now don’t disappear completely!


    • I am swamped Marcia. SWAMPED! Pity the fool that gets on my shit list right now because I am super irritible with the rushing around. On 22 Sep 2014 7:41 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Sy raak net al hoe mooier en nou begin sy soos ‘n regte dametjie te lykπŸ˜€


    • Sy word regtig net elke dag pragtiger. Dankie!πŸ™‚ On 23 Sep 2014 12:44 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  6. She really is just gorgeous! You know, I’m thinking that if government is going to demand that parents have an unabridged birth certificate to show in order to take their child out of the country, they’re going to have to start providing them for free! I have unabridged certificates for Megan and Michael but abridged for Jack and James… Ugh. It’s going to be a pain to get this all sorted out!😦
    Happy Spring, though!


    • Rumour has it that they now give that one as a default…I have no idea why it takes so bloody long to print that little piece of paper. On 23 Sep 2014 2:52 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  7. 5 years for an unabridged birth certificate!! You are scaring me now. I need one of those, God forbid it take 5 years!


    • I must just be “lucky”. I don’t think it usually takes that long. On 24 Sep 2014 10:31 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  8. Love all the photos in this postπŸ™‚
    5 years?!? Wow! But this should not actually shock us as South Africans, right?


    • Nope…not shocked at all. I was more shocked when they actually let me know it was ready. On 26 Sep 2014 7:50 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  9. That wall of yours is seriously photographic and a great backdrop. Gosh and please do not disappear. And you do need the unabridged certificates for GED grade 1 applications


    • They accepted the abridged for GrR applications…even though they said they don’t. I didn’t have the other one, so that’s very lucky for me.

      I won’t disappear completely. I might just drop 3 weeks behind in commenting or something. I really really really need to pass this course. On 01 Oct 2014 3:56 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

