h1

Little things of the last week

13 September , 2014

image

It seems that Polka, she of many rows of teeth, has found something worth chewing to alleviate her teething itchiness.

Succulents have had to be moved to higher ground for their own safety…jaws frequents the shallow waters. To-do…to-ro…to-do-to-ro…(jaws sound track).

image

image

This is one of my secret place colleagues. As you may be able to tell, he is freakily double jointed!

This move is how he’s constantly stretching behind his desk during the day…the first time I saw it I almost fell off my chair!

On the upside, I bet he can reach that hard to reach spot on his back that no one else can reach for themselves, hey?

image

Nicola and best friend/worst enemy L. Just love this little saunter they did down to the school gate.

image

We had to pop into Builders Warehouse for a light bulb. Landlord has a “gift” for selecting non standard light fittings, so when a bulb goes it always turns into an adventure finding a replacement.

Of course there is no way we could leave before Nicola tried out EVERY chair, couch or lounger in the whole place…hahaha…it took a while, but it was fun to watch.

image

Secret place is launching secret wear. We all got to attend a fashion show on Friday, of wrinkled clothes on models who not even slightly resemble anyone working in the building.

The clothes are really nice though. Since it’s not compulsory (yet), I sort of derailed HR lady’s Q&A session by asking if I could buy what I wanted in colours other than the corporate colours they showed us.

Apparently yes!🙂 She said it would be for my own account. I asked if you buy the corporate colours, isn’t it for your own account too? Also yes…haha. Then I guess I buy what I want anyway.😉

It’s been an interesting week HR-wise…

The end result of one of these little interactions is that I’m probably going to go completely quite end November, beginning December. I’m going to be studying INTENSELY! So if you don’t hear from me then, it’s probably going pretty well.

Another thing happening at secret place is that we’ve got a couple of temporary transfers in from group. One from somewhere German speaking for three years, and two very English ones with cute accents for three months.

I am now giving Afrikaans lessons. The long term guy mentioned that he wanted to learn, and I sort of ran with it. We do a word or a phrase a day and it’s become a bit of a department initiative…I have a long list of suggestions on what to teach him next.

He’s picking it up REALLY fast, and the hard sounds people usually battle to pick up is no problem for him at all. One of the team insisted on teaching him something rude. I’ve been keeping it clean because I do actually want him to learn it while he’s here.

So just imagine what happened when he pipes up in a meeting this week telling someone, “Ek gaan jou bliksem!” Hahaha! We told him, not appropriate for the office, but one of the powers that be assured him that it’s one of her favourite words and she uses it often.

image

Nicola has asked me to wear earrings, so I’ve worn a different pair every day this week. This was Friday. Super bendy colleague at the top of this post calls them chandel-ears!

My ears are not enjoying this experience, I tell you! I stopped wearing earrings when little hands tried to yank them out. To be honest, it’s not like I wore them daily even before that. My piercings were not all the way open on Monday, no big deal. I just pushed the earrings through anyway…I have done it before, never a problem. In fact I once added another piercing in more or less the same way. However they are properly sensitive now. Usually it’s a once off thing, and then weeks of rest again in between. Now, it’s every day.

I’m kind of in two minds if I should keep it up till they heal completely or just at least stop for the weekend so that I can stop pulling and rubbing at them.

image

First swim of the season!

The water is still a little bit “fresh”.I think we’re about 2 or 3 degrees away from great, but this is a really good start.🙂

14 comments

  1. Sterkte met die studies


    • Baie dankie – ek reken ek gaan dit nodig kry!


  2. Plant lady! Why aren’t you growing more succulents from those “clippings”? I think N and I would have a lovely time browsing a Home Depot together, I also have to touch and try everything in the home stores, much to G’s dismay!


    • They’re kind of growing themselves at the moment. As soon as they’re ready to leave the nest I will enter them into one of the various plant exchange programs I’m involved in.😉

      Oh Nicola loves, loves, loves any shop like that. She tries EVERYTHING, hahaha! I prefer to do my browsing if I’m flying solo, because i can’t look at her and at things at the same time – so when she’s with me, I’m more a straight to whatever I came looking for kind of girl.


  3. OUCH! I cringed at the thought of you pressing those earrings through.

    The uniform sounds… terrible – what is the thinking?


    • It didn’t hurt at all really – I just made sure the stud was properly sterilised before I started.

      It’s not exactly a unifiorm, and we’re not forced to buy or wear it either. It’s just corporate wear that you can buy if you feel like it, and while you’re at it may we strongly suggest the following colours. There are actually quite a few things that I wouldn’t mind having, it’s pretty similar to the type of stuff i wear anyway – but not necessarily in secret place colours. So I might just buy some, in whatever bloody colour I want to!😉

      Apparently the thinking is that some client facing individuals often look like they’ve been dragged backwards through a hedge, or were mistaken that there was a pajama party happening over lunch. I guess they’re trying to encourage people to dress the part, instead of leaning on them with disciplinaries? And they’ve negotiated 3 month pay offs for the clothes to help people make it happen. It’s not as evil and annoying as i thought it might be at first glance.


  4. Sterkte met die studies….and you go girl in teaching someone Afrikaans.


    • Thank you!
      It’s a lot of fun, and he’s a great student.🙂


  5. Two gorgeous models!!! Love the saunter!!!

    Double jointed guy! Freaky!!! I wonder what else he can do?

    Uniform? Why? And you pay for it? Someone isn’t doing something right and by that I mean someone isn’t thinking😆

    Aside from grocery my second best type of shopping is home improvement stores!!! Love imagining where things will for in my house!


    • 🙂

      Haha, I am not going to ask what else…

      It’s not exactly a unifiorm, and we’re not forced to buy or wear it either. It’s just corporate wear that you can buy if you feel like it, and while you’re at it may we strongly suggest the following colours. There are actually quite a few things that I wouldn’t mind having, it’s pretty similar to the type of stuff i wear anyway – but not necessarily in secret place colours. So I might just buy some, in whatever bloody colour I want to! Apparently the thinking is that some client facing individuals often look like they’ve been dragged backwards through a hedge, or were mistaken that there was a pajama party happening over lunch. I guess they’re trying to encourage people to dress the part, instead of leaning on them with disciplinaries? And they’ve negotiated 3 month pay offs for the clothes to help people make it happen. It’s not as evil and annoying as i thought it might be at first glance.

      They’ve got some really nice things there – I also like imagining where I’d put them – it’s a fun place to be..but expensive!


  6. That guy is super freaky man!

    Love that photo of Nicola!

    I actually started wearing ear rings this week – my attempt to be less frumpy but my ears are also hurting because I never wore them regularly but I am toughing it out!


    • Laura, you couldn’t be frumpy if you tried! Hope your ears feel better soon.


  7. I have to wear earrings, I think i look strange without them! That double jointed dude is freaky, looks sore! Your pool is nice and blue, ours is still green! Husband is busy treating it now so hopefully we can swim soon🙂


    • He says it doesn’t hurt at all – but it does look odd hey? Good luck with the pool! My parents put some sort of elctrolysis system in when they installed the pool, so there is actually very little chlorine or pool acid in that mix, and the cover we have also keeps whatever chemicals go in there safe from evaporation. I have honestly never seen it green in 6 or 7 years since we’ve had it.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

