h1

A week in photos – loving Spring!

8 September , 2014

image

Remember how I counted down?

So worth it!πŸ™‚

image

This was on Thursday at the information morning at Nicola’s school for next year.

They planned a two hour event, but they lost about 130 little people in the audience 20 minutes in. Haha, when the principal came on, you could tell he definitely wasn’t used to being more or less ignored.

I really like the school. Obviously…otherwise I wouldn’t have stalked them online for the last three years. I do have my doubts about this new principal though…I hope he’s much more approachable in real life than on stage. Also, his one piece of advice to the parents very much didn’t suit me…apparently we mustn’t believe everything we hear because our kids all make up stuff?O_o I will always believe what Nicola tells me, unless I know for a fact she understood things wrong. Always.

image

The children got to try out their new playground for next year – big hit!

image

Nicola’s favourite part…this space ship! The little girl who joined her has a very unlikely name hahaha!

image

Very pleased with herself.πŸ™‚

image

My favourite part of the playground is this giant tree.

image

Polka went for her big snip on the same day.

Cute vet asked me if I was a nursery school teacher because he heard the playground noise when he phoned to let me know that they had to pull some extra teeth while she was under and that she was doing well after the op.

Apparently the small breeds battle to lose their milk teeth. He left quite a few in…and she might have to go back for another procedure next year if she doesn’t lose them on her own by then.

image

Feeling very sorry for herself…poor baby.

image

Nicola and Polka, Finding Nemo while enjoying some breakfast.

image

Helping Ouma make some of her famous apple crumble pies (or “tasting” big hands full of dough every time Ouma turns her back.πŸ˜‰

image

image

It was so hot in the afternoon that I hosed down the children. They LOVED it! If all goes well, we’ll do our first pool swim of the season this coming weekend.

image

Ice cream!

image

More ice cream!

image

More ice cream!

image

I don’t know what this plant is called, but it’s putting up a great display at our place at the moment.

image

I finally managed to tie up Polka’s hair. It lasted all of 5 minutes untill she figured put how to untie it again. I’ll take her for a serious trim once her stiches come out…

image

The stitches…

image

No small feat getting a photo of her double row of teeth…she kept trying to chew my hand off with them!

image

Splashing in puddles after we planted some new shrubs at my folks yesterday.

image

Watching a phone video with Oupa.

image

Getting very comfortable on Ouma.

How was your weekend?πŸ™‚

27 comments

  1. mmmm so while I do listen to everything my kids say I have learnt not to rush in based purely on what they have said (especially my Kiara). You always do need to be on their side but I do think there is merit in what the principal said. Before I will contact the school I will talk to the kids about the issue a bit more and possible the next day (to check consistency in the story).

    BUT there are days, like the day Kiara had her hair cut, that I do storm in the school gate like an All Black running for the try lineπŸ™‚


    • I get that…I mean, Nicola has on occasion told me that they rode turkeys at school today – but still, I don’t like that he picked that as his “one thing” to advise parents on.

      If Nicola tells me that someone hurt her or treated her badly, I am obviously going to jump on that with both feet. If it turns out I’m wrong then so be it, and I’ll appologise – but my daughter will never have to say, “I told you, but you said I was a liar…”or something similar.


  2. I do love the ice cream photos


    • It’s definitely the season for all things ice cream right?πŸ˜€


  3. Weekend was good. BUT this heat is KILLING me slowly but surelyπŸ™‚πŸ™‚

    Poor Polka!!

    And Nicola looks chuffed with herself on the big school ride, I’m sure she can’t wait to use them daily.


    • It has kind of jumped straight into summer weather! Wow, two days in a row that we’re hitting more or less 30’C and it’s early September now! Can you just imagine what December or Febraury are going to feel like?

      She’s very excited about big school…and a bit nervous too. They didn’t include a visit to an actual class room as part of the info day, but Nicola desperately wanted to see one, so I just added that myself when I spotted an empty class. She went round inspecting every little thing, art supplies, reading corner, the desks and chairs…everything! She approves, hahaha! The teacher looked a bit surprised with how thorough she was in her inspection really.

      I think her biggest concern was that the other kids would be bigger than she was, but now that she’s met the rest of next year’s grade R class, she feels much better about that.πŸ™‚


  4. Love Spring as well!!


    • πŸ™‚
      Now I could do with a spot of rain just to clear the air, but other than that – it’s perfect.


  5. Ok, I am still stuck on your first pic of that ice cream.. neeeeed ice cream NOW.


    • That’s the dairy maid one, chocolate and toffee or something. It’s yummy…and not badly priced if you love ice cream as much as my pink terrorist does!


  6. Oh I am sure you know I am ecstatic about the turn of seasons. And I can tell you that sometimes (especially with the under 8 kids) you have to make sure, take it with a pinch of salt, whatever…. Misunderstanding things are huge.

    Best of luck


    • I saw you toes on fb today, hahaha – whoohoo for Spring!πŸ™‚
      I think we’ll take it one situation at a time and see how it goes. I just don’t take kindly to someone insinuating that all kids are liars, even before meeting them individually.


  7. Ahhh all that ice cream… love this time of the year because of that… see you’re keeping up with cute vet… can we expect something there?????? lol


    • Haha, well…I now have a dog with bad teeth – so I’ll definitely be seeing more of him than anticipated.πŸ˜‰
      I don’t know buldog, we’ll have to wait and see. We had a nice chat, not about pets the last time I saw him. He seems like a nice guy…but a bit shy.


      • You can sort that shyness out I’m sure…


  8. She’s a shark dog! Yikes to all those teeth. I have a thing with teeth.

    So glad you still like the new school. A week in, and I’m hoping things pick up with our school. Maybe I’m expecting too much.


    • Haha, that is exactly what I said when I finally saw all those teeth!

      Give it a few more weeks before you make up your mind on that, maybe they are just slow starters and they start dazzling you any moment now?

      I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you anyway, that that’s the case!


  9. My friend date on saturday said, “oh, it can NEVER get too hot for me” about the weatherπŸ™‚ – reminds me of Cat!

    I can’t wait for our orientation – I think it’s 1 Nov!


    • PS that sounds way too nerdy but it’s a chance to ask all my questionsπŸ™‚


      • Ours wasn’t exactly a Q&A session…i am still pretty much in the dark on many things, but I’ll be seeing them again whenI have to pop in with the actual enrollment form, not the application to enroll thing that happened in April. Hopefully they won’t be entertaining 130 littlies and all their parents, so then I might get a chance for some one on one interogations.


    • My brain switches off at 38’C. I find it very unpleasant from about 35 onwards. I think if I could pick an ideal temp it would be somewhere between 23 and 27…but the pool’s water can be a bit more, I don’t mind that.πŸ˜‰

      Good luck for orientation, hope we get a glimpse of it on your blog? The Queen who sits next to me is very happy with that school, and she’s pretty precise in what she wants or deems acceptable – so I think it will probably be okay.


  10. Eish. Ja, that principal dude sounds a bit meh to me – a bit too social worker? (And I should know!)

    So loving Spring; it’s my favourite time of the year! Obviously, we’re birds of a feather!πŸ˜‰


    • Yay! Fellow spring lover.πŸ™‚
      He sounds a bit odd, doesn’t he? Maybe he’s just really bad in front of crowds…he is a fairly young principal. We’ll see…


  11. Her new school looks cool from the playgroundπŸ™‚ the whole school thing is stressing me out already. I guess I better start stalking some.


    • If you’re thinking private…then YES! If public…you still have a few years to think about it.πŸ˜‰ On 11 Sep 2014 11:44 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  12. I am also very glad that summer is slowly arriving. I really don’t do winters well. I hear you where believing what your child tell you…but please remember that nothing that happens in your home will ever be considered as “private” I have seen my children as well as my grandchildren telling their teachers EVERYTHING that happens at home…EVERYTHING. πŸ˜›


    • Haha, I know…not sure what is getting back to school, but I am getting all sorts of interesting reports about friends’ parents at our house. There are no filters!πŸ˜‰



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

