h1

All about the brrr…

14 July , 2014

image

How bloody cold was last week?! Ag nee man. I am very tired of winter. Good news though, only 47 more days till Spring Day.πŸ˜‰

Polka usually hangs around till we head off to bed before either curling up somewhere to sleep or trying to negotiate her way onto the foot end of the bed for some additional heat. On this day she couldn’t wait, it was just too cold, so she burrowed into the laundry.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Obviously I’ve been missing the sun, or the heat from the sun anyway. I pined for it by taking various sunrise photos on super freezing mornings!

image

This was going to be Nicola’s outfit for the dog show. After we changed the event to go to Delta park, she decided not to wear the dress – good choice actually because it’s not the best outfit for jungle gyms.

image

Clean and fluffy Polka on Friday night, in prep for the park visit.

image

The very awesome butterfly costume my mom made for Polka – how cute! She’s not in love with the wings to be honest, but she tolerates them.

image

Freezing out, but someone needed their shoes off anyway.

image

We convinced Ouma to join us, and she ended up on wing sitting duty. Next time, we’ll definitely go there again when it’s a bit warmer…brrr…

image

Whoohoo!πŸ™‚

image

The pink terrorist sure loves her stick and stones, and pieces of random tree bark. I’ll have you know that I get at least one stick or stone every day from school, especially hand selected for me. These two were the finds from Saturday, and they are much more versatile than you might imagine.

The left hand one was used as either a fork, or a hair brush – on everyone in the house. And the flat one on the right was either a knife or a cellphone.

Definitely my kid, as she likes to name inanimate objects – but we used to have a little twig in the house called snoopy a while ago, and at the moment we have a longish walking stick sized branch (picked up on our walk with Chickenruby a few weeks ago) called Numtum. There were many long crocodile tears when Oupa took the sharp end off Numtum (I mean really, how is she supposed to defend herself now she asks me?!), and more recently I often get called to discipline Polka when she bites Numtum.

We get attached to our things, I guess.πŸ˜‰

image

We had lunch at my brother-bear and SIL’s house on Saturday afternoon. Look at those two working so nicely together in the kitchen. Here they can be seen making chocolate spring rolls! Yumm…I ate waaaay too many of those delectable little things. ActuallyΒ I ate so manyΒ I didn’t feel like supper on Saturday OR breakfast on Sunday, haha…

image

Sneaky sneaky K!πŸ™‚ Thanks for the photo I found unexpectedly on my phone. I’m trying to pack Dominoes for Nicola to push over here, with varrying degrees of success.

image

Cyclone Nicola, adding some make up to her Barbies so they can look their best, as you do.

All things considered, it was a gloriously relaxing weekend. We got plenty of sleep, saw a few things, did a few things. Just enough so that I could still feel a little bit like I might be hibernating, or as close to it as humanely possible.

How was your weekend?

20 comments

  1. lol, she’s still got the stick. My youngest had a stick called Steve he found at Pilanesburg and Bob ate it


    • Yip, she still has the stick…and she tells my mom about Bob every time we go there. I think you two made quite an impression on her!πŸ˜‰


  2. Love your sunrise photos!
    WE also want to go to delta Park, but hasn’t yet!
    Love those fairy outfitsπŸ˜€


    • Thank you – you really should go, it’s lovely…but go when it’s warmer, seriously!


    • I went looking for that extreme park you told me about – but i couldn’t find it. It’s not obvious from Krugerrand road where the hell it is, we drove up and down almost all the money named streets looking for it, especially Florin and Krugerrand. Help? What am I missing?


  3. Where is Delta park? I assume somewhere in the west!

    Oh, gathering junk scares me shitless but I know kids love their treasures.

    Nicola looked lovely in her dress. Polka would have stolen the show if the dog show had gone ahead.

    Lovely sunrise pictures, though I am not sure the sun produces enough heat to keep you warm in the mornings.

    I am obviously loving winter, since I get up early to walk for 3-5km before heading off to work, I could never do that in summer.

    Ps: Is Oupa still wearing his trademark shorts even in this blistering cold weather?


    • that is the first time I’ve heard you swear, Mrs FF!πŸ™‚ My mouth was hanging open.


      • Mwahaha, that’s not even a serious swear word!πŸ˜‰


    • It’s closer to Randburg actually – so North I guess.
      Oh it’s sort of inevitable the gathering, but if you’re sneaky you can disappear some things after a while without too much notice.πŸ˜‰

      Haha, yes – he is!


  4. Oh that doggy outfit! Cute. My kids all love nature things- they pick up and collect. After this holiday we are drowning a bit in them. And you have no idea how cold it was in the Free state


    • I think on our next beach trip I’m probably going to end up with a lot of shells and driftwood. It’s fun though, I don’t mind it at all.

      Free State, yikes – I can just imagine! It’s always cold there if you ask me.πŸ˜‰


  5. So here I was going to say “beautiful sunset photos” and they’re sunrise. WOW – I don’t know when I last saw the sun rise!!!

    LOVE the matching wings on Polka and Nicola!!!

    We went for lunch and a tea/ latte and church, and that was all the out this weekend. 47 days, hey? 21 days til we leave for the beach!


    • Hehehe, yes Marcia – I’m not surprised. I don’t take you as a morning person at all!πŸ˜‰

      I’m hoping at some point they’ll be wearing the matching outfits so that I can get some nice photos of them together.

      We’re doing Balitto in January again – I’m not counting to that one yet…


  6. Damn I agree I hate this cold…. just want to spend the day under the bed clothes… had to go out this weekend and stood shivering where ever we stopped… might have something to do with my system being a little off kilter at the mo… but damn it is cold… how Nicola can run around bare foot amazes me, yet our two grand kids where we stay do the same… and they say it’s not cold….


    • Nope, it really is cold – don’t blame your system. Thankfully this week looks like it’s a bit warmer at least. Max of 20 is much more agreeable to me that max if 10 or 12. And no minus temps when I get up in the mornings is A okay in my book!

      They say a jersey is a thing a kid wears when their mother is cold hahaha. She doesn’t feel it at all. We’ve come to an agreement though that she has to wear the shoes at least when we’re in a shop, or anywhere that I see even a hint of glass lying around. Other than that she’s got free reign on shoes…it’s supposed to be good for your feet to go barefoot often. I’ll just keep telling myself that, even in winter.πŸ˜‰


      • As a child in Rhodesia I never wore shoes… but it is so damn cold how can the kids not feel it through the soles of their feet ???


  7. It has been cold, hey.. We have also been to delta park a few times and enjoyed it. Polka is so cute in the laundry!


    • Thanks, she’s not THAT cute when she takes the laundry out and drags it all over the house during the night – but this way is pretty cute.πŸ˜‰


  8. I am so over the cold too. I scarcely make it to 8:30 when I dive into bed. Love looking at your photos.


    • I don’t want to say it too soon, but the weather has actually not been that bad this week. *Keeping fingers crossed for an early spring!*
      Thank you.πŸ™‚



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

