h1

My fingers are half frozen today, so excuse my typos if you find any…

7 July , 2014

image

Seriously, bloody cold today (even more cold expected tomorrow!). I can tell that it was extra cold today and not just my imagination because usually when I get up Polka gets up too, this morning she just peeped at me over the blanket and made it clear she wasn’t having any of that if she could help it.

Now, about this picture above. Strike season is upon us, and this is a smattering of NUMSA people who danced past secrete place last week. My one new colleague was having a little rant about how they can’t see they’re sinking the economy, bla-bla so selfish, bla-bla…you get the idea. Well, I do get it. I’m not saying I think it’s the right way to apprach these things, but I do get it. For instance, on the very same day that people were dancing through town for more money the news bulletin on my radio station was going on about 20c/liter increase in petrol prices, 6 or 7% increase in electricity rates, and someone saying we should probably mentally start preparing for a repo rate of 10,5%. I know I am certainly feeling the pinch without these increases already! I have that handy Out of Milk app that tracks my last spend on grocery items, and a run that should have cost me R900 last week clocked in at R1400. Same shop, same goods (and I’m talking Checkers, not Woolies!). If I am feeling it, then I can well imagine people in lower pay brackets than myself must be feeling it even worse.

Where will it all end? Who knows. The cost of living keeps going up, but it still beats the alternative.πŸ˜‰

image

Polka, a rare sighting without her winter jersey on…and CLEAN literally minutes after a thorough scrubbing. When she’s looking this neat I am probably hiding my hands, she doesn’t take kindly to my brush techniques and is always trying to chew off my fingers in retaliation.

image

A colleague/friend from secret place’s Dubai office brought me some yummy dates last week. They are stuffed with almonds. The only dates I’ve ever seen around here come in those sticky bricks, not nearly as nice as these are – just so you know (they’re not even on the same playing field). I don’t know how these compare in evil-ness compared to chocolate, but I feel like I should be wearing a sort of halo for treaing myself to these instead of my normal snacks.πŸ˜‰

image

image

image

Monkey pajama party we attended on Saturday. Trust Marcia’s eye for details hey? How pretty is this table!

image

Littlies in pajamas, making cereal necklaces. Marcia had a somewhat different vision of how that would be done, but I think it came out very pretty – hahaha!πŸ˜‰

image

Nicola, pinning a tail on a monkey.

image

Birthday girl, really enjoying her breakfast!

image

Nicola and I and the cereal necklace.

image

MrsFF and MissK. Nicola was extremely excited about seeing these two when she told my mom about the party, it’s like it’s just dawned on her that people might know each other apart from when we see them. She was very surprised!

image

Story book time! This was a BIG hit with all the children. How this Ouma managed to see the page is a little beyond me, cause they all wanted to get on her lap or as close as they possibly could to the book while she read.

image

Birthday cake time!

image

At my folks’ place later. Shh…we’re hunting avos.πŸ˜‰

image

Have you ever seen avo flowers? No? Well, this is what they look like. And they are super sensitive fragile thingies. The poor tree’s barnches are almost on the ground with flowers, but with the hectic cold front coming I doubt next year’s crop will be much more than a handful.

What a pity…they are without a doubt the best avos I have ever tasted.

image

Nicola’s madusa impersonation on Sunday morning. Not really, but just look at that hair!πŸ˜‰

image

image

We headed over to Milky Lane for a special treat on Sunday. Nicola tells me that THIS is the ice cream of her dreams, and for a change she actually ate every bite of it – so it must be true? She has actually been asking to go again for some time now…a little bit of delayed gratification never did nothing to hurt anyone.πŸ˜‰

image

image

There is BIG excitement in the air at our place. For a very long time, Nicola has been telling me we need to enter one of the dogs in a dog show…and it goes with costumes obviously. First she wanted to dress poor Diablo up as a ladybird, but now Polka has been selected to be a beautiful butterfly.

Well, as luck would have it – secret place is doing a dog show this coming weekend and the money raised will go towards the SPCA. So Polka has been entered, hahaha! Nicola and Polka will be wearing matching costumes in pink, and we got more or less matching sets of wings for them yesterday to complete the picture.

You have no idea how excited we are about this!πŸ™‚

(No…I am not going to wear pink to match)

image

Baking cookies with Ouma. If you want to be a chef when you grow up (as is currently the case), then you need to practise obviously.πŸ˜‰

image

Tired, tired, tired…another fun filled weekend.

14 comments

  1. Love the idea of a breakfast party! Very clever! Hope we get to see the pink outfits next weekπŸ˜€


    • Maybe…stupid secret place has cancelled the dog show. Now I have to try and put together my own version of it, or end up looking like a first class asshole.😦


  2. What is this secret place where you work???
    I tend to agree with you about the strikers, considering our rand of 4 years back would only buy you a quarter of what it is now worth is saying a lot… They say inflation is running in single figures, we have proof that the inflation rate in food is way way more than that… 4 years ago I was paying R 39 per kilo for rump.. now anything up to R 110 depending on where you get it… I haven’t had a piece of rump this year… But where is all the money going to??? Now that is what needs to be investigated…
    Loved the weekends fun and games… Milky Lane one of my favourites…
    When we lived in Natal I had an avo tree and it hardly had any fruit on it… and old Lady told me to knock 6 inch nails into the trunk of the tree and to leave them there .. they would rust and the tree would bear more fruit… well we tried it, and in the end begged the monkeys to help us eat all the fruit before the branches broke from the weight of the fruit…


    • Oh, it’s not nearly as exciting as you might think. On occasion I like to rant and rumble a bit, so it’s just better all round if no names are mentioned…anywhere.πŸ˜‰

      I hear you on the rump steak! Someone on fb showed two slips, exactly a year apart for a 1/4 chicken and a milkshake – 49% increase in one year. Who gets the money is a very good question indeed – I doubt if any finds its way to the farmer.

      My dad is familiar with that avo and nails trick. If the weather plays along the tree bears abundantly – so much so that he gives bags and bags of it away to friends, family and colleagues. But when the weather does what it’s currently doing, or if there is any heavy frost or drought then just about none of the flowers survive.


      • I’m looking for a printer to quote to print my book… any ideas.???


      • Mmm…I know of a few people that self published, but they usually feel a bit violated and unsatisfied afterwards.

        There is one guy I know who was pretty good with ebooks. Maybe he knows someone worthwhile…I’ll send out some feelers. On 07 Jul 2014 3:15 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

        >


  3. I need to blog about the party but we all LOVED IT! The kids said thank you to me a million times so it was all worth it. Loved having you two there, and Miss K and Mrs FF. I can’t believe how chilled that baby is. Seriously. If I’d had two like that, I might have considered having moreπŸ™‚

    (just saying)

    Okay, now my comment on your other post is a little silly. I see what effort the dog show was!!!!

    Milky Lane ice-cream is indeed VERY good!!!


    • We had a great time, thanks for having us!πŸ™‚

      The dog show is a pretty big deal. *sigh* I’ve told her and recommended a costumed stroll at Delta park and she’s pretty keen about that too. On 07 Jul 2014 4:35 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. Rest assured that those dates are a faaar healthier snack than chocolate. They are traditionally the only food consumed by Muslims at Iftar – the breaking of the fast during the holy month of Ramadan. They are an excellent source of nutrients and fibre. In the Middle East, you’ll find boxes and boxes of these delicious dates covered in chocolate, stuffed with nuts, glazed and coated in chopped nuts, you name it… Yum!


    • They are delicious…polished that box in no time! On 07 Jul 2014 10:37 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Dates! I like them but find them too sweet!!!! I have a pack for you now that I know you like them and they are from the Middle East….. Actually back home in some parts it is called “the fruit of Makkah” because people usually bring them when they go on hajj!

    It was lovely to see the little princess on Saturday and yes the part was a hit! The kids and adults (I think) all had so much fun.

    The ice cream definitely looks like divine if the look on Nicola’s face is anything to by…

    Real inflation is definitely worse than what the statistician general reports. Seriously I remember buying 2 liters of canola oil for R19.99 now on sale it is R39.99, isn’t that more like a 100% jump. And bananas I’ve once bought at R3:99 /kg now if you are lucky you get at R7:99!!!! I need a bigger increase. I was telling my sis that Kleenex price seems to have increased very little but the size has decreased almost by half (nice trick manufacturer)

    Ps: now I’m curious about the science behind the nail in the bark of an avo tree.

    And I don’t mind people striking but just not the violence


  6. I could rant too. I get very vocal when it comes to the fuel prices that keep spiking but we don’t see the international price really differ much. Too much taxes taken from our fuel…me thinks! When fuel spikes so does everything else. This darn government is going to leak us dry.

    Op ‘n ligter noot. Lovely photos of the twins birthday…what a neat idea to have a pajama party. Love all the details. Marcia really has an eye for detail. Loved seeing Mrs FF and little baba too.


    • You’re right…sjoe, remember when the fuel price didn’t used to change every bloody month?

      Thanks, yip – Marcia has some great party ideas.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

