h1

Maybe a little bit too festive?

1 July , 2014

image

You may or may not be aware of this, but in general I like to plan only one social thing per weekend, and work in some rest and relax time into the rest of it where I can. However, some times the people who are having parties are just so special to you that you really can’t say no…and in my experience, once that happens it’s like the universe conspires to make a whole lot of these people have parties all on the same day and it develops into a what the hell, the more the merrier type of weekend.

O well…we need some of those too, don’t we?๐Ÿ˜‰ Let me walk you through the party that was our past weekend. Step by step.

First up, Lego party for our little cousin Justin in Pretoria.

image

image

Haha, I think he’s either trying to wink at me or pull a classic duck face? Either way, the little guy is definitely not camera shy!๐Ÿ™‚

image

The cake and the kiddies table.

This was in the morning, next up our Saturday afternoon party took us all the way back towards Honeydew for Morne’s 4th.

image

image

They have a lot of dogs on this plot, and this one is one of the biggest! Gandi is such a gentle giant though – I just barely managed to convince Nicola not to actually try and ride him like a horse.

image

Balloons…up, up and away!

image

This party was a Spiderman party – HUGE cake!

image

image

image

No selfies of me on Sunday morning, but I felt a bit worse than the first picture here shows. Being party animals is rough man!๐Ÿ˜‰

Next up was the Frozen party for Juane. ‘

image

And here is the birthday girl in Elsa dress along with her sister, getting make uped.

image

The venue is also a garden furniture and nursery set up. Nicola just loved it! I swear she made a point of sitting on every chair there and checking out every little sculpture and water feature along the way!

image

Shoes being lined up for a good watering…

image

Someone was running a slight fever and a complete lack of appetite on Saturday, but on Sunday she was definitely over it. This is the tail end of her SECOND hot dog for the afternoon!

And then one new experience taste wise for my pink terrorist : cotton candy! On every other occasion where I have presented it to her she has declared it disgusting and refused to eat it, but this time she really got into it after I explained that it melts on your tongue like a snow flake. Yesterday on our grocery run I even got convinced to buy some for home too. She’s definitely a big fan now!

image

This is us Sunday night…I was thoroughly exhausted!

image

Thanks to everybody who invited us to their parties, we had a ball – and we loved spending your big days with you all.

Ps! Next weekend we’re back to one though, and to make it even more exciting it’s a pajama party so we can roll out of bed and just rock up as is. I see sleeping in in my near future and I am ridiculously excited about it!๐Ÿ˜€

16 comments

  1. Sunday morning looked a little tough on someone I see in the photos… Moms have a busy life… but that’s what you love, I know…


    • I actually prefer a bit more balance, but as long as it’s the exception to the rule I can roll with it.๐Ÿ˜‰


  2. I have that rule too and I only break it for big people’s things where I can leave the littles at home. Otherwise we warn the people that we might have to make a quick exit if the littles start throwing a tantrum.

    Love the Sunday photos – you look good even when tired!

    The kids’ class has 3 sets of twins! The 2nd set have their birthday today but they’re the tiniest of the lot (seriously, they look about 3). So when I picked mine up, I said Happy birthday D and G. They announced to me, “we’re 5 today”. C pipes up, but we’re still BIGGER than you are”. OH MY HAT! They are super small though. Party packs (BIG ONES) for the whole class so I’m going to have to make some lollipops disappear๐Ÿ™‚

    Love the sleeping in myself!!!


    • Haha, thanks – that’s very sweet of you to say so!

      I don’t send party packs to school at all. I invite all Nicola’s friends, and if they can’t be arsed to show up (or even RSVP in most cases) I can’t be bothered to have a separate school party. In any event Nicola’s birthday ALWAYS falls in a school holiday. The other moms send party packs, but the teachers let the kids have one sweet out of it at school and the rest gets sent home anyway. No thank you…


  3. Weekend can be exhausting – imagine 3 kid’s schedules. That is why we like to keep Sunday afternoons super easy


    • I can’t actually imagine how you get to it all!


  4. 3 parties in one weekend are very tough! Glad you enjoyed it! Love the Sunday morning photos


    • Thank you, that just out of bed head photo is my favourite!


  5. I guess there’s a time for partying and a time for resting!


    • It could also be that because it’s winter I am much more in favour of pretend hibernating.๐Ÿ˜‰


  6. I would be finished after all those parties and seriously in need of introverting๐Ÿ˜‰


    • I am! I am! I needed a solid day of not talking to anyone, so I took one on Friday. Bliss!๐Ÿ™‚


  7. Yes very festive! Love the little miss grumpy face. That picture should come out on her 18th birthday! And love the picture of you two relaxing on Sunday. Stunning. Luckily we don’t get invited to loads of parties now so for now we do about one every few weeks which is still very manageable. But even without parties my weekends are super busy as it is


    • Thank you!๐Ÿ˜€
      Your party animal days are coming, rest up – hahaha!


  8. Looks like you guys had loads of fun! Also, how gorgeous is your Nicola’s hair?!


    • We sure did, even if it was a bit more fun than we normally pack into a weekend. Pretty hey…I think just about everyone wishes they had N’s hair.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

