h1

Weekend wrap up: The great…the terrible…and the hideous

17 June , 2014

I had a slight case of the sads this weekend. It has been a rough year with regards to father’s day. Not because of my own dad (who is the number one best most awesomest dad EVER!), but because Nicola is definitely at an age where she feels the lack of hers/one.

Anyhoo, big girl panties on and dealing with it – I guess.

image

Nicola and my dad.

image

We had some SAPS excitement over the weekend too. They rocked up at my parents’ place looking for my brother.

So the long and short of it is the one with his hand in the air lives close to someone where my brother went to a braai at. Coincidentally my brother left shortly after this guy spotted someone scaling his garden wall, so of course he assumed it was my brother making a get away. He then got in his own car and trailed him for some time…to the point where my brother thought the guy (not in uniform or cop car at the time) was trying to hijack him and started driving around blocks to make sure he was being followed. Just before my brother could call in the cavalry, the guy left…only to turn up over the weekend, after not opening a case or following any sorts of official channels to come and intimidate us. Him with his two pals and an automitic rifle and a couple of pistols. No case, no evidence, no manners.

We tried to explain that he made a mistake and that my brother was nowhere near his wall – but he got quite stroppy, so my dad told him to take his party and bugger off. They did just that and flipped us the bird as they left. All of which they got to apologise for when my dad and brother went to the police station to report them.

In the end the guy admitted that he probably made a mistake, and he definitely made many mistakes after that. He apologised and hopefully the matter is now settled and we don’t get to see him or his pals ever again. It was very scary actually! Nicola wanted to know if my dad was being arrested – I said no. Then she wanted to know if my mom was being arrested, and I said not yet (my mom was getting quite excited at this point). Then she asked if my brother was getting arrested, and I said no. All this while I kept her inside, away from the armed men in the driveway…eventually she asked if they were there to shoot her! I said I would NOT let that happen…and took a photo.

This kind of thing is exactly the reason why I teach my daughter to stay away from the police. They’re mobsters in uniform. Not all of them, granted, but too many to be a trustworthy organisation.

image

Polka wasn’t feeling herself this weekend. I think she ate something funny, and it’s really done a number on her tummy. Poor baby…

image

I made glühwein! Yum, yum, yum! I had to tweak the recipe I decided on a little bit because of what I had or could get my hands on, but it turned out lovely. I will definitely be making this again.😀 You have all given me lovely recipes and clues as to find ready made varieties – but I thought I’d give you the one I ended up using for the sake of completeness of history (also in case I lose the scrap of paper I have it on obviously).

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium lemons (didn’t have this, so I used 4 oranges and a squirt or two of lemon juice)
  • 2 medium oranges
  • 10 whole cloves
  • 5 cardamom pods (didn’t have this, so I used a few extra cloves)
  • 1.25 cups of sugar
  • 1.25 cups of water
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 2 bottles of red wine (I used 1.5l from a box)
  • 0.5 cups of brandy (there was about 0.6 and a bit in the bottle so I just went all in)
  • It’s got some cheesecloth and butcher’s twin on the wish list but I didn’t bother with that – just chucked everything through a sieve at the end, worked just as well

Method

  • Vegetable peeler, remove zest in wide strips…avoid the bitter white stuff…place zest in saucepan. Juice the fruit and add to zest.
  • Add the spices too.
  • Add sugar and water and bring to the boil. Stir to disolve the sugar. Reduce heat to simmer and stir occasionally (or ALL the time if you’re me, because it smells so good and you can’t walk away) until the mixture is reduced by about a third (20 minutes more or less).
  • Add the wine and brandy and heat up to simmer – no boiling! – here they wanted to remove from heat and remove the spices. I removed it from the heat and left the whole business till the next morning. Threw it through a sieve and bottled it to take along to our family gathering.
  • We did try heating a cup or so in the microwave there and it works brilliantly, you could easily keep a bottle in the fridge and heat when needed…within reason of course…I suspect that much sugar will probably ferment some more if given half a chance.

Anyway, it makes about 2,5l – which was plenty for us (since only four people loved it, and two others tried it).

image

Me, my dad, and my brother-bear.

image

My dad and my uncle. We had a potjie at their house for Father’s day (and my mulled wine of course!). Delicious and great to see everyone again.

image

My cousin is sporting a fluffy face for winter. He says he also doesn’t shave under his arms, or his legs or his bikini line in winter (well he didn’t say bikini line, but it’s close enough). 😉

image

My other cousin is sporting a new hair cut. She’s one of those people…you know who I mean? The ones who enjoy winter!:-/ Melaans, as jy die lees, love you al is jy mal. Bel my, ons het vergeet om ‘n date te reel! Hahaha…

image

My  mom and brother.

image

image

Chickenruby and I had already had a get together booked for Monday, but after reading her post on where she can walk with Bob, I asked her if we could move it there so that I could bring Polka along. Of course getting Nicola and Polka both ready for an outing proved quite a challenge and we ended up arriving half an hour late (which I NEVER do, those who know me well know I usually come at least half an hour early!).

All’s well that ends well though I guess? We had a lovely walk and excellent weather. I was so proud of both my girls, I didn’t end up carrying either one of them!🙂

Thanks S for showing us around your spot and for coffee…oh yes, and also thank you for letting my pink terrorist rearrange your house and all your ornaments!

image

Both of them out cold a few minutes after we left P-town to go home. If you’re wondering how I had the opportunity to take this lovely photo, I should tell you that I got stuck in a road block on the N14 for almost half an hour (and I wasn’t even one of the chosen who were pulled off). Ridiculous! Oh well, at least they’re not doing it in peak hour traffic?

How was your long weekend?

14 comments

  1. Ek sien nou eers hoe reg jou ma was .. jy kan omtrent tee maak met die sakke onder my oe … aai ..
    Sal jou bietjie later skakel dan reel ons ‘n play date by my nes … en BTW .. .love you too!!🙂


    • Dis beter as daai paar minute wat jy geel was!😉


  2. Frikken glad your Dad and brother did something about the Bullyboy tactics of those cops. It angers me to see them abuse their powers like that
    PS..I can voucher for Louisa always being early
    PSS Big hugs to you and Nicola


    • Big hugs right back at you!🙂


  3. Rediculous police story! Heavens! I do hope you figure out how to handle the other stuff.


    • One day at a time – that’s really all I can do.


  4. my heart bleeds for the father stuff!!! this kind of cop story is unfortunately not even uncommon and that makes me SO MAD!

    xxx


    • It’s hard…the dad bit…but I know we’ll get through it. Thanks Marcia!


  5. Shew! What a weekend. No wonder you were off a bit. Hugs. Understand that you’re dad won’t be able to replace Nicola’s void for a father but at least he can be some sort of “father” figure to her for now. Big big hugs


    • Thanks Marleen. He definitely plays that male roll model for her, but she knows that it’s not the same. It’s okay for her to ask me about it, and for me to be honest when I answer. I always want to have her talking to me about these things instead of going off and trying to figure it out on her own.


  6. Pumpkin heads are perfect for those arrogant a**holes. That is just so stupid I can’t even get my head around it.

    Sterkte met die hele “pa” ding vir Nicola…ek skat Bianca gaan ook nog met daardie een sukkel.


    • I know right?1
      Dankie…sterkte aan daai kant ook!


  7. Ugh. The Dad story makes me sad. And VERY mad. I wish it wasn’t so for Nicola.
    Also. Thanks for this recipe. Am DEFINITELY going to attempt it.
    Sooo glad the police thing is sorted out. I can imagine how terrifying it had to be for Nicola. Assholes!


    • It’s a bit sad on these special days…but kind of reminds me why it probably worked out for the best on the other days.

      The police thing was HECTIC! I’m just glad that’s over now.

      Let me know what you think of it after you try it yourself🙂 On 27 Jun 2014 9:06 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

