h1

Freezing, but otherwise fantastic!

13 June , 2014

image

I wanted to put all the hospital project photos together, but my phone app is determined to stick them in chronologically – so we’ll do that then. 😉

This is from earlier this week, when the mountain of goodies was slowly taking shape. We’ve done the first drop on Wednesday (you’ll see a bit further down), and next week we’re doing the second drop. The excitement from the children was unbelievable! Seriously, a very touching experience being able to do something like this…one of those that just make it feel worthwhile being a human, if you know what I mean?

image

This getting up in the dark seriously messes with one’s body clock…8 sleeps until it starts turning around again. I. can’t. wait!

image

We did a fluffy hat day this week on one of the VERY cold mornings. I can’t decide which photo I love more, the yawn or this beautiful bright smile. Both. Yip, I love them both. 🙂

image

Nicola picked the pink hat for me…I let her, provided I could take some photos.

image

This was just before we got going to the hospital. You can’t even fit everything into one photo!

image

A mountain of pillows.

image

A mountain of food, blankets, nappies and toiletries. 9 secret agents and all of this in one van. It was probably the “cosiest” ride I’ve ever had – hahaha! We were going to take two company cars, but the other one’s battery wasn’t playing along so we squished and made it work somehow.

image

The CHOC day mother, and one of the coolest little guys I’ve ever met. If he can beat cancer, he’ll be unstoppable. This little man totally owns his illness. Not sure how old he is, definitely single digits anyway, and he informs the doctor that no one will tell him when to come for treatment. It’s HIS body and HIS cancer, and he will tell them what needs to happen next.

He came to alert us that one of the big boys got a little boy drinking bottle. When we swopped the bottles to give him a big boy bottle (no cartoons on and a bit bigger and more grown up looking) this young man almost did cartwheels down the passage and the whole ward celebrated with him. “I am a man! I am a man!” It was a joyous occasion for sure!

One of my colleagues was handing a gift package to one of the boys (pillow, blanket, small bag with undies, toothbrush, toothpaste, face cloth, soap, marshmallows) and he was a little bit out of it. He sort of reacted and said thank you, and she said, “Bless you. I really hope you get better soon.” And she says that he just started sobbing uncontrolably. If that doesn’t get to you, nothing will… 

Thank you every single one of you who helped out on this project so far. We’re not done yet, but we’ve already done so much.

image

Wednesday night. Cause you know, the moonlight can be a bit sharp.

image

This is what I found yesterday when I picked Nicola up from school.

Oh, hahaha – I am raising a savvy little trader it seems. I pack a bottle of juice in her bag every day. She doesn’t drink it at school, because they get stuff during the day but she always has it on the way home when she’s super thirsty from playing outside. So it seems that some of her friends are willing to carry her bag from the class to the gate for A SIP of the juice. There’s a little crowd each afternoon trying to get in on the action. It’s really funny to see.

image

Polka this morning, desperately trying to stay in for the day.

image

The fuller picture. If you’re wondering about the book, this is apparently THE bedtime storie of choice for little puppies.

image

Ooh! I definitely need to buy a Lotto ticket tonight. I won the office fund raising raffle this morning! I got the 1st prize…which is a bit of a waste on me, but I’m not looking a gifted/raffled horse in the mouth. A night’s stay for two at a 5 Star hotel at Melrose Arch. What am I going to do, take Nicola to go jump on the beds there? Hahaha, no. I think I am going to gift this to my parents as a thank you for all the help and support they always give me.

Yip, that’s exactly what I’m going to do. 🙂

12 comments

  1. you sound very chipper! And I love how you’re counting down the days 🙂

    The yawn is definitely cuter! (and now I’m yawning too)

    You’re right – I had to blink back tears reading!!!

    Yay for winning the prize and even bigger yay for thinking of your parents – how nice!!!!

    xxx


    • 4 Sleeps now! 😀
      I really hope they get a nice spoil out of it, they totally deserve it.


  2. You do sound happy Louisa…and that makes me happy to. There is nothing that compare with spreading love around…and it amazes me how much pleasure and satisfaction that gives the giver. That is the reason why I would change my “job” (calling) for a life back in a secular setting. We get lots of kicks in the butt…but nothing can beat that feeling, when you see a life changed, a person freed from addiction…a person getting to know their worth. Nothing!!!


    • You’re right, it’s a really great feeling! 🙂


  3. Nicola is super cute and that yawn picture I like very much and the one of her in her pink glasses.

    I’m glad the drop off (that word sounds very CSI-ish) went well. Amazing how far a little kindness goes!

    I’m sure your parents would enjoy the 5 star treatment! I chuckled at the thought of Nicola jumping on the hotel bed


    • Thank you for helping out with the cups! You can’t even imagine how much it helps.

      Hahaha, I think there are way too many expensive things in a 5 star hotel for me to unleash my pink terrorist amongst. Nope, definitely not doing that.


  4. What a lovely gift for the parents and what a lovely charitable exercise that you undertook… God will bless you all…


    • Thank you! 🙂


  5. Yay re the raffle, and so awesome that you’re giving it to your parents!


    • I hope they have a lovely evening out and get a bit spoilt – they really deserve it.


  6. What a very happy post! And that girl of you just become more and more gorgeous every day


    • Thank you 🙂 I agree…



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

