h1

This is 4 – power struggles ‘R’ us!

29 May , 2014

image

But first, some photos: This was taken at @mariekmeraai’s place on Saturday. Her little man turned 4 and we got to celebrate his birthday with him (although me mostly without a voice still).

image

Nicola just loved the swing! The dogs have some swing issues, and this is her trying to keep her toes safe from them.

image

Someone is still not feeling 100%. Ouma’s not complaining though, Nicola gives the best snuggles.

image

Polka got a new jersey this week. Seriously, in the pet shops doggie outfits cost on average about R300! Found this at the vet’s for R46…bargain. For that price I’m definitely going back for more soon. (by the way, the new vet is super cute! You just want to stick a leash on him and take him home – I will see if he’s up to posing for a photo next month when Polka goes for her rabies shot).

image

image

One of my secret colleagues brought cheese cake to celebrate her birthday – yum!

image

Have you tried the Kream ball thingamajigger from KFC? Lovely, and I very much approve of the packaging since it’s almost impossible to spill anything…I did say almost.

image

Right. On to the topic at hand…power struggles.

We are having a grand time with those at the moment. I don’t mind so much really. I think it’s just another one of those fascinating aspects of growing up dancing to the beat of your own drummer. My dear daughter, at all of 4,5 years old is making a run to overthrow the current powers that be (that would be me). Hahaha, obviouslyΒ I am not going to let that happen – I am going to approach this firmly but nicely – but I really admire the attempt. The force is strong with this one… πŸ˜‰

Example A: Let’s start with Polka. Nicola refuses to walk behind Polka. Ever. If Polka happens to wander down the stairs before her in the morning, she will stand upstairs moaning about it until I walk back up (Polka tends to follow me) and then she will calm down as long as she gets to go down before the dog. The same applies to walking down the passage or to and from the car. I am allowed to walk in front or next to her, but Polka most certainly has to fall in behind.

Example B: Conversations in the car. Nicola tells me that one day when she’s grown up, she will have her own home where she will live with her child. Great. Sounds proper to me. She says that she will come and visit me, because she’ll miss me. Awe, thank you baby – you are always welcome. BUT mommy, if YOU don’t listen to ME, I will not allow you to come and visit me in my new home. I am the boss of this house too. Mwahaha…uhm, actually no dear, you’re not. I’mΒ throttling her sugar and animated movies supply this month so that we can further debate whom the boss of the house actually might be. πŸ˜‰

Example C: A different way of saying I told you so. I’m sure you all have various rules in your houses that are kind of well established things that don’t need constant recapping to keep them in force. Well, when one of my holy cows gets trampled on I am in the habit of saying, but you know that you are not allowed to do so and so, or whatever. This is now being used against me, or there’s an honest attempt tp do so anyway. I get something along the lines of, but you know that I don’t like carrots, or how many times must I tell you that I don’t like baths, and so on and so forth. Of course this doesn’t change a damned thing about what we’re about to eat or whether or not someone has to have a bath…but in some ways, having a child is very much like taking care of a cheecky parrot!

Of course the cuddles and kisses are a lot better… And these sneaky little pink terrorists know just how to make you melt too. I get into a full frothy about something or another and she calmly sits there and says, Mamma…weet jy wat? Ek het ‘n GROOT hartjie net vol liefde vir jou! Mwah! (Mommy…do you know what? I have a BIG heart full of love just for you! Mwah!). Hahaha, there really is no arguing with that. She makes repeating myself fun (sometimes, like when she tells me she loves me – not when she’s threatening to keep me from visiting my hypothetical future grandchildren). πŸ˜‰

Ps! On Tuesday I had such a quiet giggle at something she said. It’s winter, if I’m wearing a warm top over then whatever I have on under isn’t really all that important to me. So the blouse I ended up wearing was quite a summery one – with open shoulders. She says: Mommy! You’re shirt is torn. So I laugh and say yes, I guess I need to buy some new clothes but I’m too broke (the day before pay day). She says that she will buy me a new dress, but I will have to wear it with lipstick, eye shadow and nail polish. But Nicola, what if I don’t happen to like wearing make up? No mommy, you have to – so you can look pretty for when you choose a new husband. Oi vey! This again, I think. Anyhoo, Nicola has given me her birthday (Decemeber) wish list. Apparently what she would like is a new dad, because the one she has doesn’t work.

Let’s just say she’s more likely to get a pony (and we don’t have a stable – so not very likely at all).

25 comments

  1. Hahaha.. I feel you! I have a newly turned 5 year old and a newly turned 4 year old.. sjoe.. everybody wants to be the boss!!


    • I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one going through this! See you in the trenches…if you have handy tips, please share?


  2. Your little one cracks me up…especially the boss in the house thing.
    (PS..Polka is too damn cute…..I think you need to get your vet on speed dial..just in case)


    • Oh yes, I hear you! Hahaha…
      Nicola has got attitude to spare at the moment. I have to try and act serious when she comes at me with these things – it’s hard!


  3. Hoe lekker lag ek nou! Sy is “pushing the boundaries”, dis dood normaal en ek dink sy is BAIE intelligent.


    • Hahaha, ja wat – sy moet maar push. Ek moet net seker wees daar is een om te kry anders gaan sy reg bo oor my loop, die klein twak. πŸ˜‰ Ek is eintlik mal daaroor dat sy gemaklik genoeg voel om my te challenge. Ek is baie trots daarop dat sy nie ‘n push over is nie, nie eers op 4 nie.


  4. You crack me up! I love these little anecdotes and sayings!
    At 4 and half they are super wise!


    • Oh yes, they have ALL the answers! I am trying to capture as many of these cool and quirky conversations as possible. This is some serious pay dirt for when she’s 21 one day, or has her own little ones to talk back to her. πŸ˜†


  5. Haha…this little one is already a master at manipulation πŸ™‚ I already see the power struggle in our home and Stefan is only 2…gosh, I can only imagine where this is going. Would love to see the vet eye candy πŸ˜›


    • I will not disappoint on the vet eye candy – watch this space come the 27th of June or thereablouts. πŸ˜‰


  6. My daughters youngest is now 5 and I just love to sit in the house and hear the battles that ensue… many times I think its pay back time for what she put us thru when she was that age… so never fear in years to come you will have the pleasure of seeing it all again but you wont be involved..just a happy witness to the pay back…


    • Hahaha, you know I think my mother used to tell me I’d have a child at least as stroppy as I was, if not more. πŸ˜‰


      • See… a parents pay back time… and your Mom was right..


  7. The pink terrorist is definitely going to get me fired one day! I am sitting at my desk reading this and laughing out loud πŸ˜†

    I am not even sure what I found the funiest, the dress up part or the not letting you come visit if you don’t listen! She is too hilarious and such a smarty pants.


    • These kids hey, they say the darnedest things! Just wait and see, once they start talking – they start talking back. πŸ˜›


  8. Yep, we’re definitely related. It’s like you’re writing my life. Sienna is 4 going on 14. If this is what things are like at this age, I’ll be taking a 5 year holiday when my kids become teenagers πŸ˜›


    • Don’t worry cuzz, we’ll find a way through. πŸ™‚


  9. We have it going on here too. Sass from the one – I started saying, “go straight to timeout for talking to me like that”, and outright freaking out from the other for absolute nonsense when they know our rules.

    C told me that THIS is his house so HE gets to make the rules. I said, “as far as I remember, WE paid for this house” and so on… it just escalates if I get involved with him because he’s like me and we both don’t want to lose the argument.

    However, I told him when he has his own house one day, he can make all the rules he wants. So he told me THIS house is going to be his when I DIE one day. Charming!

    #notevenfiveyet

    I can’t wait to see the vet eye candy. Tell him all your friends want to see the dishy vet πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚


    • Wow…okay. Nicola doesn’t have that option, it’s a rental. πŸ˜‰

      I am not going to say THAT to the vet – I’ll just tell him I need it for my blog, and then he can try and find it if he wants to see himself giving Polka an injection. πŸ˜‰ Or see what I wrote about him…


  10. Hahaha! I love your daughter, Louisa – She’s unendingly smart and cute! Also, Polka looks very sweet in her jersey! πŸ™‚


    • She keeps me on my toes, that’s for sure! πŸ˜€


  11. Jip, very much her own opinions and just note that this does not change that quickly. Best of luck on the new dad front – it seems she gets what she asks. You can always try to buy Willow though – he is now C’s horse – A has graduated to Memphis


    • I don’t mind her having her own opinions, I actively encourage it when I can. As long as she knows how to substantiate those arguments I will entertain them to a point. πŸ˜‰ Whatever you do, DON’T tell Nicola Willow is available please – I’ll never hear the end of it.


  12. Hahaha. You better behave Mom, else you can’t visit her and your grandchild. Seriously though. We are also in power struggles with Child2 at the moment. And he doesn’t give up! It’s exhausting. Sjoe. But, this too shall pass.
    xx


    • Cheecky hey? πŸ˜† These kids.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

