h1

What’s this? Two posts in one week – it might snow over the weekend!

23 May , 2014

image

Loving this at the moment. While I’m busy making dinner, Nicola happily draws or doodles with glitter glue at the counter. My fridge is so full of art I have to stack them three deep in some places!

image

It looks like I’ve wasted a couple of hundred bucks buying Polka a doggy bed. She is firmly in love with the laundry basket for naps. As long as it’s the dirty laundry, and she doesn’t chew anything in there, I’m okay with that.๐Ÿ™‚

image

image

image

Trying out a collection of crowns at school, as you do. I’m not actually sure why there are a box of crowns in their class since Nicola tells me that she’s playing a piggy in the upcoming school concert.

image

That is not a big moth…

image

This morning at 2:00am Polka was going bananas. I thought she was just being an asshole, because I’m not feeling well (I have the plague…a.k.a flu) and the whole world is conspiring against me to keep me from sleeping. Apparently not. We have a bat in the house, looks like a baby fruit bat of some sorts. I’m not sure how it got in through the blinds, radar must be a bit off, but it was happily sleeping by the time we got up.

Nicola is fascinated by the little critter as you can imagine. She reckons it might be his birthday on Sunday, and after establishing that he wouldn’t bite her, she wants me to buy it some fruit a tomato and an ear of corn for its birthday this weekend. Hehehe…

If the bat isn’t gone by the time we get home tonight I’ll have to ask my dad to help me release it somehow. I remember my gran’s sister used to get these babies in her house all the time. They nested in the ground and then sometimes the babies would crawl up the walls during the day. She used to help them out with a broomstick and garlic flowers. All hell is going to break loose if that thing starts flying around inside – Nicola can reachย an incredible ear splitting pitch when squeeling. My head is already aching in anticipation…

image

Taken this morning at school. We are both very proud of her artwork. ย 

PS! I have been given some sort of promotion-ish thing at work, sort of. I get to do the work, without the title or the money that goes with it. I have a bit of capacity, so I’m going to go with it for now – can’t exactly say no thanks just to sit and twiddle my thumbs instead. I might be more excited about this when I can breathe through my nose again and my throat’s not on fire. I did warn the man though, I said that I’ve been here for 4,5 years and this is not the first time someone has promised me something new – usually they leave the company more or less straight after that, so he should probably update his CV. He just laughed and said that he think he has at least 3 more months to go before they fire him.

Anyhoo, I have a small window of opportunity to dazzle – so I’ll take it. And I’ll bring some dazzle next week when I feel better again. For now they’ll just have to take the sniff and glare through blood-shot eyes that I have available. I f-ing hat having the flu. Buy shares in Twinsaver, this is going to get rough!

PPS! I have a potential stalker…or I’m being courted strangely…or someone is just genuinely friendly with no boundaries. I’m still deciding. My new landlord’s son, we shall name him spiderman since he keeps tarantulas as pets (hahaha, you can see my first problem right?), is the man in question. He’s been popping around for a smoke and a chat and the odd cup of coffee every now and then, and this week he sent me a message to ask if he can play with Polka while I’m at work. I don’t have a problem with that…only he was obviously already with her since my number is on her collar and that’s where he got it.

On Wednesdayย I chucked out a garden hose that was leaking – and got a message a few hours later saying he had fixed it for me. Uhm…okay. Thanks I guess. It’s a bit alarming that he’s going through our trash, but since everyone uses the same two black wheelie bins, I suppose he just happened upon it and was being helpful?

Then yesterday he comes over for a chat, and he’s telling me all about his ex girlfriend, and his online dating profile bla-bla-bla, you get the idea. He’s already made sure I know that he loves being around kids and dogs and so on. I decided I better friend zone the hell out of this, so I asked how old he was. He’s 6 years younger – so now I’ve suggested he call me Tannie Louisa.๐Ÿ˜‰ He left shortly after that. ย 

I’m probably just being a suspicious cow, and he’s a geniunely nice guy who just likes helping out, (loves kids in general and my dog in particular). Not taking any chances though. Rather safe than sorry – go with your gut and so on.

What would you do? Am I being an asshole about this?

22 comments

  1. Bwaaahhh…cracked up with your potential stalker/toy boy….love it. You go girl…!!!

    PS That bat is just too cute


    • I’m not sure that I exactly did anything to bring this on to be honest, but thanks!๐Ÿ˜‰


  2. Okay, you KILL me!!!

    I love your PS X 2.

    1) can my two come do glitter glue with you. I only allow if I’m there (nanny S doesn’t care at all about mess…)

    2) hey, that promotion sounds like they’re just palming work off on you. You need to ask when they ARE reviewing your new (expanded) role and giving you the appropriate increase in salary. CONGRATS?๐Ÿ™‚

    3) I LOVE the stalker guy story. Esp how you told him to call you Tannie. I’m still laughing every time I think about it! You’re the best!


    • Of course all three of you are welcome to come glitter glue with us! We’ll do it outside though, the kitchen counter is a bit tight for 5 people.๐Ÿ˜‰

      That “promotion” indeed. Ha! When it was handed to me, it was all “Oh just this document and that document and a little bit of guidance – nothing more” and now that I’ve by force nailed down some requirements it’s actually pretty spectacular. I’m not too sure why they would even give it to me to begin with, I am nowhere nearly qualified to do it, but I’m going to bloody show them! And then they will show me the money.

      LOL…yes well, I am trying to discourage him without being full on rude.


  3. I’m big on trusting your gut. Mine’s never been wrong and I’ve only ever gotten into trouble with weird/bad people by not trusting my gut in the first place…


    • Yes, me too – the gut KNOWS.๐Ÿ˜€


  4. As an adult, I find bats very cute. As a tween, I remember having a bat fly into the girls’ bathroom at “boarding school” one night while I happened to be in the bath. It landed on my leg, having flown into the wall just above me in its hurry to get away from the screaming and chaos that occurs when a bunch of young girls encounter anything alive and vaguely out of the ordinary… Poor little guy. He got killed by one of the male teachers with a tennis racket.


    • Shame man, that can’t be a nice way to go. I wouldn’t keep one as a pet, but I don’t mind them outside. They eat mosquitoes – A-okay by me!


  5. So you are aware that H is almost 5 years younger than I am?


    • I wasn’t, hahaha! You do know that the actual problem here isn’t age – that was just what I had to work with.๐Ÿ˜‰


  6. They say a womens age is 7 years younger than what she actually is…. give the guy a chance man, it might be true love… now I have got to stop laughing before you send that flu over to take revenge…


    • It’s not happening. Nope. No sirree!๐Ÿ˜‰


  7. Well done on the promotion!
    I think you handled your stalker rather well already, hopefully he got the hint!
    Get well soon!


    • Thanks!
      I hope he does too – will tell you all if he doesn’t.
      Thanks, I sound like a husky country and western singer at the moment, but at least I can breathe again.


  8. David is 5 years younger than me. Honestly if he is hot let him help you out as much as he wants :)) But seriously – (make him take his shirt off first if he is) – no REALLY – trust your gut! ALWAYS!


    • Looks like you and Cat both. It’s not the age thing bugging me, that’s just my easy out of a thing I’m really pretty sure I don’t want to be in. Hahaha @ the shirt off thing!


  9. No, sounds a bit creepy! The “”Tannie” suggestion had me laughing! I think you should be wary.


    • I am wary, it’s kind of my thing – that’s why I thought I’d bounce it by you guys to see if you thought I might be over reacting. Going with the gut!๐Ÿ™‚


  10. Hello Tannie Louisa๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

    Trust your guts my friend, if it doesn’t feel right then it probably isn’t. But if he wants to chat every now and then and help out occasionally, why not


    • Yip…definitely trusting my gut on this one…:-)


  11. Oh my goodness. He sounds creepy. Friendzone!! And trust your gut.
    Congrats on promotion!


    • Thank you!๐Ÿ˜€



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

