h1

Polka

22 April , 2014

Some of you may have seen the first two pics on fb already, but for those who haven’t yet – here is our newest baby. Her name is Polka and she is super adorable.

image

It was love at first sight and these two are already as thick as thieves.

image

Here they are at Ouma and Oupa’s house, watching cartoons.

image

Of course we had to introduce her to uncle Diablo too. He was very sweet about the whole thing, but she was a bit freaked out – the only dogs she has ever met before that were all teacup yorkies.

image

Diablo getting a good sniff in.

image

Nicola trying to show Polka the workings of the ball bit.

image

This was so funny! Nicola sits her down in this chair and says, “Polka, we have to talk…you don’t have to follow me around everywhere you know? Mommy still loves you.” (Watch the video if you want to see the following in action – super cute!)

image

Nicola, playing harp music for Polka.

image

Polka, she looks like she’s enjoying it.πŸ˜‰

image

When Polka went down for a nap, Nicola put a story book about kittens in her basket for her so that she could have good dreams.

image

I can tell these two are going to be great pals.

Here is a link to the video I took yesterday. http://vimeo.com/92590369

First night:

The first night is usually the roughest when it comes to a new puppy. Last night was almost like having a baby in the house. Nicola had Polka’s bed set up right next to hers and after tucking her in 3 or 4 times the puppy looked like she realised resistance was futile and settled in for a sleep. Just after midnight I woke up and saw that she was antsy, so I took her outside for a tinkle…lots of praise for a job well done and so on (it looks like house training won’t be too traumatic for her).

At 2:00 I was woken up and found Nicola, with Polka’s bed and Polka in her bed next to my bed. Nicola, very groggy, says to me, “Mamma, sy drama. Wat’s fout met haar?” (Mom, she’s drama-ing. What’s wrong with her?). She suddenly realised that she was away from her mom and siblings all of a sudden and found herself awake alone in a strange place and decided she wasn’t the suffering in silence type. Eventually I ended up the last few hours of the morning with both Nicola and Polka in my bed…but quiet at least, so that we could all get a bit more shut eye.

This morning the puppy got up early along with me, and took the time while I was showering to attack my robe and various other interesting things she could reach in our room. that robe really offended her, she gummed the belt thoroughly and even let it have a bit of a “Ruff!”

Ps! If you were wondering how we suddenly found ourselves with puppy – let me explain. Since we’ve now moved to a place with a smallish garden, I thought that a smallish dog might be the way to go. My dad also encouraged this, saying if we got a little handbag doggy that slept inside, it could be extra security for us and a lovely opportunity for Nicola (who LOVES animals).Β  While I was doing some intense reading on the different breeds and what they’re known for, being good with kids, insane yapping and such, I happened to ask a lady who works with me at secret place about yorkies. I know that she’s a breeder, so she will obviously know what they’re like. I wasn’t actually headed in that direction, because yorkies are insanely expensive – but – *drumroll* she offered me one for free! She was going to use her for breeding but she was born with an overbite. The lady doesn’t feel comfortable selling her, and she can’t breed with her – so if I (or someone else) couldn’t take her she would probably have put her down. If that’s not meant to be, then I don’t know what is?πŸ˜€

We love having her! I am so glad things worked out this way. Isn’t she the cutest little thing you’ve ever seen?!

19 comments

  1. I was going to say that little one looks purebred! Congratulations on your new family member!πŸ™‚


    • Thank you!πŸ™‚


  2. Awh how very sweet and how totally perfect the match. Many happy years together


    • Thanks – I must say they are a very good match.


  3. She is so very cute :))


    • πŸ˜€ She like a tiny little bouncing ball of fur. Adorable!


  4. I love your new family member…too cute. I see them becoming best of friendsπŸ™‚


    • Absolutely! They hit it off straight away.


  5. She’s adorable! Gimme a scream if you need training help.πŸ˜€


    • Thanks angel, will do.πŸ™‚


  6. πŸ˜†πŸ˜† I could just picture Nicola talking to Polka (until a new name is decided on by the princess) and I can imagine you have told her that more than once – “you don’t have to follow me around everywhere you know? Mommy still loves you”

    Polka is going to be one spolit doggy!


    • Haha, actually except for the Mommy loves you bit – I don’t say that to her. I do sometimes say that I need some peace and quiet…she’s free to stay, but then it has to be in silence.


  7. Great save for the Pup… they are good watchdogs too… not very good at chasing people off but they will at least wake you and give you the chance to go after them… just make sure who is in your toilet though before you shoot…


    • It’s okay, I actually prefer a pet to a watchdog. A bit of both is probably the best actually. No shooting from me bulldog, but I am very handy with a hockey stick.πŸ˜‰


      • That’s what I like to hear… been training the wife to yield a pick handle…


  8. Ons sal Polka vir jou babysit…enige tyd.


    • Dankie! Ek dink die pienk terroris gaan lang trane huil as ons haar moet los iewers vir ‘n paar dae. On Apr 23, 2014 8:54 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  9. wow…. it is very cute…. sorry, how to keep it well?


    • Thank you.πŸ™‚ Well, she eats twice a day (about 2 tablespoons of kibble), brush and comb once a day, wash once a week. Theoretically there’s a whole bunch of ear cleaning and nail trimming that needs doing every two weeks or so, but I don’t have the nerve for it so it’ll have to be done at the doggy parlour…I’m thinking once a month maybe? She needs to go for a vet check in a week or two and one more a month later…then once a year after that to update her rabies shot. On 12 May 2014 8:26 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

