h1

New nest

5 April , 2014

I owe you a house update, right?

Sorry, but it’s been a crazy week and I only got round to taking a few photos this morning.

The move was…exhausting! And that’s putting it lightly. My family are all saints, that’s for sure! I feel.like I need to spring for full body.massages all round after working them like slaves last weekend.

image

As you can see getting to our room last week meant navigating a maze of boxes!

image

A few of my poor moving day angels. We literally worked our asses off! Not sure about my brother or K, but my dad lost 2kg and I lost 3!

I didn’t take any photos while unpacking (trust me, it’s for the best). Let’s just say the step countee thingy on my phone tells me I did over 15 000 steps on Sunday, and my feet were so sore by the end of it, it felt like I did it all in high heels!

The end result:

image

Nicola’s room. Her favourite bit.is having her own bookshelf now.

image

Mine. The filing cabinets are full of craft things and shoes (for of habit, plus it works well).

image

The stair case…and photo display spot.

image

The kitchen.

image

The lounge.

image

I didn’t take photos of the bathrooms (one with shower, one with bath), but this is behind the one door. Yay! No more washing machine outside.πŸ™‚

image

image

image

And our little garden!πŸ™‚ What I love is that it’s completely private. You can only look into it from our place. We are spending A LOT of time outside enjoying it.

image

First meal made in our new home. Fully loaded rib burgers.

image

Nicola said my burgers rock the world (even though she didn’t want hers loaded). Haha! Apparently I make the best burgers and peas.πŸ˜‰

So far we are just loving it! It’s more or less double the space we had…it’s like we can take a really deep breath for the first time in ages.

24 comments

  1. Now we need to come for a housewarming party so we can partake of the rib burger that rocks the world!

    What will we do without a loving family?

    Hope Nicola didn’t have any problems adjusting?


    • We will most definitely have to do that!

      When things started going into boxes, Nicola for some reason was terrified that I wouldn’t take her with. Now that we’re here she just loves it! She has blossomed. On Apr 5, 2014 8:06 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


      • mrs ff and I have the same ideaπŸ™‚


      • πŸ™‚ On Apr 7, 2014 7:21 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

        >


  2. So awesome! It looks lovelyπŸ™‚


    • Thank youπŸ™‚ On Apr 6, 2014 9:39 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. Wishing you much happiness in your new home!πŸ™‚


    • Thank you!πŸ™‚ On Apr 7, 2014 7:40 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. Wowee, it looks awesome! So thrilled for you two. Can’t wait for a visit … I may need a rib burger tooπŸ˜‰ haha.


    • Thanks! Looks like I better stock up.on ribs.πŸ˜‰ On Apr 7, 2014 8:01 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Looks great! Hope you have many many happy days there.


    • Thank you cat! On Apr 7, 2014 10:22 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  6. Someone I missed aaaaallll this news! CONGRATS! It looks awesome! xx


    • Thank you – I’m so glad we made the move. The time was right. Hopefully next stop will be owning instead of renting. On Apr 7, 2014 11:11 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  7. Dit lyl sommer homely! Awesome!


    • Dankie Son! Haha, het nogal elbow grease gevat om by die homely uit te kom van die bokse af. Mens besef eers hoeveel goed jy het wanneer jy dit probeer skuif. On Apr 7, 2014 2:47 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  8. Wishing you and Nicola only happiness and health in your new home, and lots of lovely suppers and time to BREATHE!
    xxx


    • PS I love all the space and your photo display wall!!!!


      • Those are the bit I love most too…especially the space! On Apr 7, 2014 7:32 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

        >


    • Thank you Marcia! Xxx On Apr 7, 2014 7:32 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  9. LOVE your new home. Beautiful and spacious and so much natural light! I wish you and Nicola many, many happy memories in this home.
    xxx


    • Thank you! We are both loving it so far, and I think it’s going to become even more homey next week when we add a puppy to the mix. We didn’t have space for one before, but this small garden is just perfect for a small doggy. Nicola is going to FREAK out when she meets her. I can’t wait!πŸ˜€


  10. Your new nest looks just perfect. You and Nicola are going to be so happy there.


    • Thank you! We already are.πŸ˜€



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

