h1

Hippies in the rain forest

24 March , 2014

This past long weekend we trekked up to Magoebaskloof for Tiaan and Sonsie’s wedding.

We decided to make a family weekend brake away of it, but let me tell you – the place is so stunningly beautiful, I could have spent another week there easily, just taking it all in.

I’ll let the photos do the talking…brace yourselves, I took PLENTY! (apologies to the fb crowd, you’re getting to see it again).

image

Just about dawn on Thursday.

image

Nicola, checking out the forest. We stayed at Cheerio trout fishing farm in the Beefwood cottage – just lovely.

image

The wedding venue in the mist – Mina’s.

image

The flower arrangements.

image

image

Peeps arriving.

image

Lolla and Nicola, playing with a shongololo.

image

image

image

image

image

Seriously! How pretty is this place and all the little touches?!

image

image

Nicola, chilling…

image

You can tell that rain is kind of an everyday thing around here.

image

Good friend Herculus. It was really great to see him again too.

image

image

My folks.๐Ÿ™‚

image

Man of the hour (left), getting ready to say his I do’s.

image

image

A few more of the ceremony.

image

The kids, utterly unconcerned with the proceedings, traipsed off looking for wild horses. I had to slip out for a bit to reign mine in. There’s a river right there and many places to fall of or get lost in, so I stipulated I-need-to-be-able-to-see-you boundaries…which were observed pretty well.๐Ÿ˜‰

image

Sonsie and Tiaan.๐Ÿ™‚

image

The choir…beautiful!

image

Yip…I was there too.

image

image

image

The band. Perfect for the venue and the event.

image

image

Enjoyment of said band.

image

I have no idea what the orange stuff was, but this was kick ass ginger beer. Yum!

image

Tiaan and Sonsie. I rudely interrupted them feeding each other, so that I could get a proper photo of them on their big day.

image

Hercules and Nicola, investigating a big green caterpillar that dropped out of the tree.

image

The girls made their own see saw and played with it for ages.

image

All the food was made by them themselves, and there was plenty!

image

image

Some people felt the cold a bit more than others.

image

Ran into some people from way back and got on like a house on fire. Thanks for the giggles and the pink juice K.๐Ÿ™‚

image

Nicola checked out and left with my parents a bit later.

I stayed till the end and had a ball catching up with old friends and making a few new ones.

There was one episode of two way radio relay with a bottle of white wine that I really hope someone else got a photo of which was good fun too.

I hitched a ride back with some of the other people who stayed at Cheerio’s and they dropped me (at my request) about 300m from where we were staying. I thought I would walk back from there (and there wasn’t space for a whole convoy to turn around at our cottage anyway), but haha…no streetlights and a very flat cellphone battery later I admited to myself I couldn’t see the road (or the wild next to it) so I called my dad to come rescue me.

I had a super fantastic time!

I thought I could whack all the photos on one post, but it looks like there might be too many. More coming in the next post…

8 comments

  1. As much as I loved our wedding I do love these small, informal intimate weddings! It looked lovely๐Ÿ™‚


    • It was pretty magical.๐Ÿ™‚


  2. It does look truly magical. Love the idea and the place


    • It’s quite different from the other weddings I’ve been to. Loved it!


  3. I love the venue and the intimacy it gives. Lovely photos Louisa.


    • Thanks Lynette! You’re right about the venue, and it suited the couple perfectly.


  4. I LOVE this venue! This is my favourite kind of wedding. I went to a similar one last year and I think it was the BEST wedding that I ever attended. All the other weddings just seems so predictable and one kind of knows what to expect. That one that I went to quite literally had the couples personality written all over it. Glad you got to have a bit of down time.


    • I must say this wedding was very special – I don’t think I’ve ever been to anything similar. I loved it! And the place was absolutely stunning too.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

