h1

Stuff

12 March , 2014

This may seem silly if you consider that the main reason for our move is that we’ve outgrown the cottage, but seriously…you have NO idea how much “stuff” you have until you have to fit it all in boxes!

Super blessed – that’s what we are.🙂

I still need to pack up the kitchen and our clothes and the bathroom, but just about everything else is done now. I’m probably going to have to wait with at least some of that to the last week.

All the packing reminded me quite a lot of Cape Town, and my three moves in one year experiences there. I definitely have MUCH more stuff to cart around now, that’s for sure! It’s not all toys and so on either. Most of the extras are furniture and appliance things.

It’s kind of cool to see all the nest improvements that way. Makes me feel all grown up to a degree.😉

I do hope this will be our second last move though. 1st of April, bigger rental property, and the one after that hopefully to a place we own and intent staying in indefinitely.

When is the last time you moved? What would make you do it again?

16 comments

  1. I hate hate moving – last was in October 2001! But we need a bigger house so sometime we will move


    • Sheesh! Good luck. I can just imagine that will be a big move with all 5 of you! On Mar 12, 2014 9:33 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. Our last move was in November 2005 (just over 8 years ago) and I’m in NO hurry to move again. It was so stressful at the time. Of course now I LAUGH at what I thought was stress. Flip, Telkom, ADT, estate agents stuff-ups? NOTHING compared to current life.

    Like Cat, we do need maybe one extra room – OR I have to give up my study and get clever with maybe a built in wall thing in the current diningroom, and move the diningroom to the entrance way (but I LOVE that space……..just for the hell of it). However, I did see a nice conversion the other day – they did a loft room and you don’t have to get council approval BUT it would involve moving out for a while. May just be worth it depends on price. Because I do LOVE our location. Really, our house would be perfect if I could just make it a tiny bit bigger and get rid of the terrible pool (but D and the kids would disagree there)🙂


    • I’m very glad that we don’t have to deal with Telkom and whatnot for this move! Plus I use my folks’ address for FICA until we get round to buying our own, so at least I don’t have to go through all of that either.

      Haha, you really hate that pool – don’t you? On Mar 12, 2014 11:48 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. I moved 4 years ago when D and I moved in together!

    The STUFF drives me mad. Last year I threw out bags and boxes of stuff we don’t use or was broken. Every tuesday when my domestic is here I declutter – so once a week another black bag of stuff leaves the house! HOW? WHERE does it all come from!!!


    • Ask that! If you ever find the answer to that question, you’ll make millions. On Mar 12, 2014 1:02 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. It’ll be 3 years on the 26th of March since we moved into the house we currently occupy. We had a loose plan to move back toward the Kyalami/Midrand area at the end of 2015, when Megan is done with primary school. However, there are certain conditions that have to be met before we make that move and, if I’m honest, I don’t think we’re going to to meet them in time. Still, that’s the general plan. It might just take a bit longer to execute….


    • I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you that everything falls into place. Why Midrand? On Mar 12, 2014 5:27 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. I don’t even want to think about it…


    • Trust me…when I eventually get round to buying a place for the long haul NOTHING will budge me from there, unless that nothing.comes with a pre-paid moving crew that will do all the packing and heavy lifting. On Mar 12, 2014 5:50 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  6. When my DH was with PnP we were transferred every 3 years. We had no time to accumulate any clutter. Now we have been living in the same house for close on 27 years. Gosh…do I have clutter!


    • When I was Nicola’s age, we used to move every three or four months. I don’t know how my parents pulled it off…it felt like we more or less lived out of boxes for years. On Mar 13, 2014 3:36 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  7. I like the idea of moving new house new beginnings and all but it’s stressful. My last real move was in 2004 when I packed up my life and moved to a foreign country!

    Would I do it again? Yes in a flash


    • Hahaha! There’s always one exception to the rule.😉 On Mar 13, 2014 8:30 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  8. We’ve been in this house 8 years and I’m itching to sell! Prior to this house I’d been at 6 places in three years. CRAZY!

    If you plan on jumping the pond I have a great deal for you!


    • There’s no way I could jump the pond, unless I could take my whole extended family with me. What are you looking for in a new place? On Mar 13, 2014 8:55 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

