h1

I declare this Murphy’s week

7 March , 2014

Seriously…the hits just keep on coming, BUT it’s Friday! This streak has got to end somewhere, right?

Monday: My car dies (suspect either battery or starter). Upside: I have a friend-colleague who gives me a ride home, and my parents can pick up Nicola.

image

Umbrella time!

Tuesday: Car gets collected and I sit anticipating a massive quote (car is a little overdue for a service – which I had hoped to push for another month or so…guess not). Also my neck goes into a spasm on the right hand side – not so awesome. Two upsides to this day: battery issue confirmed, which is MUCH cheaper than a new starter, and my folks lend me the Audi so I don’t have to walk where I need to.go.

Wednesday: Car is still not ready. It rains like in the days of Noah and I spend 5 f-ing hours in traffic with a stiff neck in a car which I don’t smoke in. I end up almost floating the Audi under the bridge on Barry Hertzog. Upside: If I was in the Tazz that puddle would have been too deep to cross – there were waves! Had a great dinner at my folks, brother and SIL also there.

image

Spot the problem

Thought this was the hold up…it wasn’t. Hahaha, silly me.

image

Much bigger than it looks

Problem 5 of about 10. We really aren’t geared for flooding in Jhb.

Thursday: Wake up feeling like shit (rained on maybe once too many times followed by aircon to keep the windows mist free?). Neck enters previously unknown levels of stiffness. I go to work for the exclusive purpose of taking delivery of my car. Get chirped by a mechanic when I follow up for the third time at 13:30. That’s it. I have had enough. Tell snippy to make sure to have the car ready for collection Friday morning (at which time he is going to get a proper earful from me once I have the keys). Leave work early to go catch a nap and some Voltaren. Get home and scrape the Audi because I switched off the park assist when it annoyed me with it’s constant squeeking (we have a very twisty drive way, but even the rain seemed to get it excited in wide open spaces). Just petfect…I completely loose my shit and become a blubbering mess. Tolerance point, definitely reached and breached. Upside: When I pick Nicola up from school, all her friends ask me to take some photos of them, and I get some great ones of my normally camera shy daughter too. I get a big hug from all of them before we go…Oh boy, and I needed it! I pop in to show my dad the scratches and he is not phased by it at all. It was an accident and we’re all fine – which is what matters most to him (what a hero!). To make me feel better my dad goes round all the cars showing me little dings and scrapes and telling me who put them there…it works. Nicola picks me a bunch of flowers and I get a lot of hugs and kisses.

image

It's been THAT kind of week

image

Serious mist

Northcliff koppie…invisible! Felt like CT there for a bit.

image

image

image

image

Flowers for mom

Friday: Been up since 1:00 when all thing drained by the load shedding at 19:30 were fully charged again and beeped or vibrated in celebration. My neck still hurts like crazy, and being tired but unable to fall back asleep hasn’t done much for me. Also, I forgot to buy smokes yesterday *sigh* and I have a pimple developing on my lips that hurts everytime I wipe my nose (pretty often since I now have a cold). Upside: not sure yet, but the day is young – I’m sure something will present itself soon.πŸ˜‰

image

Pink terrorist

How was your week? Did you get to higher ground? Build an ark? Make friends with a pod of playful dolphins?

18 comments

  1. I love that you force yourself to see the upside of a shitty day – you’re a rockstar!
    The only upside to my week is that I managed to drag myself out of bed to run 3 times, 2 of which were 6km runs instead of 5km. I’m making progress!
    Hope your car’s all sorted now & the weekend totally kicks ass!πŸ™‚


    • I only run for spiders, so count me impressed! And in the rain on top of that.

      Car is all sorted now, thanks. I think I’m going to attempt a very quiet weekend to reset.

      If you don’t focus on the good stuff too, you just end up miserable. Lag en die wereld lag saam met jou, huil en jy huil alleen.πŸ˜‰ On Mar 7, 2014 8:41 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. Ying and yang of life – there is always an upsideπŸ™‚ I have such sore shoulders from feeding Emma – not sure how to sit that it doesn’t hurt – using the hot bag and scouring groupon for a cheap massage ;-p

    Love the photos – lots of loveπŸ™‚


    • A massage sounds like an excellent idea! I’m trying to fix mine with stretches and lots of hot baths and bean bags. May or may not work…we’ll see. On Mar 7, 2014 10:09 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  3. AI, you had a week of note my friend! Sjoe! Here’s hoping this weekend will really be great. And your dad is a wonderful man – he made a huge impression on me from the very first moment I met him.


    • Thanks cat! Yip, my dad is a real sweetheart.πŸ™‚ On Mar 7, 2014 10:12 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. Hehehe, I’m losing my job. Things could be worse, I guess. At least I don’t have a Sharks jersey in the cupboard.


    • I must say I really like your attitude about this when I called you. It could be a great opportunity to get into something more rewarding. Give me a shout if I can help along any of your potential plan Bs. On Mar 7, 2014 1:23 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Ek dink jy moet die naweek maar kalm vat. ((Hugs))


    • Glo my, ek gaan my bes probeer! Dankie. On Mar 7, 2014 3:42 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  6. Had to go to Jbg for meeting today, left early to ensure I was there on time… no rain, no traffic, get there 1,5 hours early… leave to com back at 4 pm – jackass women in satnav tells me to take a route that seems to be the same as everyone else and only now got home… why did she not take me back the way she took me I will never understand… but I was deep in thought or I would have noticed I suppose,… too much meeting in my head, but safe at home after swearing at half of the rush hour traffic on the road…


    • I don’t think there are any quiet roads in Jhb at 16:00. Often I feel like getting out of my car and giving a few driving lessons with a backhand or two…but we must resist. Must.

      I usually just turn up the radio as loud as I can and pretend I don’t mind while I sing along. Usually, but not always…sometimes I roll down my window and give them a stern talking to.πŸ˜‰ On Mar 7, 2014 6:41 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  7. Your week sounds like the weather we’ve had- when it rains …

    Hope your car is all sorted? And hope the weekend and coming week Murphy returns to where he came from !!!


    • It’s been a pretty shitty week. I’m delighted that it’s over. My car is all sorted out now and they threw some freebies at me to apologise about the mechanic. On Mar 7, 2014 8:19 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  8. What a week! I’m also over the rain, not for the rain, but for the traffic and plan Bs with kids and walking home.

    your dad was so lovely, that would have made me cry more.

    Now, I’m going to dye my hair!!!


    • My dad was very sweet…I did cry more, but I also felt better – if that makes sense.

      What colour are you going with? On Mar 8, 2014 11:04 AM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  9. Gosh Louisa…we can compare notes on just how sh*tty life can get. I can say snap on the damaged vehicle. On Thursday last week a guy in a minibus jumped a red light and bashed into me…joy! Seems as if in South Africa red is the new green.


    • Shit! Are you okay though? Did you get off with a bit of whiplash or are you hurt worse? On Mar 13, 2014 3:39 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

