h1

Kicking ass…

27 December , 2013

I saw this award doing the rounds the last week or so, and I’m thrilled to see I got nominated for it twice!🙂 I kick with both feet obviously? Thanks Marcia and Julia.

What are you working on right now?

Relaxing. It’s going really well.🙂 Also, starting January (next week) the job hunt is ON. Aaaand, there is a little side project that will hopefully snowball into a big passive-ish income at some point. I’m actually full of little things in various stages of completion.

Where did the idea for 123 Blog Myself come from?

The idea to write the blog came from my friend Freddy, but the name came to me on a treadmill one day when I still went to gym. I casually mentioned it to my friend Annelie at the time but it was ages after that before I started blogging. The name comes from a game we used to play as kids at my grandmother’s house. You have a safe wall, and it’s sort of a twist on hide and seek. If the seeker finds your hiding spot you both race to the wall and if you manage to get there first you have to hit it and shout “123 block myself” to stay safe. I guess if you want to pull it through to blogging you could say I have to tell my own story before someone else does it for me?😉

How do you bring ideas to life?

I mull them over in the back of my head for ages…then I usually discuss them a couple of times with different people to see if I’m heading down the right track…and then I pounce and get it done in a way that sometimes makes it look a bit by the seat of my pants-ish, but really isn’t. There is also quite a bit of luck and timing involved in the big things, and I draw heavily on my support network to make big things come to life.

What is one trend that really excites you?

I don’t do trends. Online shopping, that really excites me!

What was the worst job you ever had, and what did you learn from it?

It was something I did over a school holiday when I was about 16 or 17. I got a weekend gig working at Lifestyle Nursery walking their ponies, and taking other people’s children on pony rides through the nursery. I thought it was going to be all green and out in the fresh-ish air working with animals…it was that, and then some. When you’re lifting and helping down hundreds of kids (some a little chubby, some a lot cranky) onto a pony’s back, it’s…well let’s just say it’s a full body workout. And when the ponies get tired they tell you in the only way they can I suppose, by biting your ankles. I didn’t stick with that job for long.

If you were to start again, what would you do differently?

Not a thing. I’m pretty happy with where things are headed. I might make a only buy cash type of rule. Credit card debt is awful, even if I am mostly on top of it now. Oh yes, and I would NEVER ever do business wit Telkom. I have on two occasions and I always end us screaming at people in call centres about it, with no result really.

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be and how would you go about doing it?

I would make prisoners pay for their own stay through drug trials and cosmetic/shampoo/what-not human trials. It would be voluntary, in a way that working for your food can be called voluntary. No one needs to be given anything they don’t already have. But the money generated would be split in three ways, a third going to their victim, a third going to their own family who’s silly breadwinner is in jail now, and a third goes to them – from which they can pay for their living expenses and or save some for if they ever come out.

Tell us a secret?

Mmm…I don’t really have secrets. Can’t exactly be telling you other people’s secrets now, can I? Okay, I do have a few of my own – but they’re secret for a reason – so I’m passing on this question, sorry.

What are your three favourite online tools or resources, and what do you love about them?

I like facebook for birthday reminders and keeping up with what friends and family are up to. I enjoy twitter for quick updates from all kinds of interesting people, and for breaking news if there is any, also the jokes after breaking news is pretty awesome on twitter. And I love blogging and reading blogs for connecting with like minded individuals and friends, and seeing how other people go about with their day to day business and lives.

What is the one book you recommend people should read and why?

Face to face confrontations – can’t tell you by who now, I’m not in front of my bookshelf. It’s not a great read…but it’s a great book when you read it at least twice and then let the ideas simmer a bit. It is has good, clean and healthy ways of fighting in it. Well more the hard conversations which should be had before things progress to fighting.

Three people you should follow on Twitter and why?

Depends what you want from it. I follow 193 people and it’s a mix between friends and family (whom I will keep following unless they start clogging up my TL with things I don’t want to see), a couple of celebs and news sites, and really anyone that someone RTs that I find hilarious.

When was the last time you laughed out loud? And why?

On Christmas. My uncle was explaining to us what he goes through with a son that has turned vegetarian. You had to be there, but it was hilarious – we were all in stitches!

Who is your hero?

My family are all heroes to me in one way or another. My daughter is my most favourite though – I am just constantly amazed and in awe with her around.

Bloggers you would like to take part?

Freddy, Melinda, Cat, Marleen, MrsFF, Lynette, Bulldog, Jeanette, Mandy – if you want to obviously.

And now for a few seen around photos:

20130902_095804

Secret place spring display.

20130902_102557

Coffee that was as happy to see me as I was to see it.

20130903_072241

Water truck near Nicola’s school. They are busy with some major construction, and no one actually knows what the hell they’re doing even after three years of that going on.

20130903_185832

Pretty ring I got from Tamara.

20130903_191312

Nicola thinks anything in my kitchen cupboard is fair game wen it comes to selecting bath toys.

20130904_07172920130913_07420520130912_07431520130926_170020

Vanity plates – I do like the last one.😉

20130912_17494320130926_173123

For Bulldog. If you want Loeries in your garden get some of this, they love it! The top picture where it looks like a lawn mower got hold of it, was actually them eating it.

20130913_122628

Something festive involving cameras and balloons in town one day when I popped out for lunch.

20130920_103121

The view from the 5th floor of secret place (where the railing seems a bit short). When it feels as if the walls are closing in on you, this is a great place for a smoke break.

4 comments

  1. It was worth waiting for…. I loved reading your post.

    I knew the relaxing was going well! Loved finding out the name of your blog came about… Because that’s how I found you, googling for domains for mine!

    The last thing that made me laugh was reading about those ponies biting your ankles. In fact, I’m still giggling!

    I’m also giggling at your coffee happy to see you!!!!

    This is only day 3 of my 12 days away from the office and I’m LOVING my break!!!


    • Thanks – hehehe…

      I’m glad you’re enjoying your break. You really deserve it!


  2. 😆😆 I’m laughing just imagining your poor uncle with the vegetarian son!

    Love the bit about making prisoners pay. I heard some ridiculous amount about how much it costs and it got my gasping.


    • Everyone was laughing at my poor uncle. His staple diet is braaivleis, so before this he hardly even stocked veggies at all.😉



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

