h1

On the bright side…it’s unbelievably shiny!

9 December , 2013

I think I’ve more or less reached my tolerance level for doom and gloom for this year, so for this post I thought I’d rattle my phone pics gallery a bit and see what comes up in the line of weekly highlights and reasons to be happy – LOTS of photos, thus looooads of reasons to feel great really.πŸ˜‰

Buckle up…here we go!

image

image

image

I’ve finished painting T-shirts for Nicola’s upcoming birthday and Christmas, and I’m rather chuffed with how they came out. Seriously, if this child ever doubts that I love her with everything I got, she should look at that pony and know that I didn’t line that with a bottle, but with a toothpick dipped in exactly the right shade of purple…over the course of many mornings (+/-2 weeks) getting up at 4:00 instead of 5:00.πŸ˜€

image

image

image

image

image

image

Carols by candle light with the family at K’s school this week – and a wander through the market afterwards.

image

A beautiful sunset, and being outdoors to enjoy it.πŸ™‚

image

image

Taking the car for a proper scrubbing on Friday after I picked Nicola up from school. We enjoyed some ice cream while someone else was applying the necessary elbow grease – what’s not too love?

Ps! The two bottles were apparently getting married. Nicola has a bit of an obsession with this topic at the moment, along with the missing dad issues. The other day we stopped at Checkers for a grocery run and she said to me, “Mamma, where is your husband?” So I said I don’t have one. Nicola’s solution to this is that we need to buy me a white dress so that I can get a husband. Mwahaha! I explained to her that you kind of need to start off with the man first, otherwise all you’ll actually have is a white dress. She remains unconvinced that this is the way things are supposed to be, and when we got out of the car she saw this random guy walk past and said, “What about that one? Let’s marry him!” The guy obviously looked fairly surprised (and a bit scared). I just laughed and said, “Maybe tomorrow” and steered her into the store before she found someone else to proposition on my behalf.πŸ˜‰

image

My dad got a foot spa from his secret santa at work, and Nicola loves it! We had a hard time getting her out of it again…Just look at that face! She is so pleased with this development.

image

THIS is apparently the best spot to see the sunrise and greet morning. If you’re dancing, even better.

image

My frangipani is blooming – smells divine!

image

My daughter is a genius, and has a much better sense of direction that I have apparently. My mom gave her this little globe ball, and after showing her just once where a couple of countries were she has it down. She can show you exactly where South Africa, Madagascar and Japan are. So clever!

image

Nicola and cousin Justin, making a big picture (like on Art attack) – looks more like a big mess to me, but it kept them busy and happy and nothing was broken in the process.

image

My cousin Ian’s wife, Arlene – it was her baby shower.

image

Nicola and Justin, playing in puddles and running through the sprinklers.

image

Playing in the tent. Too funny, they were playing some sort of game where Nicola was the mommy and Justin the baby – she kept calling him, “my liefie” to his mother’s entertainment.πŸ˜†

image

Siblings (my mom and her brother) sharing some ice cream.

image

My aunt’s surprise birthday party yesterday at this estate somewhere in Pretoria. This guy saw Nicola was fascinated with the fishing and let her help him reel one in – she was ecstatic! I had to really put my foot down when she wanted to do her own casting too.

image

The lucky fish (they were just catching and releasing back into the dam).

image

Cousins – Nicola, Gizelle, Wynand, Markus. If I was very into black and white photos I bet this one would look good in that.

image

Cousins: Mienke, Gizelle and Nicola.

image

Gizelle and Nicola – applying sun block to the “baby”. They did NOT miss a single spot on this doll, let me tell you. We battled to keep a straight face watching them butter up the baby, even the crack between his butt cheeks got at least three applications. Not surprisingly, noΒ subsequent sunburn was reported.

image

I just liked the way the light was coming through here, shining on all the kids playing at the edge of the water. Blessed…

There were also a few things that happened last week that I didn’t get photos of. Firstly, I had my performance appraisal. I just rated myself 3 on everything and hoped for the best. My new line managed didn’t completely agree with my ratings. Let me explain how it works here:

  • 1: You should have been fired last year already
  • 2: You’re probably going to get fired or bullied out in the next year
  • 3: You do your job well
  • 4: You wear a cape and your underwear over your outer wear while doing a fantastic job
  • 5: You walk on water, we’re considering putting your name on the door

She thinks I’m more 4 than 3 and was trying her best to rate me so. I’m not too sure what I did to make it to her good books but I’m just going to keep my head down and enjoy it while it lasts.

Secondly, we went driving with Nicola last night to go see some of the neighbourhood Christmas lights. You have not seen excitement until you’ve seen Nicola excited about Christmas – she LOVES it all!

Lastly, I am really enjoying the school holiday lack of traffic. I’m driving that e-road taggless and am looking forward to seeing my daily R5,61 invoices starting to come through from this week onwards.πŸ˜‰

9 comments

  1. Ah children. They do give so many pleasure. I can see that is what Nicola does for you and your family. xx


  2. Ah children. They do give so many pleasure. I can see that is what Nicola does for you and your family. xx Love the playing in the mud puddles.


    • She really does light up our lives… -)


  3. You know I LOVE that foot spa oneπŸ™‚πŸ™‚

    I’m so glad your manager thinks you’re the bees knees!!!

    Today I fetched C and he said “why were you so late?” so I told him my boss doesn’t like when I leave early and he said …………………… does he not like you????? (!) and I said I don’t think so (how tactful am I?!) and then “does he like all the other people?” (um yes) – okay these kids are way too switched on.

    I need to send out a mail to you about increases!


    • They see and hear a lot more than we give them credit for, that’s for sure!πŸ˜‰


  4. Oh she has grown so much!!
    Well done on the shirts – they look wonderful!
    I am so glad your appraisal went well, I haven’t properly caught up but I have seen you’re not having fun…


    • Thanks Angel, I’m very pleased with how they came out.πŸ™‚


  5. A much needed post. I laughed so hard about Nicola’s innocent view of marriage and the poor doll!!!

    Our appraisal ratings are the opposite of yours: 1 being the best and 5 being you are out of here Jose!!!!!


    • I doubt if I could straight faced pull off a white dress anyway.πŸ˜‰



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

