h1

Our weekend

21 October , 2013

Firstly, we had the first episode of Nicola’s school concert Saturday morning. This is the first year that she is not dressed as some sort of animal for the event.

image

Their class were all Barbies. The competition, as you can imagine, was fierce for the pink dress – but my little terrorist managed to pull it off somehow (there was only one pink dress, in fact a week or so ago there weren’t any!).

I got a note from the school on Thursday asking me to make sure she comes to school with her hair styled barbie-lyke and wearing Barbie-like make up. I asked the teacher what this actually meant but she couldn’t tell me, so I just did her hair in a pony and put on a little blush and lip gloss. She’s not even 4 yet! (There was actually one kid in the class who rocked up wearing a wig and fake eye lashes…all I kept thinking about was Toddlers & Tiaras – in a horified way!).

Anyhoo, she had loads of fun, and it was very cute to see them all do the dances they had been rehearsing for months now.

image

We also spent a lot of time bonding with Princess Aurora of course. I should probably call her St.  Aurora actually. What an even tempered little critter. She plays so well with Nicola. Currently all quality time is spent in the empty bath of course, because I don’t much feel like moving all the furniture out in search of a missing hamster – this way at least it’s controlled. Isn’t this cuddling picture just too adorable. That hamster gets snuggles, kisses, opportunities to sit on her lap, shoulder, run up her arm if she feels like it – it is only with very firm and repeated NOs that I’ve managed to keep her out of the bed, and in fact out of the entire bedroom. Apparently Princess Aurora would really like to watch some TV with us.

Ps! Laura, I understand now what you mean about the pipes. I had two green quarter round ones that managed to get their parts switched in the wash, and it took me forever and not a few swear words to figure out why the bloody things wouldn’t snap closed again. I think I have it sussed now though…I’ll let you know if it goes any better this weekend.  ;-)

20 comments

  1. Pretty, pretty, pretty child.

    We have a violent, horrible hamster called Girl. She is really unpleasant. I’d like to give that hamster away…


    • Louisa, maybe Princess Aurora would like a friend?🙂 HEHEHE


      • Hahah, very funny.😛 I think Aurora will probably be an only hamster.


    • Is it one of those bigger syrian teddy bear ones? I read that they were very territorial and aggressive.


  2. Love the post…


    • 🙂 Thanks


  3. How cute is N in that pink halterneck dress!


    • She does look adorable in it, doesn’t she?😀


  4. What an adorable photo of the two princesses😉

    I remember an episode in my life (many moons ago) when my boys were little and one of their hamsters went missing. We found it two weeks later and it had made itself a neat little nest under a bed…the carpet had to be replaced…because the nest was made of the damaged carpet….expensive exercise😀


    • Yikes! Yip, I think it might be best if all outside time is spent either in the tub or in an excercise ball.


  5. HA! At least you were prepared🙂 )

    LOL at Barbie hair -you should see what our Barbies hair look like!! She looked uber cute though!


    • Thanks for the warning, you really knew what you were talking about! I think there are as many Barbie-hairstyles as there are Barbies out there. What a silly way to describe hair.


  6. Loving little girl with her sweet little hamster. So glad you got a calm little hamster as it is true that many of them are grumpy. Lovely picture..


    • Thank you.🙂
      I did a bit of research before we got her. As far as I can tell the Russian dwarf ones aren’t nasty at all. Let’s keep our fingers crossed that that is true.


  7. Too cute!!! Pink terrorist in pink. And I didn’t realise hamsters were that tiny


    • Princess Aurora is a Russian dwarf hamster. She’s already full grown +/- 6 months old.


  8. I would also have asked, “what’s Barbie hair?” Things have just exploded over here on all fronts and I’m exhausted.

    That little hamster is very cute…. for OTHER people’s kids though🙂

    Miss you dreadfully!!!


    • Miss you too! Are you okay, other than exhausted?


  9. I too love the snuggle picture of them two


    • I’m seriously printing this one BIG!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

