h1

The hamster cage of unexpected opportunity

14 October , 2013

image

You know how I enjoy naming things… πŸ˜‰

Let me backtrack a bit and explain:

Nicola is turning 4 in December (My baby is turning 4?! Can you believe it?!). It’s probably a good time to try out a starter pet sort of situation, isn’t it? I’ve known that she wants a pet for ages now – and I think she might be ready, soΒ I want to give it a shot.

Anyhoo, the plan (which is in all things just a starting point of things to actually come) was to hopefully find a bigger place which would allow for a smallish pet, possibly a handbag dog of some sorts. However, reality dictates that this bigger place business, although not completely off the table, will most likely only be an option towards the middle of next year if all goes well – but I’ve kind of had my heart set on a pet for a birthday gift, and I still wanted to somehow swing that if I could.

On Saturday we went to go and look at a bigger place not far from where we are now. It’s not suitable for us, I can tell that already – I could have told that before we even set foot in the yard actually, but there’s no harm in looking so thatΒ I can get an idea of what we’ll be dealing with soon. Plus it’s kind of rude to arrange a viewing and then drive away at high speed before you even shake their hand and say no thanks.

As we cruise around the unsuitable place with the potential landlord I casually throw out there that even though we do not currently have any pets could she tell me, just in case, how she would feel about a hamster – because I was leaning in that direction. She had no problem with it at all, and actually got fairly excited about it and offered me a cage that she’d been trying to get rid of for ages. Of course I took it at once!

And THAT is how we came across the hamster cage of unexpected opportunity. πŸ™‚

It’s actually pretty fancy for a cage and has all its attachments and what not too. It’s now a simple case of just add hamster litter, food water and hamster and ta-dah – we’ll have a pet (and maybe an excercise ball, we probably need one of those too). Nicola is BESIDES herself with excitement! We’ve made a countdown calendar till her birthday, and on D-day we will go to the petstore and pick out a hamster for her. She has even already decided what she will call her hamster…nope not Barbie (thank goodness, I’m sick of that name)…not Marble (we also have numerous things in our house called that already)…nope, the name she decided on will certainly lend some class to our rodent, plus it’s actually kind of suitable with the way these little guys like to attempt hibernation and so on.

Our soon to be hamster’s name will be *drum roll please* Princess Aurora. πŸ˜€ Of course I will introduce you as soon as she arrives.

16 comments

  1. Seriously hope you are getting a female hamster….hahahaha…


    • I asked them to check – but if there is only one, it shouldn’t matter too much?


  2. oh I LOVE the name πŸ™‚ How cool that this is coming about so nicely and yes, I still can’t believe mine are 4. How fast these years have flown!


    • In the blink of an eye!


  3. Oh my word! I am too excited for you both. How great for Nicola and how lovely to give her something like that to look forward to and anticipate πŸ™‚ Personally I would’ve gone with a rat tho, sine a) I had one and b) they are far smarter animals … but that is just me πŸ™‚ ENJOY!


    • I don’t think I’d be able to get myself to pick up a rat…lol…Nicola would probably have no problem though.


  4. Great idea (although personally rodents are not forme)


    • We don’t really have space for anything else except this, a fish or a bird – at least this one can be handled.


  5. Like mother like daughter πŸ˜‰
    Guess by the time the hamster arrives, a new name might have been chosen πŸ˜†

    Hope she likes hamsters though. I’m not a rodent fan. I like dogs and that’s about it.


    • Nope, the name stuck. πŸ˜‰


  6. At least you won something out of the “not so cool” property viewing πŸ™‚


    • True…I guess it was meant to be (in a way).


  7. I don’t want to rain on your parade because this pet thing is part and parcel of parenting BUT cleaning that cage will be the end of you! trying to piece the dam thing back together will test the relationship with your daughter!

    BUT it is a good place to start as far as pets go πŸ™‚ She will love it!!!!


    • Hahaha, I already suspected that – I’ll let you know how it goes after the first clean. πŸ˜‰


  8. Ah..good luck with the pet. Hope you get a princess and not a prince πŸ˜›


    • Thank you, I hope so too!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

