h1

Resistance is futile

23 September , 2013

Nicola decided that Oupa needed his lips glossed, and no amount of NO was going to change her mind!😉 At least he got a kiss for his troubles.

20130707_15583720130707_15590820130707_155911

Is it just me or is Christmas rolling out a bit early this year? I’m pretty sure we only saw the bauble trees go up in the shops last year October and even then I thought it was “a bit” premature. It does exactly what it’s supposed to do I think, namely let’s everyone panic about what they haven’t bought yet!

I have list full of emptiness when it comes to family gifts so far. I have not even the slightest clue what I’m going to get them – other than not very much since we’ll be on a pretty tight budget.

I’ve been sussing out bank repo properties, weighing up if I should/can make a leap like that at this time. We are finally in a position where we actually have a bit of spare cash every month, and it’s awesome! We really need a bigger place though, we have actually just outgrown the cottage completely so it looks a bit like half the living room has a case of tetris going on.

Today I found something promising to look at. It hits all my wants on a checklist except two – it doesn’t have a private garden (has big communal one though and a giant balcony with a view), and it’s not precisely the area I was coveting either (it’s a good area, it’s just not the area I wanted). Blast and damn! It looks lovely though, and I’m pretty sure they must have made a mistake on the asking price because it’s rediculously cheap even for a reposessed property. I’ve called and apparently I can go and have a look at it on Friday if I want to – not sure if I should?

What if I fall in love with it and have to change all my plans? Hahaha! I really had my mind set on a place with a garden, with the idea that once I buy I would just hang on to the place and pay it off instead of trading up every few years again. What would you do? I think I should go and have a look anyway. Maybe I’ll hate it once I see it with my own eyes and then I can peacefully keep looking for “the one”?

10 comments

  1. Some exciting times for you and Nicola’s future. House shopping and everything. So cool. Good luck in finding the right place for the both of you.


    • Thank you. The more I think about this one, the more I like it – we’ll see on Friday when I go see it in person.


  2. We have gone away from gifts completely… it is just too expensive… and now that money is spent rather getting the family together from all over (traveling costs being what they are) and all we do is buy one male and one female present for under R50 and each gets on present… the kids still get theirs naturally as I see Christmas as their time…


    • We go all out on the children too, and then only half bananas on the grown ups. This year I think I’m going to go very lightweight on this.


  3. Go and have a look see…but with Nicola, I believe she needs a garden. Your father is a good sport.


    • My dad is a great sport!😉
      I’m going on Friday, but to be honest – the more I think about it, the more I like it.


  4. Christmas gifts are a lost case with the size of my (very extended) family. For the past few years it’s only been Sienna and hubby that get anything.

    As for the house hunting….rather go and have look at it than spend the next few months wondering if it could’ve been your first home. I did that with a house that made complete sense to buy according to the pictures, and even after looking at the house itself. After driving around the neighbourhood once or twice, we realised that it just wasn’t the right place for us. We wouldn’t have known that if we never went to check🙂


    • I don’t buy for the very extended family either. Just my folks, my gran, R&K, and Nicola.

      Thanks cuzz…I’m going out on Friday to see. Keep your fingers crossed and so on, please.🙂


  5. Good luck with the house viewing, I love looking, even if you end up not living it, it will give you an idea of what to look for going forward.

    Oupa is definitely a good sport. Pretty lips deserve a kiss from the princess😉😉


    • I’m glad I went, but this one wasn’t a winner unfortunately.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

