h1

Photo catch up post: First of July photos

22 August , 2013

I don’t know about you but I am very ready for this week to be over now.Β  It has been a long drawn out nightmare at work…all the children are feeling a bit vulnerable and paranoid and it kind of eats you if you let it. I’m not saying that there isn’t good reason for feeling that way, but it is exhausting…

Nicola-isms of the week:

  • After what I’m sure must have been an interesting dream, she woke up one morning and moaned at me, “Nee mamma! Ek wil nie nog coconuts optel nie!”
  • She mastered a new thing on the Leappad this week, and it’s a biggy. She can write all of her letters in lower and upper case on it now. Monday she couldn’t, Tuesday she could – isn’t it just magic when something like that clicks.πŸ˜€ I’m always amazed at how it’s not a gradual process as all.
  • Last night she wanted my dad to read her 15 books! She was very specific about the amount. He wanted to go after the second one and was trying to explain how late it was, and that I could read her another one and all sorts of things – she said, “Nee Oupa. Jy het nie ‘n beter plan nie!” We had such a giggle about this. Obviously it comes from the way we (possibly mostly me) offer alternatives to her sometimes fairly demanding requests.
  • Monday morning she woke up and hour and a half early! This throws out my whole morning schedule (except for the bit where I would have to beg her to get up and get going). Anyhoo, as you can imagine – there I was…halfway dressed and running around like a loon trying to pack bags and play in between, or make her tea or whatever she had in mind. From the moment she opened her eyes she never stopped asking me for things, or to quickly do so-and-so. Then, by the time we were now fully behind schedule and I start getting irritated, she says, “Mamma, hoekom trek jy nie net jou hemp aan sodat ons kan ry nie?” (I’d been scuttling around for about 40 minutes on her requests without it). Hahaha! So I told her if she could do her own thing for 2 minutes I would, and that was that.

20130706_090423

Just look at that face – so cute! Glitter is definitely an outside activity whenever possible. Luckily it vacumms up fairly easy.πŸ˜‰

20130707_081405

On top of the counter at Ouma & Oupa’s house. I forget now what she had in this bowl that made her laugh like this.

20130707_164609

You’ve met Marie Biscuit, our wooden horse?

20130710_065225

Sometimes tea in a mug just won’t do…

11 comments

  1. Such sweet photos. I can see that she is very attached to Oupa and OumaπŸ™‚


    • She’s very close to them.πŸ™‚


  2. Awwwwwww, she’s too cute. Marie biscuit!!!! Seriously how does she come up with those names.πŸ˜†πŸ˜† Let’s just say the apple doesnt fall far from the tree (you know what I am talking about)

    And it’s amazing she can write her alphabets at such a young age, a proud moment


    • I don’t know, I just love it when she doesn’t name all things the same name.πŸ˜‰


      • Like mama like daughter if you ask me he he he he he


  3. Oh gosh, adorable beautiful child – just growing up so very fast


    • Thank you – yip, that she is…


  4. I love the teacup and saucer – a girl who knows what she wantsπŸ™‚

    Don’t even get started about work…


    • That cup and saucer is referred to as “my pink baby tulip cup” in our house. I have a cupboard full of cups and mugs and there are only three that she deems worthy to be drunk out of!πŸ˜†


  5. PS the coconuts – maybe she watched that one episode of Amazing Race where their coconuts kept falling off the wagons?πŸ™‚


    • Mmm…I doubt it, we don’t watch that show – maybe Jake and the Neverland pirates?



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

