h1

A to Z of a perfect birthday long weekend

11 August , 2013

On Thursday I had my 35th birthday. πŸ™‚ Lucky me, I always get a day off right after, and sometimes even a whole long weekend.

I’ve decided to show you more or less what we got up to in pictures (I know right?! Actual, current photos! Unheard of).

image

Nicola and my mom baked some cupcakes for me to take to work, and a few for us too.

image

This is more or less what they looked like. And they were delicious!

On Thursday I had my phone almost constantly on charge, and I got a lot of birthday love! Hundreds of well wishes, and calls from all over the world. I think I got sung to about 10 times!

I would have taken a day off, but one of the three people who took over Steamcleaner’s work, Mary-Jane was floundering and needed help wrangling a spreadsheet…but I got to leave even earlier than usual without cashing in a leave form, so all good.

Marcia and I went out for lunch too, so other than that spreadsheet I can’t really say I worked much on my birthday at all! πŸ˜‰

Oh yes, must tell you about this…I decided to wear a dress (this is kind of my thing for my bday and Spring day as you know), I very nearly had a whole string of Marilyn Monroe moments (Marcia’s term) on my way to the restaurant! August winds, right on time this year huh? πŸ˜‰

So just imagine me clutching my worldly belongings and a cupcake for Marcia in one hand, and the most important bits of my dress with the other hand, hobbling along uneven pavements with myΒ  HIGH heel boots and my hair blowing in my face and blinding me to omcoming traffic!

Yeah…next year I’ll go with a pencil skirt and sensible shoes.

Anyhoo, I had about 5 minutes of blind panic at the restaurant. Turns out (at least I think this is what caused it), I was so busy I clean forgot to eat anything and my blood sugar did some somersaults to put the fear of God back into me.

Best way I can describe it is like an extreme version of that rolling feeling you get on a speedboat, on choppy seas…only I was sitting dead still on a chair clutching an armrest and trying to figure out which way was up and which way was down.

Once I had some food in me it luckily all settled down again. Gosh, it was actually very scary. I guess I need to have breakfast from now on?

image

Thursday night my mom made my favourite dinner for me. Her roast chicken! And even more of a spoil – pumpkin fritters! πŸ™‚

image

This might be my most favourite photo of the entire weekend, if not year! I got some candles on cheescake and more singing, and a cheek to cheek snuggle from my pink terrorist.

image

image

On Friday we woke up to some beautiful rain! Love, love, love rain! πŸ™‚

Everything was sparkly and fresh after that…and to me it might as well be spring now (my favourite season).

I was telling Nicola how much I love the smell of rain…and she looked at my like I was mad…and then told me she loves the smell of snow! Hahaha, she’s never even seen snow, but okay. *shrug*

In the afternoon we had lunch at my folks with two of my uncles, my aunt and my grandmother.

My aunt asked me to load some music for her on her new phone, as well as a new ringtone and my gran wanted in on the action too! Hehehe, I wonder what the other people at the old age home will make of Pink’s So What? πŸ˜‰

Friday night we pulled off a surprise mini bachelorette pizza and red wine event for K. She, who hardly ever asks me what I’m doing over weekends, of course happened to ask me on Thursday and can I just say that I managed to straight faced and fairly glibly come up with something quite plausible on the spot! Hehehe…I’m glad we managed to keep it a surprise.

image

On Saturday we went for brunch at Papachino’s with a work friend, PerfectJ.

She confided in me that kids actually intimidate her a bit, but she seemed to do just fine there and we certainly had a lovely time.

image

I really should remember to take more change when we go there…

After Nicola used up the two R5 coins we had on us for rides, little opportunist found this carousel and just stayed on it to ride with anyone else who dropped in a coin.

Quite clever actually. πŸ˜‰

image

Yummy food.

image

This is the look I got when I said it was time to go home.

Sunday…tum-tum-duuuhm…time for my grand surprise adventure! Well, not that much of a surprise since my mom above all odds managed to guess what it was days before!

We got together early, had a snack, and hit the road.

image

My brother kindly volunteered to squish up in the boot so that we could all travel together.

image

My parents in the front. My GPS was a bit posessed and wanted to take us on the very scenic route. Also, I discovered that in addition to the standard shortest distance, fastest time option mine also has a off road option!

image

Ta-dah! This is what I put everyone through. πŸ˜‰ Lipizzaners, a.k.a the ballet of the white stallion.

image

We got there with plenty of time to spare, so we had some coffee and chilled under the trees.

image

image

Second row from the front – nose bleed seats. πŸ˜‰

image

This is one of the tricks they do…I forget the name now.

image

Dancing!

Interesting things galore said, also available more or less on their website. These horses are all born black and as they mature they turn white.

They are gorgeous!

image

The show is about an hour, and after finding out that there were no pink horses, it was about 45 minutes too long for Nicola.

At least she was better behaved than the two behind us, whoses mom was using her I mean business voice on them almost throughout the whole show.

image

Afterwards you get to meet the horses and feed them carrots if you want to.

Hahaha, Nicola FINALLY managed to feed one after teasing a whole lot. She didn’t mean to tease but every time she saw that mouth and teeth approaching she’d start backing off…

image

Oom Riaan bravely did most of the feeding on her behalf. πŸ˜‰

Later on I had to take her round to each stable so that she could chat to all the Maximuses.

image

image

image

We had some of their lovely picnic baskets there too (you have to order ahead). It was delicious, and really a massive amount of food!

image

This very typical cat found a black table cloth and could not be budged from there at all. Very friendly, and he’d briefly abandon his watch over the paperwork to come over for an ear scratch. πŸ˜‰

After out outing we came home and had a lovely, and much needed afternoon nap. Bliss!

And that…in a nutshell…was my birthday weekend. I enjoyed every second. πŸ™‚

Thank you to everyone who made it possible.

10 comments

  1. We need it to be your birthday everyday so we can see current pictures πŸ˜†

    Happy birthday. Wish you a wonderful year ahead xxx


    • Hahaha…very funny! πŸ˜›
      Thank you!


  2. Your birthday weekend sounds FANTASTIC. So happy that you had a good time. I must check if we have that show in CT. I think my kids would LOVE it! Your favourite picture happens to be my favourite in this set too. Gorgeous.


    • I think they’re only up here, but they might travel on special occasions – who knows? I know the first time I saw them was in Pretoria at some or another event.
      Thank you! πŸ˜€


  3. LOVE the current pictures so I agree with Funso!

    At one point in Sage Life’s history, we had ads on tv featuring the Lipizzaners. They are beautiful!

    Your weekend sounds lovely!!!


    • Hehehe…you two are so funny. πŸ˜›
      They really are gorgeous – and so well trained.
      It was lovely – couldn’t have asked for better really.


  4. Jy het verseker ‘n cool naweek gehad en ek hou ook van die foto waar Nicola haar wang teen joune druk.


    • Dankie! πŸ™‚
      Dit was regtig ‘n heerlike naweek.


  5. So lekker om “nuwe” fotos te sien. Baie geluk met jou verjaardag, ek kan sommer sien dat jy ‘n wonderlike tyd gehad het. Die foto van jou saam met jou pienk terroris is te pragtig.


    • Baie dankie! Ek het myself gate uit geniet. πŸ˜€



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

