h1

Mini me?

1 August , 2013

On Saturday we visited with Phillygirl, and she asked me if I’ve ever compared photos of myself as a child with photos of Nicola to see how similar we look. Well, I haven’t reaaally done it – but I do sort of know that we look very similar.

So I thought, why the hell not? This is that post…bumper photo edition brace yourselves! (don’t panic, I compressed them all). Sorry about the quality of some of them, photos of photos tend to do that. And also, there aren’t NEARLY as many photos of me as a child as there is of Nicola, seeing as I was small way before digital cameras were a common thing obviously (also I highly doubt if there is any child anywhere who has had their photo taken as much as my pink terrorist has).πŸ˜‰

This is me at 4 days old

This is me at 4 days old

This is Nicola, one day old

My grandmother and I. This was on my Christening day - probably about 4 months old or so

My grandmother and I. This was on my Christening day – probably about 4 months old or so

Same day, with my mom

Nicola with my mom at about the same age

Nicola with my mom at about the same age

Nicola with my dad

Nicola with me

Nicola with me

That’s me crawling, round about 6 months old

Nicola at about the same age

Nicola at about the same age

Nicola, getting the hang of the standing up bit a few months later

Nicola

Nicola

My dad and I

Nicola and I, not the same age as the photo of me and my dad...but it feels like a similar photo.

Nicola and I, not the same age as the photo of me and my dad…but it feels like a similar photo.

Me, picking flowers

Nicola, picking flowers.

Nicola, picking flowers.

Obviously I was a very friendly child.πŸ˜‰

And so is Nicola!

And so is Nicola!

Laughing right from her belly

Me with my Ouma and Oupa on my dad's side of the family

Me with my Ouma and Oupa on my dad’s side of the family

Nicola with my parents

Another one of Nicola with my parents

Another one of Nicola with my parents

Probably the last time I could pull off a bikini

Nicola at Ballito

Nicola at Ballito

Nicola with Oom Riaan

Me, on horse back

Me, on horse back

Nicola, on a bouncy ball

We obviously both love animals

We obviously both love animals

Nicola with Philly’s bunnie

An angelic version of me ;-)

An angelic version of meπŸ˜‰

A fairy version of Nicola

Nicola

Nicola

I have always loved Christmas

Nicola wasn't too impressed with her first encounter of Santa

Nicola wasn’t too impressed with her first encounter of Santa

These are very odd socks

She loves the tree bit though!

She loves the tree bit though!

My baby borther and I, more or less the age Nicola is at now

We obviously don't have a baby brother, but we do have Mieka

We obviously don’t have a baby brother, but we do have Mieka

My cousins will get a kick out of this one. Nicola, climbing a tree with a ladder – I was known to climb them with chairs (no photos of that though).

So yes, I guess we are very similar – but we’re also very different, exactly the way it should be because she’s her own little person even though we share a strong resemblance.πŸ˜‰

Ps! These really look much better in a slide show…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

14 comments

  1. I think all the photos look fantastic… and what a lovely time record to have of you both… love it…


    • Thank you! I’m glad I took the time to put it all together, it was so much fun.πŸ™‚


  2. This is pretty amazing! I wish I had more pictures if myself to compare. But I have to say I think Nicola strongly resembles your fathers mother! Look at the shape of their faces!


    • Thanks!πŸ™‚ These are just about all the photos of me up to this age – don’t you have any?


  3. This is an amazing post. You were both born with so much hair. My kids and I were all bald babies. She does look a lot like youπŸ˜‰


    • Thank you! Yip, we both have a lot of hair (or in my case had)…shame, my brother as you can see, was completely bold – but he has loads now at least.πŸ˜‰


  4. The apple doesn’t fall far from the treeπŸ™‚


    • Hehehe…πŸ˜‰


  5. mandy’s right but you two do resemble each other a lot. The most obvious way is your stubbornness, of course. I love that about you two!!!πŸ™‚


    • Mwahaha! Yes, we have the stubbornness in spades.πŸ˜†


  6. Wow, yep, I can definitely see the similaritiesπŸ™‚


    • Thanks for prompting me to do this, it was a lot of fun!πŸ™‚


  7. Guess if there was any doubt she was your baby, this puts that to restπŸ˜†

    And you did have quite a lot of pictures for someone who grew up when we did


    • Really? I didn’t think it was that much – but I guess you’re right. Hahaha, yes – we definitely do look very similar.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

