h1

This, that and the next thing

12 July , 2013

Last night our whole area’s power went out at about 18:00. I can’t really complain because in the 2,5 years we’ve been living there this might be our third or thereabouts only power outage – that and it meant I could convince Nicola that 19:00 was bedtime (after the laptop’s battery ran out half way through one of her movies). At least it was back on by the time I needed to kick start myself with some coffee.

I did briefly think about JHB City Power who have been backing a local production of Starlight Express at the Joburg Theatre…and I thought it kind of ironic because star light was more or less what was going on at our place backed by the same crowd.

Secret place things:

Yesterday the deer-in-the-headlights new guy who has taken over Snake-In-The-Grass’ position came out of his office for the first time since he arrived here. I sort of started calling it groundhog day, and my mom joked that we should make sure he doesn’t see his shadow or it will be a sure sign that winter’s not over yet.

Anyhoo, he said some things. We listened. He uncharacteristically did not prepare any slides (we like to death by power point around here), in fact the majority of the hour was a Q&A session with many long and awkward silences in between.

We’ll see how it goes…he fibbed a bit and I may or may not have hinted at that afterwards when he came to introduce himself. Oh, who am I kidding? I most definitely did, but he didn’t seem to pick up that i was actually talking about him at all.

Today we’re having “the way forward” chat with the new guy who took over from Box-Of-Frogs. It will be interesting to see what he comes up with since I’m pretty sure he has no clue about what actually goes on it our department and he hasn’t asked for any input from the three people who are leaving, hence the need for a way forward discussion in the first place.

Having some fun with gift registries:

I got an invite to K’s kitchen tea today. Don’t gasp, she knows about it – so I’m not exactly spoiling the surprise.

There’s a gift registry at Woolies and I discovered to my delight that I could buy off it online and have it delivered to them without even setting foot in a store whatsoever. Bonus!

They have this odd section in the checkout procedure where you can give special instructions for the delivery, which I thought was a bit off since they obviously loaded their own address and any special instructions would have been in there, wouldn’t it?

So I had some fun with that. K’ if this happens, then you know my parcel has finally arrived!😉

Instructions

Photos:

20130512_132709

Basket case?😉

20130518_152215

“Helping” baby tulip open his leaves.

20130518_193354

20130518_195428

Thick as thieves these two…

13 comments

  1. Great post as always.. I love to read your goings on…


    • Thank you!🙂


  2. Wish I could be there ti hear the delivery serenade!😉


    • Hahaha…me too! I wonder if they will actually do it.😉


  3. You are a winner over at my bloggy.


    • I won? I won!🙂

      Thank you.


  4. I love the one of Nicola in the basket🙂


  5. You kill me with the names of your colleagues😛

    Online shopping? I can live with that.


    • I like to keep it descriptive and vague all at the same time if I can.


  6. We are also very lucky with power outages in our area. I think it may have happened once in the past 3 years. Eish. Your secret place sounds exactly like mine. We also have powerpoint to the death. As well as s*x. lies and videotape. LOL.


    • We definitely have the lies, not sure about the videotape or the sex though.😉


  7. the deer-in-the-headlights, Snake-In-The-Grass’ OMW Louisa, you kill me with these names. I am laughing so loud my colleagues think I am going gaga😆😆😆


    • Glad you enjoy the names, around the office people automatically know who I’m talking about when I call them that.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

