h1

A short recap about a long weekend…

18 June , 2013

We had a super action packed weekend. Despite my best intentions, not a helluva lot of laundry got done in between though.

Saturday morning we went gift shopping for young Jack. Nicola is very puzzled by people who have the same names but are not the same people. She has a Jack at her school too, and when i told her that this is not in fact that Jack she concluded that he must be my Jack and not hers and therefore a grown up.

We went through to Pretoria in the afternoon for Jack’s party and it was a lovely set-up. The weather wasn’t half bad either and my pink terrorist who isn’t usually a big cookie lover really climbed in to Laura’s stash of special birthday cookies!

It wasn’t all drama free unfortunately. Well not for us anyway. Nicola was a bit off on Saturday and kept throwing tantrums for little nothing reasons, and at some point her ears completely stopped working whenever I asked her NOT to do something, so after one warning stern talking about the need for some rapid change we ended up having to leave quite early.

When I say, “stop that right now, or we’re going home” – I mean it.

Anyhoo, lessons were learnt, and fun was had by all for the short time we were there. Thanks for inviting us Laura.🙂 It was also great to see MeeA and Jenty again, and to meet @gettingby.

Sunday morning we headed out to Papachino’s for a father’s day breakfast – which then turned into a sort of Father’s day lunch. We ran into SIL2B’s sort of sister and family and decided to join up all the tables and eat together. The manager really pulled a rabbit out of hat to change our 6 seater table into a 13 seater with no advance warning, but he did it and did it happily – really some of the best service around at that place and I’m not only saying it because they’re so kiddy friendly and have free ginger bread men.

The children who were able to move around on their own were hardly seen due to all the lovely playground equipment available of course, and the rest of us quite enjoyed the sunshine and the company.

There was a little bit of an almost incident with Nicola. I’m not too sure what exactly started it, but I heard her screaming and went running. When I rounded the corner I saw her, no apparent reason for the screaming except for a strange lady who was trying to pick her up. When she saw my face, she immediately stepped away with a dash of speed and made herself scarce. Nicola does NOT like strangers, and especially does NOT like strangers touching her. (i didn’t reach her this by the way, she has just always been like that – I approve).

Sunday late afternoon I went to a friend’s wedding at Tres Jolie.  What a lovely venue that turned out to be! Our table was pretty close to the enormous fire place which was awesome, but every time I popped out for a smoke break I almost froze my ass off!

The bride looked lovely, the service was beautiful, the food was great and the wine outrageously expensive!😉 I danced a bit and had fun catching up with other old friends there, but after checking in with my dad and hearing that Nicola was waiting up for me I decided not to stay out too late, and headed home.

Monday, the other Sunday, saw us chopping up a boat load of bread crusts to go feed the ducks at Emmarentia dam. We had a checkers bag FULL of bread! Hahaha, I think we need to do this more often so that we don’t have to take such an enormous load through when we go again.

It was a nice relaxing outing that I think we all enjoyed. Especially Nicola, who was walking around picking up enough feathers to build her own duck and even started wearing some in her hair for decorations. Can any family outing really be complete without ice cream, even in this freezing weather? I think not! We had some ice cream and then headed home for some lazy time before the next week properly hit us. When I say lazy time I mean I fell asleep on the couch while Nicola was running around being anything but lazy, but my mom thankfully kept an eye on her and she got to help my dad out watering the garden for a bit too.

My gran was very rarely seen out of bed this entire weekend. She says it’s too cold to get up. I get it, but I’m not sure if I should feel concerned or jealous about that. I could probably do a because-of-the-weather bed day, but I don’t think I could do a whole weekend!

Back to reality and secret place things:

I was informed this morning that group has trimmed one of our super important deadlines with a whole week – just because, you know – they can. So there are a lot of things that need to be done to make this happen, specifically things that I have to do, and it is now rather unpleasantly due on Friday! So if I go quiet, that’s where I am. Doing secret things, with shortened secret cut off dates, on secret stupid half working laptops, swearing not so secretly to myself…

Have I mentioned that I can’t actually start with it yet because the information doesn’t exactly exist yet? This first part before I get involved usually takes about a month, so your guess is as good as mine about whether I will actually have anything to wrap up by Friday yet. (My gut-feel-guess is that I’ll get it Friday morning-ish, if at all). Grrr….

As you have most likely correctly deduced, these are not photos from the long weekend.😉 They are however the first batch of April photos, so hang in there! We’re getting closer.

20130406_113842

Nicola spending some quality time in T & J’s wheelburrow.😀 I am very glad that I don’t own one! J sets some impossibly high standards for the uses of wheelburrows in general and there is no way that I could run up and down the road pushing Nicola in one like he does – what a hero!

20130406_190721

Dancing on Ouma Joey’s bed in front of the mirror.

20130409_171834

This is my current fb profile pic – I guess it’s time for an update soon?😉

19 comments

  1. I loved the long weekend. Lots of chilling, gone to see a bunch of elephants, movie watching, eating too much sweets…and by late yesterday afternoon the dreaded flu has caught up with me.

    I love that last photo of you and Nicola…so sweet.


  2. Thank you so much for coming. Jack loved the helicopters on his card!!!!


    • It was our pleasure! I’m glad he liked it.🙂


  3. Lovely full weekend you had. Have I mentioned that your secret place sounds EXACTLY like mine? Can you believe I have never updated my fb profile pic? I am just lazy like that.


    • I can easily believe that – before Nicola I used to have the same profile pic for yeeeears!


  4. I had a lovely quiet weekend. Lots of lazing around, reading, seeing elephants, watching movies….and then late yesterday afternoon I found that I haven’t dodged the flu bug after all. Vrot in die bed vandag.


    • Shame man…hope you feel better soon!


  5. I seem to be having problems commenting on WordPress blogs…so herd goes the third time.

    I love that last photo of you and Nicola.


    • I just retrieved them all from the spam catcher…odd.

      Thank you!🙂


      • Sjoe…you can see I tried😛


  6. love your fb pic!

    And most of all I LOVE that you mean what you say that is rare these days and it’s a pleasure to see🙂

    I’m almost (but not quite) wishing for a bit of flu just to have a few days in bed… but I need to sort out the job thing first! Oy!


    • Thank you.🙂
      Hahaha, yeah…I know what you mean. Flip-flopping just irritates the hell out of me.
      Never ever ever wish flu on yourself – that kind of staying in bed is not as much fun as you think before it hits you.


  7. Great photo of the two of you.

    Deadlines are a pain in the ass, but not as much as people who can’t work within them or the bosses who make impossible demands. Managers are real corporate misologists!

    Good luck with the deadline.


    • Thanks!🙂
      My Steamcleaner has given me the list this morning – whoop! But I am only allowed to start capturing it tomorrow, because it needs to get confirmed upstairs first.


  8. You sure had a packed weekend but glad it was fun things to do. I have to say, just as diciplined you are with her, you are as loved and caring towards her too.


    • Thanks for saying that – it’s what I aim for.😉


  9. Ek dink die profiel pic is awesome. Ek het my broer se seuntjie so rondgestoor in ‘n kruiwa en kon vir dae daarna amper nie loop nie :lol;


    • Baie dankie!🙂
      Ja-nee, ek het geen idee hoe J dit regkry elke keer as ons daar gaan kuier nie. Ek het haar eenkeer die lengte van hulle tuin gestoot en ek was poegaai!


  10. […] Photos from 2013/06/17 […]



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

