h1

The school project

29 May , 2013

Things are coming along swimmingly. Help has been offered, donations received, funds have been raised, assessments have been done, roofs have been scaled, material has been sourced, endless meetings held with other departments to make sure we’re not duplicating things. It has actually been tremendous amounts of fun for me to help organise this so far (okay, once I got past the initial panic and despair). We have the most jazzed up white board tracking our progress and to-do list up here in the office and now all that’s left to do is the actual work part (which starts on Saturday). I can’t wait to see how it all pulls together!

As we go along we’re going to be taking photos like crazy, because we need some to present back at secret place and of course we would like to send proper thank you’s to all of the lovely people and companies who helped us get there. Most of that I can’t publish here though, other people’s children and so on (that and the thing where I don’t actually tell you where I work or what I do) – but I thought I’d share these two of MeeA with you. She is seriously as nimble as a little monkey! She sailed up on that rickety roof like it was nothing and I, by comparison, am a complete clutz and fell down a flight of stairs the next day delivering fund raiser cupcakes! (I can now obviously also claim that I have given my pound of flesh to this project)😉

image

Easy peasy, right?

image

Look Ma, no hands…

image

No action shots of my tumble unfortunately, but here is a before picture of the cupcakes at least? Baked by my super mom with her secret recipe and decorated by myself, my mom and my pink terrorist. (These really are the bee’s knees – in a building where people are already quite fund raisered out it says something about your cupcakes when they actually come asking for more after the third sold out batch). No bone breaks or bleeds for me luckily (I should probably say “yet”), I just earned myself a few bruises and a wounded ego. What can I say? I’m really good at falling.

If I go a bit quiet all of next week then it’s because I’m scraping and painting and taking photos. Secret place is giving me a T-shirt, but I think I possible need a hard hat!😉 It’s all extremely exciting and I owe you a giant thanks for helping me make it happen.  xxx

8 comments

  1. oooh yummy! I’m going to order some cupcakes (6) from your mother when I’m in town again. Looks like it’s going to be from Wed/ Thurs


    • She actually doesn’t generally bake them for other people – this was a very special favour for me.😉


  2. A t-shirt? Oh the generosity!!
    Hope you come back in one piece!!


    • Hahaha! Yeah…me too.


  3. That little wall between the two properties was *really* narrow – I was worried about losing my balance there for a bit!
    I’m so excited – we are all set and ready for Saturday – looking forward to it!


    • I can’t wait either!😀
      Seriously, I take my hat off to you for all that on the roof business. I could still maybe do the roof, but that ladder was just one too much for me.


  4. Wow, doing so very very well



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

