h1

It’s the final count-down…

18 February , 2013

I can’t even begin to explain to you how tired I am…

We had a good weekend, but for some reason I haven’t been able to sleep properly for the last three nights. Last night for instance I managed to sleep from 4:00 to 5:00.

I attribute my restlessness to all the bad news of late. Everything I’m just about ready to fall asleep I either hear a door or I imagine hearing a door or a noise, and up I am – off to check if someone’s in the house. So either my neighbours are in the habit of slamming doors randomly every half an hour or so between 21:00 and 03:00 or I just need to pull my head out of my backside and relax. Anxious or hyper-vigilant would be good words to describe me at the momen, that and exhausted.

Luckily we are in the final stretch before our long awaited vacation. Saturday bright and early we’re off to the coast for a week with the family, and I for one cannot wait. I am going to sleep even if I have to sedate myself, take looooooong walks on the beach with Nicola and whomever wants to tag along, catch things in rock pools, swim, sand, sun, good food and great company…and I am going to not be online for anything whatsoever except paying my bills on payday with internet banking. No facebook, no Twitter, no News24, no email, no calls, no SMS, no Whatsapp, no, none, zip, nada, squat. So tough luck to anyone having a birthday next week, I will not be aware of the date if I can help it – so please accept my congratulations and apologies in advance.

20121205_17414120121205_19191020121208_081200

Some classic Nicola:

  1. Having a picnic with Pasta (that being the name of this pooch)
  2. Social grooming on Oupa
  3. Our first sunflower

14 comments

  1. I had holidays like that with my knucklehead when he was a little boy… I used to save up for a whole year and take just him and I off to the coast somewhere for a break from everything and everyone.
    I am actually quite jealous of you right now!๐Ÿ˜›


    • I would be too if I wasn’t the one going.๐Ÿ˜‰ Nicola is also very excited about it – she still remembers all the magic things we did together last year when we went.


  2. I think it’s great that you will take your vacation and switch off completely. Enjoy it and I’m sorry that you aren’t sleeping well.


    • Thanks, last night went a lot better thank goodness.


  3. Enjoy the rest my friend – you totally reserve it


    • Thanks you๐Ÿ˜€


  4. I LOVE YOUR HOLIDAY! Please take me with you๐Ÿ™‚ Except for the fact I only have about 5 days’ leave, I’m hugely keen!!!

    I wish for you TONS of sleep. I’ve been sleeping too much and am starting to freak myself out – is something “wrong” or does my body just need a bit of catching up? Ai!


    • Marcia, I seriously can’t wait for some rest and relaxation. Other than sleepy, are you feeling ill at all?


  5. Your holiday sounds like bliss!
    I guess the hyper-vigilance is to be expected in light of all the ugliness that we are aware of thanks to SM and general news. Is your place secure though? I told my DH to get me that gun that shocks – don’t know what it’s called or a can of mace.


    • My place is not secure at all – there isn’t even what I would call a proper lock on the door. I think what counts in its favour though is that there is almost always someone on the property since my landlord is mostly retired, his wife is there all day except for one day a week and his son is a highschool boy who comes and goes quite eratically. Our cottage is kind of hidden behind their house, and they don’t even close their doors. So even though it’s not secure, I’d say it’s a pretty unlikely target – I think they’d be much rather take on the main house than the cottage.


    • You can get very decent shock battons on Bid or buy for a few hundred rand. I think my brother got his for about R250 a few years ago. Look for one that has the strips on the side too, that way if someone wants to grab it out of your hand it shocks then anyway, and not just on the pointy bits at the front.

      Mace…is very unpleasant when the wind turns. I have once or twice been accidentally maced/pepper sprayed and you feel like your eyes are on fire and you want to cough up a lung. I’d rather avoid that one if you can. Also in a closed area everyone in the room gets maced.


  6. Hope you have a good holiday and can get some much deserved rest, I am actually blocking out all the negative news at the moment, I think I am just in denial. Though it is very scary


    • Thank you๐Ÿ™‚ I am starting to believe that old saying of no news is good news.


  7. Good Oupa doesn’t have too much hair๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

