h1

D-day…the bird that didn’t fly

6 February , 2013

Well, at least I had my teeth cleaned.πŸ˜‰

Nicola was all fired up to go until presented with the actual dentist, and then she just flat out refused.

She was more than happy to chat to him about all kinds of things, as long as he kept a respectable 2m distance at all times.

Reasons why I think this failed:
1) Nicola had an injection yesterday and wasn’t feeling positive towards doctors
2) Also she has an eye infection (blocked tear duct again) and the drops are putting her in a less than cooperative mood
3) She appears to distrust people with grey hair in principle
4) I neglected to prep her for the masks they wear…silly me.

For my next trick I might resort to straight out bribery…plus mask prepping. Other than that not too sure. At least they didn’t charge me for the unused appointment. And at least it’s just a check up and not an actual dental problem?

Photos from the day:

image

In the car on the way there.

image

Minutes before putting her foot down.

image

Macdonald’s breakfast look…she missed the breakfast time at school.

image

She asked for a burger, chips and creme soda but ended up skipping the burger. One bite in she declared, “This is disgusting!” and that was that.

We live to fight another battle…

12 comments

  1. I’m sorry that the dentist didn’t go as planned. Hopefully next time. I agree with her, McDonald’s burgers are disgusting.


    • Hahaha! I had a feeling you might.πŸ˜‰


  2. ooh, I love Mc D burgersπŸ™‚ But since I don’t feed my kids take-out I’ve been deprived tooπŸ™‚πŸ™‚ (why do i think the food is good for me but not for the babies? hmmm)

    Sorry man! I’m telling you – get that book! They talk about EVERY THING.


    • I like them too, that’s why we went there to begin with.πŸ˜‰

      What’s the name of the book? Can you send me a link please?


  3. ha ha ha ha ha!!! Ok I know it is not really very funny, but it is a teensy weeny bit funny after all the prep. πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚ Might be time to get her a dentist play set (LOL)

    I am not a big fan of take-out, but when I feel like a burger (about once a year or so) the Mc.Feast Deluxe at MacD is my go to burger


    • Hahaha, yip – I felt so deflated when all my prepping helped not one single bit. She was obviously just lulling me into a false sense of security with the “excitement” before?πŸ˜‰

      I like McD’s too – and I especially like that you can get a little burger for when you’re not that hungry.


  4. Oh no – well, take Marcia’s advice on the book


    • I might do exactly that…


  5. Ah no man. Sorry it didn’t go as planned. Best I get this book of Marcia’s too! I think I should schedule an appointment for Child2. Like maybe at the end of the year!


    • Good luck! I hope yours goes better than ours did.


  6. I’m with Nicola on dentists AND McDonalds!


    • πŸ˜› Oh, it’s not THAT bad…



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

