h1

It’s been an interesting day…

4 February , 2013

…and it’s only 14:00!

My day has been full of talking with people I haven’t talked to in a while.

First thing this morning I saw a friend I haven’t seen in ages driving behind me. We first did a bit of hand signalling, then texting (traffic wasn’t exactly going anywhere right then), and subsequently phoned later to set up a catch up for this coming weekend. I am very excited about this!

Secondly, you may remember way back when (roundabout July last year) Nicola was diagnosed with that blood disorder. I let TGC know in case he wanted to have himself and his older son tested, because I was tested negative for it. He finally replied today, saying that he’s been for the test and is also negative. He also said that he’s sorry to hear that Nicola has it and that he hopes it’s not too serious. A very polite email really, and completely unexpected after so much time has passed. (I am a bit puzzled as to how she would have it if neither of us have it then, but perhaps if we ever have reason to go for more blood tests in the near future I will have to ask them to look into it and restest her just to be sure?). Anyhoo, it was nice of him to let me know – I said thanks.

And then thirdly, I just got off the phone with my pal Vera in the UK! We’ve been friends since grade 1 – I think that probably qualifies her as my friend whom I go the most way back with. What a great chat!🙂 I had been thinking about her all week, and decided to send her a message to ask if she was okay. So glad I did that, we ended up having such a great catch up (and she is okay-ish, although she has been less than okay for a bit too). Do you also get premonitions like that about people you care about? Well, that chat just really made my day – it’s been way too long…

Err…I didn’t get much work done between all of these things, but tomorrow is another day and so on.  

20121219_154548

This photo was taken on Nicola’s birthday last year…one of my favourites for sure.

20121219_160523

Highjacking Ouma’s car as she pulled in…

20121219_182809

Falling asleep in Oupa’s arms, what a perfect end to a great birthday…

13 comments

  1. Oh I do and 80% of the time I am correct! It actually sounds like a great day.


    • It was a pretty good day…🙂


  2. Yes, I get those all the time and these days I heed them immediately because once it was someone being hijacked. I did pray and they were fine.

    Interesting about the blood test….. What does TGC stand for? I assume its an acronym?


    • It stands for The Great Communicator.😉


  3. Yip I get those feelings🙂

    Love that last picture – beautiful!!


    • I love that picture too🙂


  4. That email from him are so polite. Ek’s seker jy het op jou rug geval oor dit.
    I too think it’s weird that she have this but none of you two – weird


    • Ja, hahaha – dit was nogal ‘n verassing!😉 Dis nie net weird nie, dis fisies onmoontlik vir haar om dit te he^ as een van ons dit nie het nie. Dis nie die tiepe ding wat generasies kan skip nie, ek WEET hy’s die pa ander sou sy aansienlik ouer gewees het, en ek het ‘n video waar hulle haar uit my uitgekerf het so ek WEET sy’s myne ook.

      Iewers op een van die drie toetse moes hulle ‘n fout gemaak het. Ek hoop dis op Nicola se toets, dit sal nogals bakgat wees as sy uitdraai om dit nie te he^ nie (behalwe nou vir die focken trauma waardeur ek is laasjaar toe sy gediagnoseer is – verskoon my vertaling), maar ons sal maar moet sien wat gebeur. Miskien is dit myne of haar pa sin wat verkeerd getoets is?


  5. very very weird, and especially since you have confirmed, it doesn’t skip a generation! I will give it sometime and then get her tested again at another facility.

    In the past, if I had such premonitions, I just ignored, now, I make a note to call or send an email or a text message at least. You never know…

    I love that last picture. Such a precious moment. You should print it for your dad


    • It really annoys me, this bloodtest thing. I was in SUCH a state last year when she initially got diagnosed, and now that could all very well be for nothing. I’d be thrilled of course if it turns out that she doesn’t have it, that would be a blessing – but why did we then have to go through all the trauma to begin with. I suppose they could have fluffed my test results too on the other hand? Then I would feel guilty for passing it on, stupid I know – but I would.

      I think that last one is a great photo of the two of them together. Both my parents get suck a kick out of it when she falls asleep in their arms.🙂


  6. […] this post? I told you about the friend I saw in traffic – and here she is! A came to visit us for […]


  7. That first photo is beautiful!


    • Thank you🙂



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

