h1

I owe…I owe…so off to work I go…(hum along if you feel like it)

7 January , 2013

First proper day back in the saddle…now just to get all my ducks in a row.

Isn’t it funny? I didn’t have a three or four week uninterrupted leave but I still worried if I would remember my password this morning, plus it kind of feels like I did have a long break and not the hit one miss one kind that I actually had.

Anyhoo, I have deadlines to meet, people to orchastrate and emails to catch up on. I better get to it. My motto this year for work will be NOT to get bogged down in the details. I have to focus on the big picture and so on. Onwards and upwards!

Nicola’s school reopened today too. She wasn’t exactly thrilled when I dropped her off this morning as you can imagine. We always see this on the first day back after a break. I’m not too worried though, I’m sure we’ll be back in the swing of things by Wednesday or so.

Oh yes, and you may or may not recall that I told you about the great new teacher that she was getting for this year? *sigh* That fell through completely. Bummer. One of the teachers who has been on sick leave for over a year is back and the parents who were meant to have their kids in her class protested, so they reschuffled everyone to accomodate them. I’ve asked around, apparently she usually takes the class just before they go to big school and the parents complained because no one ever comes out of her class ready for school because she sits and reads her own storie-books all day. I would have complained too. She’s been put on the toddler class. I’m not sure if that’s the best plan ever, but since we’re long past that class i don’t care all that much. Nicola will be with the same teacher she had last year now. Not bad I guess, since they’ve already bonded, but I was really looking forward to seeing the other teacher in action (which we’ll now completely miss out on).

20121114_175642

“Helping” Oupa fix some toys.

20121116_164658

Giving Ouma a thorough check-up! “Looks good”.

20121116_193728

Night swimming with Oom Riaan and Oupa (and Creme Soda the dragon).

Welcome back to everyone that’s been away. Hope your post holiday traffic was as good as mine was this morning? I got to the office 7:45, which is phenomenal if you consider I only left home at about 7:00 and I didn’t hit one single red light…and I got pulled over in a roadblock for a license inspection.

Yip. Things are looking up tremendously.πŸ˜€

12 comments

  1. Kan nie wag vir die dag dat al jou posts oor Nicola as ‘n boek gaan verskyn —— sien saam met julle uit daarna om te kyk wat se verrassings 2013 vir ons inhou.


    • Ek weet nie of ek dit ooit als in een boek sal kry nie!πŸ˜‰


  2. That’s some good traffic for you!

    I made good time too but then stood chatting to someone downstairs for a good 15 mins which defeated the point. Aah, well, relationship-building and all that jazz… although it was about NYC

    Enjoy your day!


    • Thanks Marcia, you too! That’s not wasted time at all in my opinion, just time spent away from your desk.πŸ˜‰


  3. Ag that sucks about the teacher! If this other chick is so lame why is she working there?!


    • Now THAT is an excellent question.


  4. Welcome back! Hope you had a good few days off?

    Hmmmmm, Nicola the Dr. (Cough Cough)πŸ˜‰ :-)Interestingly I thought about your mum yesterday and her health. I remember something about the meds she was on and the side effects. Hope she is better now?


    • She’s doing okay. She has trouble sleeping at night and staying awake during the day. But I do love a good afternoon nap myself, so I can’t really say it’s the meds. She’s back on her original water tablets, so at least her feet are feeling better too.


  5. Hope Day 2 went well? Love the pic of Dr Nicola. x


    • Better than day 1, and by this morning there was no issue whatsoever.πŸ™‚


  6. Here’s to a fantastic work and school year


    • So far, so good!πŸ˜€



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

