h1

Nicola’s dragon party

18 December , 2012

image

This year, for Nicola’s birthday party, we did a dragon theme! I may have been more excited about this than Nicola actually. There are a gazillion little things I had in mind and quite a few of them turned out to not be practical or just too expensive to pull off, but I think we did okay in the end.

And seriously, the kids don’t care. It’s all sugar to them, and if you’re Nicola then the main attraction is the jumping castle with the rest just being background noise.πŸ˜‰

Above you’ll see the dragon party packs I made. I think they came out cute in the end, although not completely the way I had envisioned them. The tail was a marshmallow ice cream cone thingy, the belly stuffed with sugar and chips and what-not, each one had a little note book and gel pen in (I washi taped the heck out of those notepads, which was fun too), the pack had little paw print stickers at the bottom for feet and then the dragon head of course.

image

A nest of dragons, just after I packed them.

image

Riaan and K helped me with the decorations. They brought the lungs and I brought the prestik and the no fear of hights. Most of this thankfully happened while Nicola was at holiday school. The moment she laid eyes on them she wanted to play with ALL the balloons.πŸ™‚

image

Let there be streamers…This is very easy to do, and it’s so festive.

image

More washi-ing on the cake that my mom made for Nicola (big reveal a bit further down).

image

I was really worried about the weather. All week was muggy and overcast, and then Friday night this happened. I said to my folks that if the weather didn’t clear up I’d have to make a dash to the hardware store first thing to buy some ear plugs in bulk for the parents.

Visions of 50 people in the house while 17 of them are screaming at the highest pitch they have. *shudder*

Oh well, if you have to get stuck indoors with 50 people at least my parents’ place is the best place for it, and I could always stick the jumping castle under the car port.

image

Saturday morning! *prayers for good weather magnificently answered*πŸ˜€

image

The children’s table. Plenty of accessible sweets. The watermelon was suuposed to be the back scales of the dragon and the bubble machine its head. This looked better when I dreamt it up, but I still think it came out pretty good.

Also, I vastly underestimated how much goodness comes out of the average watermelon. I bought 3! And we all ate and ate and ate of it on Saturday and only got through one of them. So I left one with my folks and dragged the other one home.

image

Nicola’s favourite part of the party, the jumping castle. At any point in the day if I was looking for her, she was on it.

image

The castle cake that my mom made. It threatened to topple over, so we secured it with ribbons.πŸ˜‰ It’s like gift wrapped really.

image

Denise and her Riaan, relaxing in the shade.

image

Pieter and my brother Riaan…

image

Everybody relaxing in the shade – I do love those big trees.πŸ™‚

image

image

And then for some messy –Β I letΒ those that were interested loose on the paint.

image

All completed artworks were hung from the tree so that people didn’t accidentally sit in the wet paint.

image

Fun in the pool.

image

I think everyone’s children started missing their afternoon naps at more or less the same time. Mini-meltdowns started coming fast and furious, and it wasn’t long before everyone started heading home.

image

Nicola loved every single gift she got – there were some really amazing ones!

image

I got her a dragon, which has been named Stuffy. When she just opened it she squealed, “I can’t believe it! I have a dragon!” – must say, that felt pretty awesome. I’m glad she liked it.πŸ˜€

image

Festive!

image

One extremely tired pink terrorist…

Thanks to everyone who came to share this special day with us, and a giant thank you to my family who help me pull this off every year. xxx

12 comments

  1. Happy birthday to Nicola. Long life and prosperity. Looks like a really fun day and good that the weather behaved.

    I love that last picture, exhaustion to the nth degree after a wonderful day of fun and laughter

    The jumping castle just shows kids don’t need too much to be happy, as long as there is an opportunity to jump around


    • She really had a ball with this year’s party – you could see that she LOVED every second of it – that really makes it worthwhile for me.πŸ™‚


  2. Happy, Happy Birthday to your GORGEOUS little girl and congrats to you! I have LOVED watching her grow this year and I have LOVED watching you mother her. You are a fantastic Mommy.

    The party looks STUNNING and I’m soooo thrilled that it went well and that she had a great time.

    xx


    • Thank you so much Julia!πŸ˜€


  3. How clever is the watermelon dragon!!! Looks like a great day :))


    • πŸ˜€


  4. I love this theme you chose for her birthday party because it’s always girly-girl themes for little girls and this time round, it’s not. So interesting and fun, I love itπŸ™‚
    You did a great job with the party. Glad she and you all had such great fun.


    • Thanks!

      I usually kind of decide on a them mid year already and then start thinking how I’m going to pull it off after that – I thought for sure that we might have to swing this one to a princess theme at some point, but I think it all worked out just fine.πŸ˜€


  5. Thanks so,much for including us in the festivities. We loved being there. It was such a great party and I love how creative you were. The kids loved taking their dragons home


    • I’m so glad that you guys could make it.πŸ˜€ Thank you for helping us make it a special occasion.


  6. It all looks so awesome!


    • Thanks! I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

