h1

On the brink of a weekend

9 November , 2012

I am beyond excited about going to see Linkin Park tomorrow night. Wow, I can’t actually believe it’s finally here. It felt like so far into the future thing when we bought the tickets (I’m going with my boet and his girlfriend), and now it’s just one more sleep away. Whoop! πŸ˜€ I really really really hope they play Faint, my favourite LP song of all times.

On a completely unrelated note: this week I found that writing angry poems in peak hour is not a bad pastime. It’s the most peace a quiet I get in general, maybe that’s why it helps me think? I still don’t have my car radio sorted out, so unless I put some music on with my phone, it’s just me and the constant honking of f-ing taxis for at least 40 minutes in each direction daily. I have to be honest, I don’t hear the taxis anymore. Someone I know said to me the other day that they always see me in traffic but they can never get my attention by hooting – I really just tune that sound out completely.

Anyway, back to the poems. I have about three now, none of them really about my current life – I find that it’s just the best way for me to properly close a door sometimes. Once I’ve written about it,Β it’s neatly wrapped up as far as I’m concernedΒ .Β I might stick them up here at some point – so don’t be surprised if they pop up in your feed reader eventually.

20120926_18295920120930_10115420120930_110413

Photos:

  1. Nicola has taken a liking to one of the mixing bowls in the set I bought recently. Of course the pink one. She likes to wear it as a hat, eat everything out of it, take it for a bath, one night this past week it even had to sleep with her! When we walk into the house in the evenings it’s almost the first thing she does – take out the pink mixing bowl.
  2. Ice cream – comfort food of choice for the pink terrorist.
  3. This is how you groom flowers. Bet you didn’t know that they needed their hair brushed while you talk to them. Now imagine this scene: Nicola lovingly brush their petals while telling them how beautiful they are. Cute hey? Not very good for the flowers though, but very sweet.

8 comments

  1. Ag moeder! So cute with regards to grooming the flowers.
    I think it’s a great method to close chapters and get anger out of your system, by writing angry poems.


  2. Love the angry poems. That’s how I feel about blogging. Usually by the end of a post I’ve sorted things out in my mind!

    Love the hairbrush!!!M


    • Poems have been my way since I’ve been 16. Sometimes I’ll sit and stew on a thing for a long time before I get to writing what I want to write.

      People get a bit tense about it. I don’t write poems for people, only about them (or me). πŸ˜‰

      The poor flowers never knew what hit them! It was so adorable though.


  3. Very cute yes and enjoy the concert! And I would love to read your angry poems – and I totally agree with Marcia and you – writing certainly sets your mind free


  4. Awwwww, your little princess is growing up into a very loving young lady. Those plants had better blossom with all the attention she’s giving them, getting their hair washed and lovingly brushed πŸ™‚

    Angry poems, hmmmmm, that’s very intersting. With work related issues, I usually open a new page, type the “angry” response, stew over it, delete it and then type the proper response πŸ˜‰ so I know it helps a lot to get things off your mind πŸ˜‰


    • MrsFF, yip – she’s a real darling. πŸ˜‰ For me, writing a poem is a bit like a puzzle…I start out with one thing I really want to say and then the rest kind of blossoms around it. Fitting things that go with the rhyme I want sometimes makes things obvious to me in a you can’t miss it kind of way.


  5. Love these pics. Am sure Linkin Park was AWESOME and I will admit to have had a bit of FOMO on Wednesday.
    You need to put up an anon blog and publish those poems!


  6. Thanks Julia! Linkin Park was amazing – I had such a blast. πŸ˜€ Why would I create an anon blog…I’ll just post them here, and if I think they’re sensitive I’ll stick them behind a password. πŸ˜‰



Say something...come on! You know you want to?