h1

Shoebox day!

25 October , 2012

This year we decided to pledge a box to the Santa’s Shoebox project. I picked a girl more or less Nicola’s age for our box, and her name is Charlotte. When I explained the concept to Nicola, I told her that we’re buying a present for Charlotte because she doesn’t have a mom. (I don’t actually know if she has one, she might have one who’s just no good for her but that’s the explanation I went with). Nicola was very eager to help, and you should have heard her explaining it to my mom. “Ouma, Charlotte het nie ‘n mamma nie!”

Anyhoo, today and tomorrow are the drop off days for our area and I thought I’d show you how our box turned out. We be-stickered the whole thing and even added some washi tape round the side. I know that a pretty box does not make up for not having a family to spend Christmas with, but hopefully it at least brightens this little girl’s day and provides her with just a few of the things that she probably desperatly needs.

Here’s the top of the box:

image

And below you’ll see the side view too.

image

What goes into a box? Well it’s very simple. The site gives a very specific list of things that need to go in there:

  • Toothpaste and toothbrush
  • Bar of soap and wash cloth
  • An outfit of clothing
  • Educational supplies
  • Sweets (nothing that can melt or spoil)
  • Toy

Quite a basic needs list right there. It makes you think, doesn’t it? (especially when you’re rushing round trying to figure out the perfect gift for your own family members).  We are blessed, more than we realise.

We’ll definitely be participating in this project again next year.

7 comments

  1. I participated for the first time this year too. It cost a bit more than anticipated, but when I set it all out to pack I was very struck by how little it actually is. Next year, I’m going to see if I can give a box on behalf of all my friends. I hope that if the requirements stay the same, I can do one a month. R250/month is not a lot.


  2. This makes me SUPER happy, as you know. Next year I want to increase my boxes too. And actually I have a bit of guilt because I haven’t even bought my World Vision child this much but I think I’ll find out how and send him a package too!

    YOUR BOX IS SO PRETTY!!!!!!!!!!!!


  3. Ours are ready for tomorrow too and I have also participated with the boys’ school by adding the missing items in the boxes collected.


  4. Tara, I know what you mean. I kept wanting to add things to the box, but I quickly ran out of space. I will be participating again next year for sure!

    Marcia, what is a World Vision child – please explain a bit more? Thank you for saying my box is pretty. Some of the boxes I saw there really looked amazing, people put such a lot of effort into it which gives me warm fuzzies too. 🙂

    Cat, you know when i went to drop ours off the excitement of it all almost had me joining in with the helpers who were busy packing and organising. I saw Laura volunteered at her drop off point. Maybe I can take a few days leave and help out too next year.


  5. Pretty box!


  6. The box is stunning and even though you might not think so, it does show you put in a lot of effort into it. I also signed up, initially for 2 kids and had to sign up for a 3rd child just couldn’t resist. I like that there is a checklist – funny story when I first signed up, I thought why a check list how rude, but once I started shopping I was just too grateful for the checklist makes it so much easier. All thanks to Marcia for sharing the word about it because I probably would not have known about it. I eventually had to stop shopping when I realised my boxes were bursting at the seams. Drop off is tomorrow. Just need to stick the checklist and voila DONE!!!!!

    Super excited 🙂


  7. Julia, Thanks!

    MrsFF, I quite like the checklist too. It makes it much easier to figure out what to put in there. Show me your boxes? 🙂



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

