h1

Rambling, and lots of it

8 October , 2012

These photos were taken a few weeks ago when we had a picnic at Delta Park with Melinda and her family. It really is a lovely park, and it was great to finally meet them!🙂

DSC_0629DSC_0643DSC_0651DSC_0675

Now for the rambling I promised. Since I need to post a massive update, I’ve come up with a few sub headings to help me get through it sensibly, here we go:

Three critter chaos

My dad is my hero, just so you know. On Wednesday last week we went home after dinner at my folks, and my dad drove with us to make sure we got home safe like he always does. He ended up protecting us not from would-be criminals but from a battalion of spiders! There was a rain spider as big as my hand on the wall next to the front door (which my dad sorted out with repeated whacks of a broom) – you know it’s a big one when it casts a shadow in the headlights! If that was all I would have already been super grateful but he killed another two for us before he left, one on the door frame and one on the ceiling inside.

Rain spiders…actually any spiders…*shudder* I really hate them.

Traffic musings

As you know I’ve been on a merry go round of training courses lately. Thursday I had to bail on one course in JHB CBD to attend another one in Melrose Arch. This is all good and well, but I don’t have any sense of direction and I am not even slightly familiar with Melrose Arch.

They gave me a landmark as part of the directions and my GPS seemed to know where that was so I aimed it accordingly. Alas, the people of Garmin seem to think that Moyo’s in Melrose is located in Sandton City so I got lost and ended up being late.

While all of this was going on I also happened to notice that Fourways and Sandton have the worst traffic I have ever seen, especially if you keep in mind that it was school holidays – which usually trims my travel time down considerably!

Also, all this was done with no background music in the car, which didn’t help at all. Nicola jumped on the speakers a few weeks ago and they stopped working altogether. When it gets really tense I sometimes put something on with my phone, but not 2 hours worth…I do still need the battery for other things as well.

Definitely sticking that on my to-do list to sort out at some point in the near future.

And lastly, I thought about a new saying that makes much more sense to me than the existing one I mangled in the process. Instead of saying, “Between a rock and a hard place.” wouldn’t it be more relevant these days going with something along the lines of, “Between a pedestrian and a pothole.”? I haven’t been near any impressive rocks lately but I see many impressive potholes every day. In fact, I swear there’s one on my regular route that looks exactly like a silhouette of Mickey Mouse’s head, and another that is sprouting a magnificent piece of lawn (they had a potted plant in it late last year, but someone stole it).

Thoughts on Training

Some of the training has been quite significant and some not so much. That’s to be expected I guess?

Now I don’t consider myself a particularly angry person (I used to be and I may still have the odd moment here and there, but I’m practically zen about most things in comparison to how I used to be), but I’ve come to the conclusion that most people might consider me to have no or very little EQ. And I’m okay with that, it appears that I consider most people to be yellow bellied pansies when it comes to conflict and stress situations. And truth be told I may be more of a neat little self contained and self sufficient unit than the currently popular team player sort, but I will play for the team as hard as I can when I respect it (or they happen to be headed in the same direction I am).  

Furthermore I was accused of setting someone up to fail from one of the examples I provided in the stress management course. I am sorry, but if you have a qualification to do what you do, and which would imply that you have at least 7500 hours of experience doing it before I even laid eyes on you the first time, and you still can’t do even the very basic bits of it – I’m not the one who’s been doing the setting up here (I had very distinct Atlas Shrugged feelings when this came up to be honest).

Anyhoo, I am done arguing with my particular example because I’ve come to the conclusion that this person is not being lazy or negligent, they actually just can’t do better – so it would be setting myself up for failure to try and beat water out of that rock, plus is would be needlessly unpleasant for them too, with no prospect of results (doesn’t sound win-win to me at all, if you’re in to that kind of lingo). At the same time I have no intention of baby-ing them along either.

 I am not letting it go, I have let it go – and now I plan to make myself comfortable while watching other people who have to carry the dead weight sort out the problem.

The very “serious” injury

We had a lovely visit with a dear old friend of mine yesterday, and at some point Nicola swan dived off a step by accident. There were a few tears but nothing dramatic and I managed to distract her fairly quickly so I thought that might be the end of the matter.

Not so.

When I took her to go and put her swimsuit on I noticed that she had a scrape on her elbow and innocently asked if this was from the fall. Now that was a rookie mistake that I will not be making again. She wasn’t even aware of it until I showed her and then the waterworks really started!

Ointment, disinfectant, ointment, disinfectant, ointment later…still upset. Eventually I managed to coax her into the pool and after she relaxed she fell asleep in my arms right in the water. She slept like a champ but once she woke up there was more drama round this scrape and more ointment of course.

We got home, and we needed to put on another three layers of stuff before she eventually settled down to sleep.

At roughly 1:00am this morning she woke up and saw it again and all hell broke loose. Three layers later and still no noticeable sign of calming down on the horizon I offered to put a princess plaster on it (thinking out of sight, out of mind) but she was having none of that. Eventually I talked her into a bandage…all the way from her wrist to her shoulder, for a scuff on her elbow.  *roll eyes*

And I managed very little sleep after this because I cannot simply turn over and get back to it like some people, so I ended up reading until almost 4:00am this morning before I managed to sleep again. *yawn*

Seriously, I can’t remember ever being that traumatised about a scuff – and I half-near killed myself a couple of times as a child. My mom might recall one specific incident where I had a giant gaping hole in my leg from roller skating and impaling myself on a bakkie’s canopy hook trying to break my momentum…that ended up missing a major artery with a few millimetres and I needed 18 stitches to hold my muscles and skin together again…but in the car on the way to the doctor’s office I was trying to dissect my previously unseen innards while I had the chance. I remember being a bit miffed that nerves were too small to see with the naked eye, but I managed to see the three layers of the skin, fat cells, and veins no problem at all.

I am not suggesting that Nicola have a major injury to put some perspective out there, but that level of drama for a scuffed elbow is a bit over the top in my opinion. We’ll write it off to being tired, a little under the weather, and not yet three years old. One thing’s for sure, she’ll have to toughen up a bit or really start paying attention to where she’s going!😉

Poor baby, I do really feel sorry for her – but there’s not a lot I can do to make it better. I have a strong suspicion that I’ll be bandaging that arm up until the scab eventually falls off.

Congats if you made it through my ramble in one piece! I do actually feel a lot better after managing to get all of that off my chest. Hope you have an excellent week ahead!  

8 comments

  1. Those are lovely photos!! Kiara is a drama queen like this over EVERYTHING! And she seems to scrape/bump/cut herself constantly!!!!!! Really I am actually starting to worry – every time we have wailing and a a big fat story about it all!


  2. Loved the “Atlas shrugged” reference! Maybe it is really sore? Anyways, as always, loved to read the ramble. Have a great week


  3. Yeah, Jack also likes to milk any kind of injury for every bit of everything he can get out of it…
    A good friend of mine’s baby (he’s about 20 months old) fell down the stairs at my house last night. He got a deep gash above his right eye, several internal stitches and an eye that’s swollen shut for his trouble, poor little dude.😦
    As if I wasn’t already nervous enough about small people on stairs!
    Glad your little person escaped pretty much unscathed, apart from the mauled elbow, of course!😛


  4. Sounds like some hectic time you had.

    Lovely pictures as always. Can’t help wondering what was going through her mind in the 2nd and 3rd pictures. Some very serious thinking going on there. And her hair is so beautiful…

    Hmmm, I wonder if there is even a Moyo in Sandton, wonder why your GPS took you to Sandton. I usually still google just to have an idea because I don’t want to end up in Paris when I really should be in Parys😉 In case you have to go there again and still need directions, just remember Melrose Arch is off Corlett Drive or Athol oaklands (depending on which direction you are coming from) and there is Protea Hotel Fire and Ice, Edgars, Foschini, Woolies etc are all in the arch.

    Your narration of the very serious injury made me crack up in laughter more than once.
    DRAMA QUEEN🙂😉 Though I hope it is not as sore and she makes it seem


  5. I love your long, catch-up posts.

    And would love to hear more about the training!!!!!

    Oh gosh, I think the drama is a girl thing. I said from small that boys are more demainding physically but girls are SO demanding emotionally …. AND you and I are both not girly girls who do the drama thing!


  6. Pics are BEAUTIFUL. I LOVE them. Love the rambling posts too! Child2 is exactly like that wrt to “injuries”. HE gets sad and brings me plasters and vaseline and everything to apply to apparently afflicted area. He got cross this evening because he bumped his toe and I didn’t say “shame”, Can you believe it?


  7. Laura-kim, thank goodness Nicola seems to have forgotten about it now. I’m definitely not mentioning it again!😉

    cat, I don’t think it was – she was completely unaware of it until I mentioned it. I love that book! I think everyone should read it at least once. It’s amazing how relevant it still is.

    MeeA, I’m glad it wasn’t serious either. I think they get so distracted by things going on around them they just forget to look at where their feet are headed. Probably a phase? Shame, your friend’s poor little one – hope he makes a speedy recovery. Ouch!

    MrsFF, thanks – I must say that she looks very serious in some of these photos. She wasn’t in the best of moods that day, and I probably p-ed her off too by making her come sit in the shade for a few minutes and drink or eat something when all she wanted to do was play in the blistering heat. It’s not a deep scuff and she didn’t notice it before I showed it to her, so I don’t think it’s all that serious. It’s well on the mend already and I suppose all the stuff we had to put on it probably will speed things along a bit.😉

    Marcia, thank you. I’ll do something more elborate about the training sometime this week then. I am definitely not a girly-girl, I’m more a walk-it-off kind of girl myself. It’s okay if she is though…

    Julia, thank you, Tanya did them – don’t have the link with me now but we’re having a proper shoot with her soon and I plan to punt her work a lot after that! Mwahaha, I can believe it very easily abou the toe thing!


  8. Aw poor baby!!
    And I am SO with you on the management thing! Hells bells! I had a few managers like that when I worked for my previous company, the one I left after 12 years without so much as a “good luck” from them.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

