h1

Monday magic

27 September , 2012

Yes, yes…I know it’s Thursday – but it STILL feels like Monday to me!

20120825_14120120120825_14175620120825_141924

Firstly, yesterday on the 3rd Monday of this week we had a very noisy spider slaying at our house. When I opened the back door to go water the flowers a red and black stripey and generally dodgy looking monster scuttled in and safely under the carpet where I couldn’t get to it with the Law of Damages (slaying book of choice for the discerning spider slayer). Since I was at home sick though, I got a second run at the rat-bastard later on when he/she/it decided to venture out of that hiding place again.

The noise levels of this particular slaying was not due to my screaming as you may have guessed…na-ah…it was because the closest smacking tool I could lay my hands on was a Xylophone, and it took about 10 proper smacks to splatter the critter into kingdom come! Just imagine it, I dare you… (clang! clang! clang! DAMMIT! clang! clang! clang! DIE YOU INFERNAL BEAST! clang! clang! clang! clang!)

Anyhoo…on to more pleasant subjects.

Last night in the bath, Nicola noticed for the first time that her fingers and toes wrinkled up from the water (it’s of course happened before – this is just the first time that she has noticed it!). She was not a little bit upset, just so you know.

In fact, she yelled out in great panic to me, “Mamma! My vingers is gebreek!” and it it took a lot of convincing on my part to make her believe that they would just come right again after a few minutes out of the water. It was very funny watching her study them intently every few seconds to see if they were “fixed” again after that (also chocolate was needed to calm her down a bit until that happened – of course).😉

And when everything settled down nicely I got the extra lovely surprise of being serenaded by my pink terrorist while I was busy doing the dishes. She dragged the guitar over and started randomly strumming it (but holding it more like a cello really because of the size!). She said that she was going to play her very special song that she wrote just for me – how adorable! Then she proceeded by dramatically clearing her through and singing, “me-me-me-meeeeeee!” and then went to town on the guitar while singing something along the lines of us both living in a big pink castle and how much she loves me.  So bloody cute! I wish I had managed to record that on video, but my hands were wet and full of soap.

I am back on my feet today by the way, went to training and everything. I am mighty glad that tomorrow is Friday though, even though it might still turn out to be the last in a long sequence of wanna-be Mondays.😉

7 comments

  1. Glad you are better my friend. Love the spider slaying episode – xylofone and all.


  2. Ha ha ha. That’s so funny with regards to her wrinkly toes and fingers. That must have been so entertaining to watch her🙂


  3. Glad you’re feeling better… better enough to slay the dragons🙂 But tell me, is the xylophone still alive?🙂


  4. cat, hahah – definitely spring/summer, all the eight legged wild life critters want to come indoors!

    blackhuff, it was hilarious!😆

    Marcia, yes…more or less in tact. I only used the side of it so the paint may have come off just a little bit. It’s good to go for another round, but Law of Damages is much more effective. One smack is all it takes.


  5. Your kid just gets cuter and cuter!🙂

    I’ve managed to get over the worst of my spider phobia. Nowadays, I only kill them if I know they’re venomous or can’t identify them.
    Otherwise, I get them onto the end of something long and toss ’em out the window.

    Glad you’re feeling somewhat better.


    • Thanks MeeA. My rule is that if they stay outside they get to live.


  6. Aw poor sweetie with pruned fingers!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

